Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Massive XMP/Ram overclocking issues on XI Extreme

    So, this is my third Maximus XI Extreme. I have had to return 2 boards already with a -15% restocking fee because the retailers did not have any ram above 3200Mhz.

    These are the kits i have:
    F4-4400C18D-16GTRS (This is the new G.Skill Royal so not currently on the QVL)
    F4-4266C17Q-32GTZR (This is on the XI Extreme QVL)
    F4-4133C19D-16GTZR (Now Sold)

    The issue:
    I can not for the life of me get either of these kits to boot at any frequency above 3466Mhz, yet i can get them running tight timings at 3200Mhz (14-14-14-28) on both kits.
    The bigger issue, is that i upgraded to the XI Extreme from the X Code. My X Code ran both these kits extremely well.

    My 8086K's IMC is fine. I purchased a Unicorn chip that runs 5.5 (-2avx) @ 1.462v, 8 hour RealBench and Prime95 stable. This is the same CPU that i ran in my X Code.

    Maximus XI Extreme Best Memtest stable:
    F4-4400C18D-16GTRS - 3466Mhz 15-15-15-35-T1 @ 1.45v, VCCSA 1.34v, VCCIO 1.34v
    F4-4266C17Q-32GTZR - 3200Mhz 14-14-14-28-T1 @ 1.45v, VCCSA 1.34v, VCCIO 1.34v
    F4-4133C19D-16GTZR - 3466Mhz, 16-16-16-36-T1 @ 1.4v, VCCSA 1.3v, VCCIO 1.3v

    Maximus X Code Best Memtest stable:
    F4-4400C18D-16GTRS - 4266Mhz 17-17-17-T1 @ 1.55v, VCCSA 1.15v, VCCIO 1.15v
    F4-4266C17Q-32GTZR - XMP Default @ 1.45v, VCCSA 1.1v, VCCIO 1.1v
    F4-4133C19D-16GTZR - XMP Profile @ 1.35v, VCCSA 1.0v, VCCIO 1.0v

    This should just not be happening. On the X Code i could get them to boot higher than the XMP profiles (but unstable) with T2 timings, but even with T2 timings on the XI Extreme, i simply can't get even a boot at 3600Mhz on either kit, even trying to run them at CL19 and 1.7v. The fact that i have to run the VCCSA and VCCIO so high on the XI Extreme just to get them stable is also crazy.

    What's the deal here? I've tried all available BIOS on the support site. I can't imagine 3 boards all having the same issue being a coincidence, and at this point it has caused me to lose some serious $$ as these boards are $800 in Australia.

    Unfortunately due to my current setup, i just cant switch back to the X Code as I'm making use of all the header's in this system.

    For those who think I'm over exaggerating with purchasing 3 of these boards, here is an RMA request (as the purchase on this site has no date) and 2 purchases from another retailer with dates.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	owe5wse.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	24.8 KB 
ID:	79562
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	vWZFJoa.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	5.9 KB 
ID:	79563
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	LJPIGHR.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	6.1 KB 
ID:	79564
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DJcpkF3.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	851.7 KB 
ID:	79566

    I have been an Asus customer forever. I am lucky enough to be in a financial position that i can spoil myself every time a new generation releases and my card/mobo is always Asus. For instance my recent build (that I'm having issues with) contains the following Asus parts. 1200W Thor, 2xStrix OC 2080 Ti, Ryujin 360 AIO, Maximus XI extreme. I wan't to continue to be a loyal customer but there seems to be some serious quality control issues with the coffee lake refresh boards.

    I am happy to provide any debug info to your software engineers if it will assist, as I'm sure not many people purchase ram quite this high end, so not many people would be reporting the issues.
    Last edited by lukeyboy89; 03-18-2019 at 05:08 PM. Reason: Updating for correct information

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Enderwiggin03 PC Specs
    Enderwiggin03 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX Z390-E Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900k
    Memory (part number)F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2070 XC Ultra
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster X AE-5
    MonitorASUS VG248QE
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo 500GB m.2
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 1TB SATA
    CPU CoolerEVGA CLC280 with 4x NF-A14 iPPC-3000 PWM (push/pull)fans
    CaseFractal Design R6
    Power SupplyEVGA G3 1000w
    Keyboard Logitech G513 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G703
    Mouse Pad Logitech Poweplay
    OS Windows 10 Home x64

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    96

    Quote Originally Posted by lukeyboy89 View Post
    So, this is my third Maximus XI Extreme. I have had to return 2 boards already with a -15% restocking fee because the retailers did not have any ram above 3200Mhz.

    These are the kits i have:
    F4-4400C18D-16GTRS (This is the new G.Skill Royal so not currently on the QVL)
    F4-4266C17Q-32GTZR (This is on the XI Extreme QVL)
    F4-4133C19D-16GTZR (Now Sold)

    The issue:
    I can not for the life of me get either of these kits to boot at any frequency above 3466Mhz, yet i can get them running tight timings at 3200Mhz (14-14-14-28) on both kits.
    The bigger issue, is that i upgraded to the XI Extreme from the X Code. My X Code ran both these kits extremely well.

    My 8086K's IMC is fine. I purchased a Unicorn chip that runs 5.5 (-2avx) @ 1.462v, 8 hour RealBench and Prime95 stable. This is the same CPU that i ran in my X Code.

    Maximus XI Extreme Best Memtest stable:
    F4-4400C18D-16GTRS - 3466Mhz 15-15-15-35-T1 @ 1.45v, VCCSA 1.34v, VCCIO 1.34v
    F4-4266C17Q-32GTZR - 3200Mhz 14-14-14-28-T1 @ 1.45v, VCCSA 1.34v, VCCIO 1.34v
    F4-4133C19D-16GTZR - 3466Mhz, 16-16-16-36-T1 @ 1.4v, VCCSA 1.3v, VCCIO 1.3v

    Maximus X Code Best Memtest stable:
    F4-4400C18D-16GTRS - 4266Mhz 17-17-17-T1 @ 1.55v, VCCSA 1.15v, VCCIO 1.15v
    F4-4266C17Q-32GTZR - XMP Default @ 1.45v, VCCSA 1.1v, VCCIO 1.1v
    F4-4133C19D-16GTZR - XMP Profile @ 1.35v, VCCSA 1.0v, VCCIO 1.0v

    This should just not be happening. On the X Code i could get them to boot higher than the XMP profiles (but unstable) with T2 timings, but even with T2 timings on the XI Extreme, i simply can't get even a boot at 3600Mhz on either kit, even trying to run them at CL19 and 1.7v. The fact that i have to run the VCCSA and VCCIO so high on the XI Extreme just to get them stable is also crazy.

    What's the deal here? I've tried all available BIOS on the support site. I can't imagine 3 boards all having the same issue being a coincidence, and at this point it has caused me to lose some serious $$ as these boards are $800 in Australia.

    Unfortunately due to my current setup, i just cant switch back to the X Code as I'm making use of all the header's in this system.

    For those who think I'm over exaggerating with purchasing 3 of these boards, here is an RMA request (as the purchase on this site has no date) and 2 purchases from another retailer with dates.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	owe5wse.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	24.8 KB 
ID:	79562
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	vWZFJoa.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	5.9 KB 
ID:	79563
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	LJPIGHR.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	6.1 KB 
ID:	79564
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DJcpkF3.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	851.7 KB 
ID:	79566

    I have been an Asus customer forever. I am lucky enough to be in a financial position that i can spoil myself every time a new generation releases and my card/mobo is always Asus. For instance my recent build (that I'm having issues with) contains the following Asus parts. 1200W Thor, 2xStrix OC 2080 Ti, Ryujin 360 AIO, Maximus XI extreme. I wan't to continue to be a loyal customer but there seems to be some serious quality control issues with the coffee lake refresh boards.

    I am happy to provide any debug info to your software engineers if it will assist, as I'm sure not many people purchase ram quite this high end, so not many people would be reporting the issues.
    I'm sure you'll get some feedback, but I've noticed all of these newer Asus Z390 boards have RAM Issues, I've been lucky to find something that works, but no where near advertised speeds.
    Last edited by Silent Scone@ASUS; 03-18-2019 at 05:56 PM. Reason: Please don't post conjecture

  3. #3
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,801

    I often find each board series is tuned with the CPUs that are released alongside.

    1) What memory stressor did you use to verify stability on your Code?

    2) Did you tune the sub timings on the Code, or bother to make note of what they were before changing (this is important when wanting to push frequency this high)

    3) Try Maximus Tweak Modes 1 and 2

    Any reason why you're using so much VCCSA/VCCIO on one board compared to the other? It's likely you're creating a red herring by flooding these rails with too much voltage, which can be just as bad as using too little

    Here is the 4 DIMM kit you are using running on the Formula XI on the 9900K.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4266 Stable SA.PNG 
Views:	0 
Size:	390.8 KB 
ID:	79571

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ASUS View Post
    I often find each board series is tuned with the CPUs that are released alongside.

    1) What memory stressor did you use to verify stability on your Code?

    2) Did you tune the sub timings on the Code, or bother to make note of what they were before changing (this is important when wanting to push frequency this high)

    3) Try Maximus Tweak Modes 1 and 2

    Any reason why you're using so much VCCSA/VCCIO on one board compared to the other? It's likely you're creating a red herring by flooding these rails with too much voltage, which can be just as bad as using too little

    Here is the 4 DIMM kit you are using running on the Formula XI on the 9900K.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4266 Stable SA.PNG 
Views:	0 
Size:	390.8 KB 
ID:	79571

    Yes, Ive tried mimmicing and even loosening my sub timings from the Code. Even tried just Auto with mode 1 for compatibility.

    The voltages are so much higher on the XI because it's what got me no errors on memtest, I'm not really comfortable going over 1.25 on either setting but until I did I was getting errors during the latter parts of memtest.

    Also the board is supposed to be backwards compatible, it's the same chip set, not an excuse for it to not work well with 8th gen processors.

  5. #5
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by lukeyboy89 View Post
    Also the board is supposed to be backwards compatible, it's the same chip set, not an excuse for it to not work well with 8th gen processors.

    The boards are ‘backwards compatible’ but ‘optimized’ for the newer CPUs. Thats because there are changes to the memory trace layout. Your CPU is likely better off in a X-series board. For the record, each board series is like this. It’s always best to run a given CPU on the chipset that was ‘current’ when it was released.
    Last edited by Raja@ASUS; 03-19-2019 at 02:22 AM.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    The boards are ‘backwards compatible’ but ‘optimized’ for the newer CPUs. Thats because there are changes to the memory trace layout. Your CPU is likely better off in a X-series board.

    That's not true at all unless you're stating that Asus' own marketing is a lie? This was advertised as made for 8th and 9th Gen processors and a direct upgrade to the Z370 boards.

    I'm all cool with you guys admittibg you dun goofed as long as you guys email me regarding this issue so that I can return my motherboard and receive my restocking fee's back for the other two.

    Nowhere does it state that memory is not optimized for 8th gen and to expect lower performance or compatibility issues.

    Your response really seems like a cop out excuse for a product that doesn't meet ROG standards, and it's a massive shame because I have been extremely happy with every board until now. There are plenty of posts on these forums with other's who are having issues with XMP memory settings, so its not exactly exclusive to 8th Gen. I honestly thought Asus had more pride in their products.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot_20190319-132408.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	592.2 KB 
ID:	79582Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot_20190319-132317.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	612.1 KB 
ID:	79583
    Last edited by lukeyboy89; 03-19-2019 at 02:51 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    I've received PM's stating that Asus is deleting threads about bad Z390 boards, as well as banning those who post them. Just in-case you decide to try and silence me i have already cached this page as well as printed a PDF copy.

    If these claims are true, that's super sketchy tactics from a company like this, and if it happens to me, you bet i'll be filing a claim through VCAT, i have zero issues wasting corporations time through mediation and have done so with Samsung and Harvey Norman before. Australian Consumer Law is a mighty fine thing.

  8. #8
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,801

    Quote Originally Posted by lukeyboy89 View Post
    I've received PM's stating that Asus is deleting threads about bad Z390 boards, as well as banning those who post them. Just in-case you decide to try and silence me i have already cached this page as well as printed a PDF copy.

    If these claims are true, that's super sketchy tactics from a company like this, and if it happens to me, you bet i'll be filing a claim through VCAT, i have zero issues wasting corporations time through mediation and have done so with Samsung and Harvey Norman before. Australian Consumer Law is a mighty fine thing.
    As Raja has said, these changes to optimise current gen processors has always been the case as far back as I remember. There are no guarantees with memory overclocking, especially when pushing frequency this far out of spec. It also helps when looking for assistance to answer all the questions asked (doing these things vicariously isn’t easy ).

    If you would like further help dialing in the memory as best possible, post up your current UEFI settings. You can save these as a txt file from within the UEFI.

    P.S Threads are only locked or posts removed when they breach forum rules and regulations. For clarity, only two users have been banned recently, one of which was due to promoting dishonest returns on other vendor products.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ASUS View Post
    *

    As Raja has said, these changes to optimise current gen processors has always been the case as far back as I remember. There are no guarantees with memory overclocking, especially when pushing frequency this far out of spec. It also helps when looking for assistance to answer all the questions asked (doing these things vicariously isn’t easy ).

    If you would like further help dialing in the memory as best possible, post up your current UEFI settings. You can save these as a txt file from within the UEFI.

    P.S Threads are only locked or posts removed when they breach forum rules and regulations. For clarity, only two users have been banned recently, one of which was due to promoting dishonest returns on other vendor products.
    No tuning is going to be satisfactory considering i can't even get it to run 3600mhz stable with CL19-19-19-39-T2 with secondaries set to auto and voltages cranked way above recommendations, and it still wont boot. Not even with 2 sticks. There is clearly a flaw in this product, intentional or not.

    Nowhere on the product page does it warn you that it isn't optimised for 8th Gen, instead it goes out of its way to say it was made for both 8th gen and 9th gen, and suggests its an upgrade by improved memory frequency. Maybe its not false advertising in the US, but it definitely is by Australian Standards.

    Consumers aren't supposed to "assume" the opposite of what is written in the description of a product.

    Your head of marketing's solution was basically "Go back to Maximus X"...

    If you can't see whats wrong with this, i honestly don't know what to tell you.

    https://www.asus.com/au/Motherboards...US-XI-EXTREME/ please show me where its even hinted to that there is a performance HIT for using a supported 8th Gen processor with this? Asus clearly wanted people to upgrade their Z370 boards or they would have explicitly clear or made it only compatible with 9th gen processors.

    Why can't companies just admit that a product is riddled with quality control issues? All you have to do is google "Maximus XI XMP" and there are endless issues.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    This would have been the perfect place to put "I know we said its designed for 8th/9th Gen CPU's, but we don't actually mean its going to work well with 8th Gen, we'll make it sound like an upgrade so you buy it anyway"

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	WDe0G8e.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	11.8 KB 
ID:	79584

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •