Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Asus 2080 Turbo stuck at 300mhz clock speed after GPU tweak OC.

    Card ran great for about 24 hours, recently I restarted my PC after running the OC scanner tool on GPU Tweak II and it seems my clock is stuck at 300mhz, I am getting about 15 fps in Heaven Benchmark now, before was much higher, I also noticed my power consumption in GPU-Z is now averaging 150% TDP and PerfCap reason is "Pwr" however, my 1070 seems to run fine in the machine. I have seen this problem on forums with some searching but I never have really seen a solution, most people just give up it seems?
    Here are some fixes I attempted:

    DDU Safe Mode tried every Nvidia driver I could find.

    Disabling and uninstalling any overclocking software.

    physically removing GPU from Mobo and inspecting.

    I'm upgrading from a 1070, my build is an ASUS ROG G20CB, I just upgraded the card. I know the power supply is a bit on the weaker side but I've seen a few people with this SAME exact upgrade and same specs and they have been fine for months now.

    Nvidia GTX 2080
    i7 6700
    180 W + 230 W Power adapter
    1 x PCI-e x 16




    https://imgur.com/a/ICC2k4Z

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Heini PC Specs
    Heini PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus SABERTOOTH Z170 MARK 1
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ (2 x 16GB) F4-3000C14D
    Graphics Card #1Evga 2080Ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardAsus Essence STX II
    MonitorASUS MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseCooler Master HAF XB EVO
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G3 1000W
    Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 (Brown Cherry MX)
    Mouse Secret (Ducky)
    Headset Sennheiser HD 580
    Mouse Pad EVGA TORQ
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS Win10 Pro 64
    Heini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    600

    May or may not be related to your problem but what is your brand, model & age of your PSU. The more specific you are with your components the better we can assist. Also, are you using 'one' line from your PSU with a spliitter or two separate cables?

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by Heini View Post
    May or may not be related to your problem but what is your brand, model & age of your PSU. The more specific you are with your components the better we can assist. Also, are you using 'one' line from your PSU with a spliitter or two separate cables?
    It's the stock PSU that came with the build, it looks like this: https://assets.hardwarezone.com/img/...er-brick_1.jpg

    It's two seperate cables, both PSUs do not combine at any point, the casing is just used to hold them together, otherwise it's two seperate cables, two seperate plug ins on my PC, and two wall plug ins. the age is 2 years old, the PSU has ASUS sketched into it, oddly enough I don't see any labels, perhaps it's inside the plastic casing?

    I just know my PC has a custom Mobo that basically takes a laptop PSU, my Mobo requires two PSUs at once, one to power the GPU and one to power everything else. the GPU utilizes the 230 watt PSU.

    I know many people were using this same PSU setup to power 1080tis with no problem, I've got my 1070 inside it right now and it's doing great, & like I said, it started acting strange when running the OC scanner tool.

    this is the entire unit, it's the 1070 version https://www.asus.com/us/Tower-PCs/ROG-G20CB/
    Last edited by Beeteez; 03-15-2019 at 01:06 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •