Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    73

    Absolutely awful memory controller on new i9 9900K!

    Hello, I just upgraded from a i7 8700K to the i9 9900K and I'm very much regretting it. My XMP was stable with the i7. I was able to do (4200MHz) 18,18,18,38 (CL), (tRCD), (tRP), (tRAS) timings perfectly with the i7. Now my system won't make it past POST with the newly inserted i9 even with the stock XMP profile (4133MHz). The boot process always halts and loops at debug code 61 which is "NVRAM Initialization" according to the manual. I'm using the same settings I used with the i7 on the i9 and same hardware. Only thing different is the new CPU.

    The rest of my specs are:
    MOBO:ASUS Maximus X APEX
    RAM: GSKILL 8GBx2 4133MHz (F4-4133C19D-16GTZR)
    GPU: ASUS STRIX 1080 Ti
    PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2.

    No matter what I set the VCCIO/VCCSA voltage to it doesn't help. The system still won't successfully pass the POST. Changing the timings to 20,20,20,40 doesn't help either. It's only when I drop the frequency to 4000MHz that the POST passes and I'm able to get into Windows and Stress test.
    I just came from the overclock.net forums and some say it's not the IMC (Integrated Memory Controller) but the motherboard being outdated because its Z370. Well i'm at a loss because the Z390 board I want "ASUS MAXIMUS XI APEX" doesn't exist here in the USA yet. I had already set up a return to Amazon because I was going to swap and hope for a better i9 with a better IMC. I was hoping to eventually purchase the Gskill Royal RGB (4600MHz) kit, like hell that's going to work if I can't even get (4133MHz) with my current kit. This whole experience is discouraging. I wasted my entire yesterday trying to get my OC the way I want it.
    Last edited by Nikorasu95; 03-15-2019 at 01:33 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,406

    Quote Originally Posted by Nikorasu95 View Post
    I had already set up a return to Amazon because I was going to swap and hope for a better i9 with a better IMC.
    This is disgusting and immoral in my opinion.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Whambulance.gif 
Views:	0 
Size:	15.3 KB 
ID:	79515

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Well, if the memory kit doesn't do the timings it's advertised, then why not?
    Or would you suggest it's a problem with the Apex? I actually doubt it...

    Edit: Ok, disregard. It's about the CPU not the RAM... Anyhow, really strange, if you're not doing something wrong. No offense.

  4. #4
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    73

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    This is disgusting and immoral in my opinion.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Whambulance.gif 
Views:	0 
Size:	15.3 KB 
ID:	79515
    WTF? Really? How so??? The item was purchased on Amazon and I'm simply returning it for a replacement.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array mdzcpa PC Specs
    mdzcpa PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero XI
    Processor9900k @ 5.1Ghz All Core 1.315v AVX -2
    Memory (part number)Gskill GTZ 4133 C17 32GB (4x8GB)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 2080 TI OC
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro M.2 512GB for OS & APPS
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro M.2 1TB for GAMES
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CasePhanteks Evolv X
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 1000W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Corsaur VOID Pro
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Wide Desk Mat
    OS WIN 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys VELOP
    Accessory #1 ROG 751JY Laptop for Moobile Gaming
    Accessory #2 Koolance EXC-800 Chiller
    Accessory #3 25+ years of overclocking

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    79
    Posts
    914

    I think the point is that your CPU is not defective. Anything above 2133Mhz is an overclock and not guaranteed. Hopefully you will be honest and say you want to exchange your CPU because it won't support your overclocking your RAM. They should accept that anyway. Amazon is pretty good about it.

    The other side bar to the story is that most folks don't get it that running ram above 4000mhz is a crap shoot anyways. It takes a good ram, a very good IMC on the chip, and a board well tuned to do it. And I might add that the 370 board might not give the optimal chance with a 9900k plugged in. Its surprising how many folks get caught up in the "well my RAM is XMP 4,000,000mhz rated so my rig should run it" mentality. Rated memory is only one of the factors.


    Because of the realities I just mentioned, the OP post does come off a tad whiny. But I do understand the disappointment. It just should not have surprised you.

  6. #6
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    73

    Quote Originally Posted by mdzcpa View Post
    I think the point is that your CPU is not defective. Anything above 2133Mhz is an overclock and not guaranteed. Hopefully you will be honest and say you want to exchange your CPU because it won't support your overclocking your RAM. They should accept that anyway. Amazon is pretty good about it.

    The other side bar to the story is that most folks don't get it that running ram above 4000mhz is a crap shoot anyways. It takes a good ram, a very good IMC on the chip, and a board well tuned to do it. And I might add that the 370 board might not give the optimal chance with a 9900k plugged in. Its surprising how many folks get caught up in the "well my RAM is XMP 4,000,000mhz rated so my rig should run it" mentality. Rated memory is only one of the factors.


    Because of the realities I just mentioned, the OP post does come off a tad whiny. But I do understand the disappointment. It just should not have surprised you.
    Well apparently my i7 8700K has a better IMC because I was able to run my 4133MHz DIMMs @ 4200MHz with adjusted timings dropped from 19,19,19,39 to 18,18,18,38. Last night I was able to finally boot in Windows @ 4133MHz with both the VCCSA/VCCIO set to 1.2500 and DRAM set to 1.4500 as suggested by a reddit user. I was able to run ADIA64 for 5hrs with no problems. I then proceeded to turn my PC off and go to bed because it looked stable. The next morning my computer would not pass the POST because it was back to square-one again with being stuck on debug code 61. The computer would loop 5 times untill I was able to get into the BIOS. Now those settings won't get me into Windows at all anymore.. It's like the IMC has gotten worse apparently.
    Last edited by Nikorasu95; 03-16-2019 at 04:43 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array pndiode PC Specs
    pndiode PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Lenovo
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Extreme, BIOS 0201
    ProcessorI7-7700K
    Memory (part number)G-Skill F4-3600C17Q-16GVK
    Graphics Card #1ROG GTX 980 MATRIX-GTX980-P-4GD5 Bykski Water N-AS98ROG-X Full Cover
    Graphics Card #2ROG GTX 980 MATRIX-GTX980-P-4GD5 Bykski Water N-AS98ROG-X Full Cover
    Graphics Card #3GPU Tweak II 2.0.3.1 works, no GPU volt monitor since Version 2.8.3.0, shows in LN2 mode only
    MonitorSAMSUNG S22D300HY (2 ea)
    Storage #1WD Black SN750 1TB
    Storage #2WD Blue 4TB (4 ea)
    CPU CoolerEK Kit L360
    CaseINWIN 707, Corsair ML140 (4 each), Corsair ML120 (4 each)
    Power SupplyThermalTake Toughpower 1200W
    Keyboard Cerberus
    Mouse Logitech MX Master S2
    Headset ROG Strix Fusion 300
    Mouse Pad Generic
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion 3 Series II
    OS Win 10 Pro 1903
    Network RouterGeneric
    Accessory #1 ASUS Fan Extension Card
    Accessory #2 ASUS Blu-Ray Drive (BW-16D1HT)
    Accessory #3 ROG 10GB Express

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    136

    upgraded from a i7 8700K to the i9 9900K

    The BIOS version you are using is confused/corrupted or the Windows (digital signature) you are using is confused/corrupted.

    Yesterday, I was talking to 8700K. Today, I’m talking to 9900K. Now, I’m talking to 8700K!

    Whom, should I talk too? Code 61!

    Who are you? I don’t remember!

    When you installed the 9900K, did you do it on default BIOS settings? Did you do a fresh installation of Windows after installing the 9900K?

    BIOS, Windows, 8700K, and 9900K want to wide in a whaaambulance!

    Code 61, something is confused/corrupted!
    Last edited by pndiode; 03-16-2019 at 11:28 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array rjbarker PC Specs
    rjbarker PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Extreme (BIOS 0605)
    Processor9900K @ 5.1 Ghz w EK Velocity
    Memory (part number)32 GB -Dominator Platinum 3200 Mhz CAS 16
    Graphics Card #1Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Graphics Card #2Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Sound CardOnboard Realtek
    MonitorDell Alienware 34" Ultra wide 120Hz Gsync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512G M.2 NNMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 512G & 256G
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Copper w Nickel Plating
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1600i
    OS W10 HP x64
    Accessory #1 480 * 360 * 240 XSPC Radiators (15 Fans) w 4 Channel 200W Fan Controller
    Accessory #2 XSPC Photon Rez / Vario Pump combo
    Accessory #3 Fesser Flex Tubing - Bits Power Fittings & EK SLi Terminal
    rjbarker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    290

    Quote Originally Posted by pndiode View Post
    The BIOS version you are using is confused/corrupted or the Windows (digital signature) you are using is confused/corrupted.

    Yesterday, I was talking to 8700K. Today, I’m talking to 9900K. Now, I’m talking to 8700K!

    Whom, should I talk too? Code 61!

    Who are you? I don’t remember!

    When you installed the 9900K, did you do it on default BIOS settings? Did you do a fresh installation of Windows after installing the 9900K?

    BIOS, Windows, 8700K, and 9900K want to wide in a whaaambulance!

    Code 61, something is confused/corrupted!
    Very good points...AND 4133 Mhz RAAM is really pushing it......stick to 3200 - 3600 Mhz.....

  9. #9
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,805

    Differences in silicon quality between samples when overclocking is not a valid reason to warrant an RMA. I'd advise anyone in future who advocates this to keep it off the forum

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •