Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    G752 M2 NVME SSD Upgrade Question

    I installed a Samsung 970 EVO 1TB in the M2 slot, and Cloned the OS to this drive. The issue is that if I put the 2.5 ssd in the slot the computer automatically boots from that drive. I can't seem to get it sorted where I can reformat the 2.5 drive and use as a secondary storage drive. I've went into the bios and deleted the 2.5 from the boot list, but it doesn't seem to matter, If the 2.5 is in the slot, that's the one that the pc boots from. Thoughts?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Darnassus PC Specs
    Darnassus PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VS -=-=- G750JX
    MotherboardASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G752VS (U3E1) -=-=- ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G750JX (SOCKET 0)
    Processori7 6700HQ @ 2.60GHz -=-=- i7-4700HQ CPU @ 2.40GHz - 3.40GHz
    Memory (part number)2x16gb (M471A2K43BB1-CRC) -=-=- 2x8gb (HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB)
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1070 (8GB) -=-=- GTX 770M (3GB)
    Sound CardRealtek High Definition Audio / NVIDIA High Definition Audio
    MonitorGSync IPS 75HZ -=-=- Chi Mei 60Hz (Overclocked to 85Hz)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO 250GB x2 -=-=- LITEONIT LCS-256M6S
    Storage #2HGST HTS721010A9E630 -=-=- ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB
    CPU CoolerStock -=-=- Stock
    CaseStock -=-=- Stock
    Power SupplyStock -=-=- Stock
    Keyboard Stock -=-=- Stock
    Mouse Razer Naga Epic 1st Generation
    Headset SPH 2500
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    OS Winblows 10 Pro -=-=- Winblows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterCG3000v2
    Darnassus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    61
    Posts
    1,634

    Plug in both drives, boot, spam ESC, you'll see a menu. Boot from Samsung 970. Then format other drive. ;x

    OR

    Plug in Windows Install Disc/USB, go through setup until 'Install to what Drive' then click SSD and 'Delete' all associated partitions. After that, simply cancel the installation, and reboot.

    Given SATA and PCIe nature in my experience, SATA SSD will be "Disk 0". Confirm before taking action and delete.

    You can confirm this by booting into Windows, right click 'My Computer' 'Manage' 'Disk Management' then take a photo of your disks. Your SATA SSD should be at the top (Disk 0) if not, then make sure you remember what number it is, then go into Windows Installer as mentioned above, then delete that Disk.

    Good luck.. ;x


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Untitled.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	127.6 KB 
ID:	75143
    Last edited by Darnassus; 08-11-2018 at 03:09 AM.
    Gosh Blue Lady.. ❤

    JOIN THE ASUS T-SHOOT DISCORD <-- Clicky!

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Well, the M2 doesn't show up as a boot option when the 2.5 is in place.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Darnassus PC Specs
    Darnassus PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VS -=-=- G750JX
    MotherboardASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G752VS (U3E1) -=-=- ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G750JX (SOCKET 0)
    Processori7 6700HQ @ 2.60GHz -=-=- i7-4700HQ CPU @ 2.40GHz - 3.40GHz
    Memory (part number)2x16gb (M471A2K43BB1-CRC) -=-=- 2x8gb (HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB)
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1070 (8GB) -=-=- GTX 770M (3GB)
    Sound CardRealtek High Definition Audio / NVIDIA High Definition Audio
    MonitorGSync IPS 75HZ -=-=- Chi Mei 60Hz (Overclocked to 85Hz)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO 250GB x2 -=-=- LITEONIT LCS-256M6S
    Storage #2HGST HTS721010A9E630 -=-=- ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB
    CPU CoolerStock -=-=- Stock
    CaseStock -=-=- Stock
    Power SupplyStock -=-=- Stock
    Keyboard Stock -=-=- Stock
    Mouse Razer Naga Epic 1st Generation
    Headset SPH 2500
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    OS Winblows 10 Pro -=-=- Winblows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterCG3000v2
    Darnassus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    61
    Posts
    1,634

    Quote Originally Posted by tome10 View Post
    Well, the M2 doesn't show up as a boot option when the 2.5 is in place.
    Have you installed Windows to the NVMe drive..? :f

    If so, then just delete the normal SSD via Windows Installer. ;x
    Gosh Blue Lady.. ❤

    JOIN THE ASUS T-SHOOT DISCORD <-- Clicky!

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    99
    Posts
    4,085

    Well first off as the blue lady suggested boot with the Esc key for boot menu the select your new m.2 to boot from. the format the 2.5 as a logical drive.
    If that don't work for you take out the 2.5 and boot up computer connect the 2.5 VIA USB either SATA to USB or ext case and then format it as a logical drive
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Well first off as the blue lady suggested boot with the Esc key for boot menu the select your new m.2 to boot from.
    Like I said, the M2 isn't an option when the 2.5 is in place for some reason, which throws a monkey wrench into the 'easy way' cog.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    It appears the two disks are having signature collision issues, due to cloning I assume.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    99
    Posts
    4,085

    Quote Originally Posted by tome10 View Post
    Like I said, the M2 isn't an option when the 2.5 is in place for some reason, which throws a monkey wrench into the 'easy way' cog.
    no problem as long as your M.2 is booting and running fine. Use my option 2 SATA to USB to connect and format is windows won't see it that way use MiniTool Partition wizard to delete all partition then format the 2.5 as a logical drive and give it a drive letter using SATA to USB adapter.

    3rd way Leave M.2 out of the notebook, it's already good to go. Put the 2.5 in and start a clean install as soon as the clean insall ask for imput press F10 and Shift keys that will bring up a command prompt. Type Diskpart
    Diskpart, type list disk
    disk 0 is the only disk so type Disk 0
    Disk 0 type Clean All
    exit
    abort the clean install, and install you m.2 again, once you get back into window Use Disk manager to Initialize your 2.5 as a logical disk and give it a drive letter of your choice. End of problem
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Darnassus PC Specs
    Darnassus PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VS -=-=- G750JX
    MotherboardASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G752VS (U3E1) -=-=- ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G750JX (SOCKET 0)
    Processori7 6700HQ @ 2.60GHz -=-=- i7-4700HQ CPU @ 2.40GHz - 3.40GHz
    Memory (part number)2x16gb (M471A2K43BB1-CRC) -=-=- 2x8gb (HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB)
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1070 (8GB) -=-=- GTX 770M (3GB)
    Sound CardRealtek High Definition Audio / NVIDIA High Definition Audio
    MonitorGSync IPS 75HZ -=-=- Chi Mei 60Hz (Overclocked to 85Hz)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO 250GB x2 -=-=- LITEONIT LCS-256M6S
    Storage #2HGST HTS721010A9E630 -=-=- ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB
    CPU CoolerStock -=-=- Stock
    CaseStock -=-=- Stock
    Power SupplyStock -=-=- Stock
    Keyboard Stock -=-=- Stock
    Mouse Razer Naga Epic 1st Generation
    Headset SPH 2500
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    OS Winblows 10 Pro -=-=- Winblows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterCG3000v2
    Darnassus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    61
    Posts
    1,634

    Or just have the SATA SSD alone in the notebook, then go into Windows installer and wipe it that way. ;d

    Or have you already done this, and even with a wiped SATA SSD, it still won't boot while in together? ;x
    Gosh Blue Lady.. ❤

    JOIN THE ASUS T-SHOOT DISCORD <-- Clicky!

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    I went and got a usb sata adapter cable and used my other pc to wipe it. I have both disks working now. Thanks for the pointers!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •