Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Lightbulb Maximus VI Hero: Error Code 55 - I think I managed to fry my CPU

    System specs:
    4770k
    Maximus VI Hero
    1 x GTX 1080
    2X8 GB GSKILL Ares 2400 MHz
    Silverstone Strider Gold 850W (PSU)
    Assorted fans, hdd's, ssd's.

    BACKGROUND: My system has been working perfectly since 2013. I only did mild OC's, never exceeded 1.30V VCore. System worked mostly at stock as I gamed rarely.

    WHAT HAPPENED: Was overclocking through ASUS AI SUITE. Had set 1.27V VCORE Manual voltage at the HIGH PERFORMANCE setting. System worked Ok. Then, I pressed the AUTO button and AI SUITE changed the voltage to standard, i.e. auto with 0.040 Offset. System Worked fine. Then, I wanted to game again and I pressed the HIGH PERFORMANCE setting again. Everything froze. Restarted system by pressing and holding down power button (reset button did not work). When I restarted the system, I got the Error 55 loop.

    TROUBLESHOOTING STEPS:

    1. Removed RAM modules which were on red slots and put them into black slots. Still Error 55 loop.

    2. Since my RAM kit was originally 32GB (4x8 gb modules) I had 2 modules sitting inside their plastic package. Removed modules in use and tried the other 2 unused modules in the black slots. Still Error 55 loop.

    3. Removed GPU and tried to boot the system with no GPU in the PCI slot. Still Error 55 loop.

    4. Cleared CMOS repeatedly through the jumper. Still Error 55 loop

    5. Removed battery from mobo, waited 1 min, reinstalled battery. Still Error 55 loop.

    6. Pressed the MEM OK button and restarted. Still Error 55 loop.

    ================================================== =========

    Not quite sure if I fried the CPU, motherboard or both. I ordered a Pentium 3250 dirt cheap from ebay in order to check and see if 4770k is fried.

    Everything seems to be okay with the motherboard. Rog lights, normal post sequence until Code 55.

    Googled and found out ppl with Error Code 55 mostly had fried CPU's. Thought that Code 00 meant dead CPU.

    Not sure what to do at this point. Any help welcome.

    PLAN: I plan to test with the new Pentium CPU and if I get the same 55 loop, then I will order a cheap mobo from ebay and check to see if 4770k is actually fried.

    Been an enthusiast for over 10 years. Never fried a component. Sucks to be me tonight.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,373

    Hi Achaios

    You're taking the right steps in your troubleshooting, another cpu will tell you if it's the motherboard or cpu. I've seen this before and the culprit was the cpu.

    You could try flashing the bios with bios flashback to see if this brings it back to life.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi Achaios

    You're taking the right steps in your troubleshooting, another cpu will tell you if it's the motherboard or cpu. I've seen this before and the culprit was the cpu.

    You could try flashing the bios with bios flashback to see if this brings it back to life.
    Hey Nate.

    I didn't write so, but I have got the latest BIOS installed on the board. So, what you are suggesting is to re-flash the board with the latest BIOS again?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,669

    Definitely try to reflash BIOS....maybe also...remove all power from the board and the battery...let it sit for a few hours like that....replace battery...clear cmos...then reconnect power and try...

  5. #5
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,373

    Yes as Arne says, it's worth a try to reflash the bios, it may have got corrupted.

    Let's cross our fingers and hope that's all it is.

    Try Arne's other suggestions too.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Posting this to help others. Thanks @Nate @Arne.

    It appears my BIOS had been corrupted. I followed the USB BIOS FLASHBACK procedure found in Chapter 2.2 of the Manual and reflashed the BIOS through the USB Flashback button at the back of the board.

    The board went through post successfully, then returned code AE and finally code A0 which I think indicates all is well.

    I will replace the RAM modules, GPU and start troubleshooting further. Will post followup here.

    When the system first booted following the BIOS flashback, dreaded code 00 did flash once or twice, then the board shut itself down and finally posted successfully.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,669

    Sounds promising...

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    So, all is well. Thanks guys. My system works okay.

    On a side note, I had the following issue and I was wondering if you could help.

    While overclocking through AI Suite, I used the ADAPTIVE setting as follows:
    OC Voltage = 1.24V and Offset Voltage= +0.020V = 1.26V

    However, and although I did set the LLC feature to Level 1 (lowest) through AI Suite, voltage shoots as high as 1.312V. Any ideas how to fix this?

  9. #9
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,373

    Looking good there Achaios !

    I personally would do the overclocking manually in the bios rather than using AI Suite.

    Now quickly cancel that cpu order.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •