cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Xonar Essence STX problem...

erikshank
Level 7
I have a real problem with my ASUS Xonar Essence STX sound card. I bought it several years ago & it has worked flawlessly ever since. At least, until my OCD made me buy a new cable to go between the sound card & my Monsoon IM-700 speakers which have a sub-woofer + right/left & built-in amplifiers. They also have a “puck”, for lack of better word, that does 2 things: it has a button to turn off the sound completely & a pot that adjusts the sound for volume. Both worked until recently when I put in the new cable. After installing it, when I turned it on it played really loud, so loud I thought that I had fried the speakers. I turned it off quickly & used the accompanying Xonar software to turn the volume down. When I played a song after that, the puck didn’t do anything although the speakers worked.

I was a professional computer tech for many years & have been building my own computers for over 30 years. I have always used ASUS motherboards & have had very good luck with them – each one has booted up successfully the first try except one which had to be RMA’d.

My computer has an a Z-170-A mb with an M2 drive + several other SS & mechanical drives + a good video card, Windows 10 Pro, version 1803, and, except for the current problem, has worked flawlessly for years. The old cable was a mini-plug to mini-plug with an adaptor from RCA (which the sound card has) to mini-plug. The new one is the same length (~ 4 feet) but doesn’t have the adaptor since it has RCA’s on one end & mini-plug on the other.

I have tested both cables for continuity & grounding problems. If I put either one on my alternate computer (Creative sound card) they work fine & the puck works. If I put the old one (with the adaptor) on the computer in question, the speakers & puck works. If I put the new one (no adaptor) on, the speakers work but not the either function of the puck.