Results 1 to 10 of 11

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Post GX701 I can't find the GPU switch to turn off G-Sync

    It's probably right in front of my face but I cant find the GPU switch that was advertised to turn off G-Sync for better battery life. Any help would be appreciated thanks

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array FixGX501G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Turn off g-sync for better battery life sounds like nonsense, but if you want to turn it off, go to nvidia control panel and disable the checkbox "Enable G=Sync".

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	g-sync.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	51.4 KB 
ID:	79615

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Hmmm when I open the control panel I can only get to the 3D settings everything else doesn't show up. I'm guessing this is a thing with laptops, never had the other settings not show up before. And really you don't think it would save power? They have a sizable chunk on their product description about this "GPU switch" that shuts off G-Sync and saves a good deal of power. LTT talked about it too in their review.
    Last edited by Soaring Spoon; 03-21-2019 at 06:08 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array FixGX501G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Sure switching off g-sync saves power. Switching off the display saves a lot of power, too. Why buy g-sync componentes when you want to switch it off? It like buy a sports car and remove the spoiler to save fuel. The g-sync function is what makes displays expensive in first place.

    It looks like you have the latest nvidia drivers installed and gx701 display should support g-sync. I do not have a GX701 myself, but I bet the switch g-sync/optimus is in the asus gaming center. If you switch to optimus g-sync will be off.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    So I was right lol it was in front of my face this whole time. Thanks so much for your help as it turns out it seems like this laptop is actually shipped with G-Sync turned off. Once I hit that switch the Nvidia control panel turned back to normal and now I have a 144hz screen with G-Sync . Yeah the only reason I was looking to turn it off is if I just want to watch youtube or browse the web on battery G-Sync halves the battery time so that's the only time I find it's nice to shut it off. Super glad I found it.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by Soaring Spoon View Post
    So I was right lol it was in front of my face this whole time. Thanks so much for your help as it turns out it seems like this laptop is actually shipped with G-Sync turned off. Once I hit that switch the Nvidia control panel turned back to normal and now I have a 144hz screen with G-Sync . Yeah the only reason I was looking to turn it off is if I just want to watch youtube or browse the web on battery G-Sync halves the battery time so that's the only time I find it's nice to shut it off. Super glad I found it.
    Where did you find this switch? I have the same problem where nvidia only shows the 3D settings

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by Wantedx9 View Post
    Where did you find this switch? I have the same problem where nvidia only shows the 3D settings
    Its in armory crate scroll down or use the tabs at the bottom of the window

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ROG1.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	142.8 KB 
ID:	80822
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ROG2.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	103.7 KB 
ID:	80823

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by RaymondTH View Post
    Its in armory crate scroll down or use the tabs at the bottom of the window

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ROG1.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	142.8 KB 
ID:	80822
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ROG2.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	103.7 KB 
ID:	80823

    Yeah mine doesnt have that lol, also it does not allow me to click on the 3ms panal option, even while in turbo mode.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos Capture.jpg  


  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    37

    Switching to Optimus means switching to the integrated graphics instead of the discrete GPU which is really what saves power. The thing is, G-Sync only works with the discrete GPU enabled.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array FixGX501G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Well, that makes sense.
    Glad I could help.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •