Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    HELP! My system reboots ramdomly! DRAM voltages?

    First things first, here's a description of my system:

    MB: ASUS STRIX Z370 F-Gaming with latest BIOS v1802
    CPU: Intel 8700K
    Cooler: CoolerMaster Masterliquid 240 pro
    RAM: 2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws V CL15 3200 DDR4
    GPU: MSI GTX1080Ti Founders Edition
    PSU: Corsair 750W
    SSD: Crucial MX500 500GB
    SSD: M.2 Samsung 970 EVO PCI-e x4 1TB
    HDD: Samsung 1TB 7200rpm
    OS: Windows 10 PRO 64bit (build 1809)

    I'm trying to activate XMP profile. Every time I do it, system boots normal, Windows runs perfectly without any issues.
    It happens, when I run X-Plane (and only X-Plane) witch is a very CPU demanding flight simulador, CPU temps rarelery exced 60º C, with CPU limit set to default, 4700 GHz, per core. in this config and without touching CPU and RAM voltages I'm getting random reboots after 1 or 2 hours…
    If I decrease CPU ratio or disable turbo (3700 GHz) it also reboots after the same time.

    So i'm gessing to be something related to DRAM settings. If I disable XMP profile system runs normal…
    i've tried to set all values to Auto, where it's possible,but I sill get reboots.
    So i'm asking if anyone with the same specs I have (or similar), can help to set a working XMP profile, wicth will need (i think) some changes in voltage settings, for witch I don't have any clue…

    Thank you all

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    HELP! My system reboots ramdomly! DRAM voltages?

    UPDATE!

    Aparently the problem seems to be solved.

    I used memtest86, to test RAM hardware, witch, luckly, gave me no errors.
    below is a photo of one of the DIMMs, showing specs:



    Here are my initial DRAM bios settings:







    I believe timings are correct,
    I don’ understand anything about voltages, however i’ve set DRAM voltage, witch, as specified on the ram stick, should be 1.35v., but no matter what, It always changes to 1.3530 (in yellow). That remais a mistery for me so If someone please can elaborate on that I would be thankful.

    The only manual change I did was the BCLK cpu frequency and BCLK DRAM frequency ratio witch was set to “Auto”, i’ve set it to 100:133... and no more random reboots since then...

    Hope it helps anyone with the same issues.

    Enviado do meu iPhone pelo Tapatalk

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    UPDATE 2:

    After 6 hours, running smoothly, it rebooted again…
    Someone please check my settings, for a possible solution?
    Thank you

  4. #4
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,801

    Memtest86 is not a valid test method for an overclocked system. Please use HCI Memtest or Ramtest.

    https://www.karhusoftware.com/ramtest/

    https://hcidesign.com/memtest/

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    UPDATE 3 !!

    Problem definitly solved!
    It turned out to be a power problem, it looks like the 750w max are were not enough for my system hardware, so I replaced it for a 1200w PSU unit
    I only wish I had the knowlwdge, before.
    Now everything runs smooth ands stable.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,773

    Quote Originally Posted by lonewwolf View Post
    UPDATE 3 !!

    Problem definitly solved!
    It turned out to be a power problem, it looks like the 750w max are were not enough for my system hardware, so I replaced it for a 1200w PSU unit
    I only wish I had the knowlwdge, before.
    Now everything runs smooth ands stable.
    750w PSU should be plenty for your system. How old is the unit?
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by NemesisChild View Post
    750w PSU should be plenty for your system. How old is the unit?
    5 years... I was told this things should last at least 10...

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,773

    Quote Originally Posted by lonewwolf View Post
    5 years... I was told this things should last at least 10...
    Who told you that? Depends on the component quality and PC usage. PSU performance degrades over time.

    5 years is pushing it for most units let alone 10 years.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •