Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Joscofaie0417 PC Specs
    Joscofaie0417 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage IV Extreme
    ProcessorCore i7 3960X
    Memory (part number)4x 4GB
    Graphics Card #1Geforce GTX 770
    Sound CardSoundm Blaster x-FI titanium
    MonitorAsus S247
    Storage #1Samsung Evo 250
    Storage #2Toshiba 500GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Serie h100i V2
    CaseCooler Master
    Power Supply1200 W
    Keyboard Logitech M520
    Mouse Logitech M520
    OS Win 7 x64

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Asus Rog Zenith x399 + AMD 2950X Temp issues

    Hello Guy

    Recently I just build my new system like that :

    MB : Asus Rog Zenith x399
    CPU : AMD 2950X
    Ram : Dominator 4x 16GB C15 3000Mhz
    GPU : 2x Gigabyte 1080 Ti Xtreme Edition
    Radiator : Alphacool 560mm
    CPU WB : RayStorm Neo str4
    Thermal Paste : Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut
    Coolant: Mayhems X1
    Pump and fan at full speed don't change anything.

    My radiator connect only to my CPU, and my GPU's use their regular fan they come with (will change it later)

    The problem is: Without OC my CPU (stock) the temp is between 32C to 50C, it's unstable it can be 30C and just to 41-45-50 and can be 50 and goes down to 39.

    But when I overclock the CPU to 4.1Ghz under +1.10v, the temp stays at 32-34C without load.

    Another thing, with and without OC, when I stress the CPU 100% load for 10min, the temp stays around 68-72C never goes more.

    In my expectation I would like something like 20-28C temps stable, cause my sensor indicate my water in/out is 18-24C.
    Last edited by Joscofaie0417; 03-14-2019 at 06:56 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,399

    Hmm...I have that block and my idle temp is 2 degrees above ambient

    What are you using to measure temps?

    Have you tried reseating the block?...checked flow in loop?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Joscofaie0417 PC Specs
    Joscofaie0417 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage IV Extreme
    ProcessorCore i7 3960X
    Memory (part number)4x 4GB
    Graphics Card #1Geforce GTX 770
    Sound CardSoundm Blaster x-FI titanium
    MonitorAsus S247
    Storage #1Samsung Evo 250
    Storage #2Toshiba 500GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Serie h100i V2
    CaseCooler Master
    Power Supply1200 W
    Keyboard Logitech M520
    Mouse Logitech M520
    OS Win 7 x64

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Hmm...I have that block and my idle temp is 2 degrees above ambient

    What are you using to measure temps?

    Have you tried reseating the block?...checked flow in loop?


    Using AMD Ryzen Master to measure the temps.

    I had tried many time reseating the block but same result. Flow is perfect.

    Flow goes : Reservoir -> Pump -> CPU block -> Radiator -> Reservoir

    Using Tower 900 case.
    Last edited by Joscofaie0417; 03-14-2019 at 11:05 AM.

  4. #4
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,399

    Well, not sure what to suggest...something seems wrong to me...somewhere....contact or flow

    Coloured liquids can gunk up...you have correct inlet port?...just thinking off the top of my head...

    Kryonaut is a tough paste to get a decent thin layer...very stiff

    When you re-pasted was the spread pattern OK?

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array Joscofaie0417 PC Specs
    Joscofaie0417 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage IV Extreme
    ProcessorCore i7 3960X
    Memory (part number)4x 4GB
    Graphics Card #1Geforce GTX 770
    Sound CardSoundm Blaster x-FI titanium
    MonitorAsus S247
    Storage #1Samsung Evo 250
    Storage #2Toshiba 500GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Serie h100i V2
    CaseCooler Master
    Power Supply1200 W
    Keyboard Logitech M520
    Mouse Logitech M520
    OS Win 7 x64

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    I check the flow it seen to be work well however the temp still the same.

    I attached some picture on my loop

    https://nsa40.casimages.com/img/2019...0625879201.jpg

    https://nsa40.casimages.com/img/2019...0628900894.jpg

    https://nsa40.casimages.com/img/2019...0636205763.jpg

    Only the cpu connect to the loop

  6. #6
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,399

    Well...I'm not sure but there are several things that jump out

    First the totally different kits of RAM mounted together...
    Second, the reservoir has a head on it like a pint of Guinness...so I'm wondering about the radiator
    Third GPUs in x8 slots

    Have you tried tipping the case gently...see if the rad has large bubble in it

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array Joscofaie0417 PC Specs
    Joscofaie0417 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage IV Extreme
    ProcessorCore i7 3960X
    Memory (part number)4x 4GB
    Graphics Card #1Geforce GTX 770
    Sound CardSoundm Blaster x-FI titanium
    MonitorAsus S247
    Storage #1Samsung Evo 250
    Storage #2Toshiba 500GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Serie h100i V2
    CaseCooler Master
    Power Supply1200 W
    Keyboard Logitech M520
    Mouse Logitech M520
    OS Win 7 x64

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Well...I'm not sure but there are several things that jump out

    First the totally different kits of RAM mounted together...
    Second, the reservoir has a head on it like a pint of Guinness...so I'm wondering about the radiator
    Third GPUs in x8 slots

    Have you tried tipping the case gently...see if the rad has large bubble in it
    No, I have 4 RAM and a place them in A1, B1, C1, D1
    The GPU in x16_1 and x16_3

    I rebuild my loop i was able to get the temp to 24C without load and 50C with 100% load in 10mins, the reservoir was mounted incorrectly.

    I attached some pictures so that you can see, and with sensor my coolant is 24C, so I wonder how people get less than 20C.

    Which coolant do you use ? I'm using Mayhems X1

    https://nsa40.casimages.com/img/2019...3252736503.jpg

    https://nsa40.casimages.com/img/2019...3256616062.jpg


    I really appreciate your help.

  8. #8
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,399

    OK...that looks much better...the coolant.

    OK...re the GPUs...the picture looked like the PCIe lane lights were showing 2 and 4...my mistake

    Combining memory kits can give problems...corrupt your OS etc. make sure they are running OK...I would test with HCI memtest or Karhu RAMTest
    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...atoes-overview

    Idle temps should be 2 or 3 or 4 degrees above ambient temp.

    If someone has lower tan 20 degrees it's because their ambient is ~15 or 16

    Ambient here 25...idle 27-28

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array Joscofaie0417 PC Specs
    Joscofaie0417 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage IV Extreme
    ProcessorCore i7 3960X
    Memory (part number)4x 4GB
    Graphics Card #1Geforce GTX 770
    Sound CardSoundm Blaster x-FI titanium
    MonitorAsus S247
    Storage #1Samsung Evo 250
    Storage #2Toshiba 500GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Serie h100i V2
    CaseCooler Master
    Power Supply1200 W
    Keyboard Logitech M520
    Mouse Logitech M520
    OS Win 7 x64

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Thank you so much for you help

    For my memory, I had tested all memory, they are working very fine.

    Same brand, Corsair, 3000Mhz, C15, only they are 2x Dominator and 2x Vengeance, after that they have the same specs.

    I had seen for some people, they have the temps under 10-15C that's incredible. I just don't like when my temps goes over 65 under load.

    Thank you again for you help.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •