Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    9700K OC with Z390-E and adaptive voltage.

    Hello guys, I need some help in finishing and understanding my almost ready 24/7 OC

    After doing the basic steps that are mentioned here on the board i was able to run a my 9700k @4,9 GHz (-2 AVX Offset). In detail this means doing the following changes:

    AI Overclock - XMPII
    Asus MultiCore Enhancement - disabled**
    CPU Core Ratio - synced
    Ratio - x49
    LLC 5
    Current Capability 170%
    Long Duration Package Power Limit - 4095
    Package Power Time Window - 127
    Short Duration Package Power Limit - 4095
    CVoltage - manual @ 1.300**

    With this i was able to pass AVX Prime 8K Tests, aswell as nonAVX 1344K, Cinebench and IntelBurn @ heavy.

    So what bothered me was the manual 1.300 Vcore. An adaptive mode would suit my needs more as I expect it to run cooler on idle and drop below my current temp of slightly over 40. When I can achieve this, my Dark Rock Pro 4 will change to the lowest UPM mode and I would benefit also from a more silent cooler. Anyway, the only settings that would allow a stable system are

    Adaptive Voltage to 1.359 with a negative offset of 0.049 to have a total max of 1.310 and*LLC6. I ruled this out though, as I would prefer LLC5 for 24/6.

    With the same voltage setting but with SVID changed to Best Case and IA DC load lines set to 0.01 on LLC5 instead of 6, the Max Peak VID according to HWINFO will be 1.325, the max 1.314 and under load it will drop to 1.275 (1.215 AVX). Looks good and all my stress tests will pass...
    *
    Can somebody explain to me why I can’t just set 1.310 from the beginning with an negative offset of 0.001? *When I do so, VID will be 1.375, max peak Vcore 1.359 and during nonAVX load 1.323.

    Would this be a good 24/7 OC? Is CPU Current Capability 170% fine?*

    Thanks in advance *

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    So no one has an answer? Or is it so obvious that i should have not asked in the first place? 😂

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array rjbarker PC Specs
    rjbarker PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Extreme (BIOS 0605)
    Processor9900K @ 5.1 Ghz w EK Velocity
    Memory (part number)32 GB -Dominator Platinum 3200 Mhz CAS 16
    Graphics Card #1Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Graphics Card #2Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Sound CardOnboard Realtek
    MonitorDell Alienware 34" Ultra wide 120Hz Gsync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512G M.2 NNMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 512G & 256G
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Copper w Nickel Plating
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1600i
    OS W10 HP x64
    Accessory #1 480 * 360 * 240 XSPC Radiators (15 Fans) w 4 Channel 200W Fan Controller
    Accessory #2 XSPC Photon Rez / Vario Pump combo
    Accessory #3 Fesser Flex Tubing - Bits Power Fittings & EK SLi Terminal
    rjbarker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    290

    Quote Originally Posted by da_mercury View Post
    So no one has an answer? Or is it so obvious that i should have not asked in the first place? ��
    Play with your Adaptive Voltage until you get it...it may not ive completely to what you set in Manual...personally I like my Chip to downclock both Frequency and Voltage...so I dont bother wioth OC'ing manually...go straight to Adaptive or Offset Mode keeping all power saving goodies running and start OC'ing....keeping very close track of load vcore.....what is stable at what frequency at what load vcore???? Figure that out and your golden.....the only way to figure it our is to try it...test...scribble some notes...test again...
    ,,,,and when setting your Adaptive Voltage dont get all hung up on setting an offset....leave it at "0" ...or stock...focus on what you set and what loaded vcore is....
    Last edited by rjbarker; 03-17-2019 at 08:52 AM.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    thanks for getting back ... well maybe i did not explain it that good in my initial post, but what you suggested is what i actally have posted above.

    My target is to run stable with the lowest possible idle Vcore but with enough reserve for cooping with the droop when on load. In addition, i want to avoid harmful peaks.

    Those limits i have found out already.

    If on nonAVX load and < 1.215 Vcore -> fail
    If on AVX load and < 1.270 Vcore -> fail

    This is achievable when setting Vcore manual to a value between 1.300 and 1.315. The Problem is, i dont understand my below testing results in adaptive mode.

    VCore / Offset = Target Vcode

    1,369 / 0,059 = 1.310 ... Max Vcore Peak 1,305 and VID 1,315 ... During Non AVX Load 1,260 -- FAIL !

    1,359 / 0,049 = 1.310 ... Max Vcore Peak 1,314 and VID 1,325 ... During Non AVX Load 1,275

    1,349 / 0,039 = 1.310 ... Max Vcore Peak 1,323 and VID 1,335 ... During Non AVX Load 1,285

    1,339 / 0,029 = 1,310 ... Max Vcore Peak 1,323 and VID 1,345 ... During Non AVX Load 1,296

    1,329 / 0,019 = 1,310 ... Max Vcore Peak 1,333 and VID 1,355 ... During Non AVX Load 1,305

    1,319 / 0,009 = 1,310 ... Max Vcore Peak 1,341 and VID 1,365 ... During Non AVX Load 1,314

    1,311 / 0,001 = 1,310 ... Max Vcore Peak 1,359 and VID 1,375 ... During Non AVX Load 1,323

    so you see, those are the results when trying to reduce offset. In Row 2 i get exactly what i was looking for. But with every reduce i get higher (unwanted) voltages ...

  5. #5
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,375


  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array mdzcpa PC Specs
    mdzcpa PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero XI
    Processor9900k @ 5.1Ghz All Core 1.315v AVX -2
    Memory (part number)Gskill GTZ 4133 C17 32GB (4x8GB)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 2080 TI OC
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro M.2 512GB for OS & APPS
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro M.2 1TB for GAMES
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CasePhanteks Evolv X
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 1000W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Corsaur VOID Pro
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Wide Desk Mat
    OS WIN 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys VELOP
    Accessory #1 ROG 751JY Laptop for Moobile Gaming
    Accessory #2 Koolance EXC-800 Chiller
    Accessory #3 25+ years of overclocking

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    76
    Posts
    869

    Using adaptive voltage I don't bother with offset. I simply set my OC voltage to 1.315. Leave Offset at 0. LLC 6.
    I leave MCE on Auto to handle the power parameters.
    I leave speedstep and all c states at default and let the chips VID control low end down clocked voltage. There are diminishing returns in heat and power savings trying to make that any lower.

    I get 800mhz and .666v at the low end and 5.1Ghz at 1.288v on full load.
    I don't care about the droop and leave LLC 6 to prevent drastic overshoot.

    For clarification, in theory, if 1.288v wasn't enough vcore at load for stability, I'd simply raise adaptive OC voltage higher. (EG 1.325).
    I do not play with LLC or Offset to achieve reported Vcore to be exactly what I set because it doesn't matter.

    Bottom line, keep it simple.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    I have red that already as part of my investigations on what is wrong with my understanding. The most important part beeing is:

    "[...]Therefore it is totally redundant to disable MCE and then max out power and current limits, since enabling MCE does the exact same thing and no more. Really, just leave MCE at auto if you plan on overclocking, it does you no harm.[...]"

    So yes, i have played around with Current Limit settings from 100 to 170, without noticing any changes in my tests. Same on Auto.


    Quote Originally Posted by mdzcpa View Post
    Using adaptive voltage I don't bother with offset. I simply set my OC voltage to 1.315. Leave Offset at 0. LLC 6.
    I leave MCE on Auto to handle the power parameters.
    I leave speedstep and all c states at default and let the chips VID control low end down clocked voltage. There are diminishing returns in heat and power savings trying to make that any lower.

    I get 800mhz and .666v at the low end and 5.1Ghz at 1.288v on full load.
    I don't care about the droop and leave LLC 6 to prevent drastic overshoot.

    For clarification, in theory, if 1.288v wasn't enough vcore at load for stability, I'd simply raise adaptive OC voltage higher. (EG 1.325).
    I do not play with LLC or Offset to achieve reported Vcore to be exactly what I set because it doesn't matter.

    Bottom line, keep it simple.
    well i really would like to keep it simple but dont you see the problem i have? If i put in 1.315 as adaptive vcore without any offset, i will get values of under load of > 1.340 and peaks even higher, just check the table i have posted with all the values i have tried. You would think ok then just decrease the value .. so if it put in a lower number, AVX tests will fail as i will drop below 1.20. C states, speedstep etc i also have on default and did not touch them... the only difference with your settings is that i use LLC5 as 6 is too much risk for my 24/7 OC.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array mdzcpa PC Specs
    mdzcpa PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero XI
    Processor9900k @ 5.1Ghz All Core 1.315v AVX -2
    Memory (part number)Gskill GTZ 4133 C17 32GB (4x8GB)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 2080 TI OC
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro M.2 512GB for OS & APPS
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro M.2 1TB for GAMES
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CasePhanteks Evolv X
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 1000W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Corsaur VOID Pro
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Wide Desk Mat
    OS WIN 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys VELOP
    Accessory #1 ROG 751JY Laptop for Moobile Gaming
    Accessory #2 Koolance EXC-800 Chiller
    Accessory #3 25+ years of overclocking

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    76
    Posts
    869

    Quote Originally Posted by da_mercury View Post

    well i really would like to keep it simple but dont you see the problem i have? If i put in 1.315 as adaptive vcore without any offset, i will get values of under load of > 1.340 and peaks even higher, just check the table i have posted with all the values i have tried. You would think ok then just decrease the value .. so if it put in a lower number, AVX tests will fail as i will drop below 1.20. C states, speedstep etc i also have on default and did not touch them... the only difference with your settings is that i use LLC5 as 6 is too much risk for my 24/7 OC.


    Change MCE back to Auto
    Set your Power Package, Current Capability and Short and Long Term Durations back to Default
    Enter 1.315 as your Additional Turbo Voltage
    Leave Offset at AUTO


    With LLC 5 or 6 you will NOT be overshooting sustained voltage under load. You should see some droop. If you are seeing more than what's been set, you have something else adjusted from Default.

    BTW, LLC6 is just fine for 24/7 OC. It will bring you as close to set voltages as possible, but still provides some droop and keeps overshoot to a minimum.

    EDIT: Your chart has every line with a value in your Offset. Needs to be AUTO.

    EDIT 2: What you are trying to accomplish by tuning every parameter in the UEFI is good when you want to wrestle out every last megahertz of overclock with adaptive voltage as AVX and non-AVX require different transient voltages for maximum stability. But, in my opinion, if you want to sacrifice max overclock by using Adaptive Mode for power and heat savings anyway, then running the default simple approach is much easier. At least its the best way to start. You can then go on to bang away at the all parameters if you want to squeeze out more. I have just found from personal experience that using custom adaptive parameters is not worth the gains. But that's just me.
    Last edited by mdzcpa; 03-17-2019 at 04:22 PM.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Just did it ... F5 for reset back to default, only changed to XMP2, sync all cores to 49, LLC5, Adaptive 1.315 Offset Auto.

    It’s almost the same like my last row in the test ... (I expected that)

    So to be precise ... *

    *1,310 / auto = 1,310 ... Max Vcore Peak 1,368 and VID 1,382 ... During Non AVX Load 1,323

    *

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array mdzcpa PC Specs
    mdzcpa PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero XI
    Processor9900k @ 5.1Ghz All Core 1.315v AVX -2
    Memory (part number)Gskill GTZ 4133 C17 32GB (4x8GB)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 2080 TI OC
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro M.2 512GB for OS & APPS
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro M.2 1TB for GAMES
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CasePhanteks Evolv X
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 1000W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Corsaur VOID Pro
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Wide Desk Mat
    OS WIN 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys VELOP
    Accessory #1 ROG 751JY Laptop for Moobile Gaming
    Accessory #2 Koolance EXC-800 Chiller
    Accessory #3 25+ years of overclocking

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    76
    Posts
    869

    Quote Originally Posted by da_mercury View Post
    Just did it ... F5 for reset back to default, only changed to XMP2, sync all cores to 49, LLC5, Adaptive 1.315 Offset Auto.

    It’s almost the same like my last row in the test ... (I expected that)

    So to be precise ... *

    *1,310 / auto = 1,310 ... Max Vcore Peak 1,368 and VID 1,382 ... During Non AVX Load 1,323

    *

    Then it is likely you have another setting not at Default. Yours would be the first case I've seen on any M11 board that loaded voltage exceeds what is set under Additional Turbo Voltage.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •