Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Z370G CPU fan step up/down time

    Hi

    I'm using Z370G with the latest BIOS. I'm running a custom loop for my build. I can't find the CPU fan step up/down response time adjustment and my water pump will skyrocket for some random seconds, which is extremely annoying. I think the adjustment for response time is a must have.

    I'm running macOS with this build for 95% of the time other than gaming, so I will need a solution without installing software. I tried to look for hardware, such as an adapter that will curve the pwm. However, I didn't find any.

    What do you guys do for response time?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Guitarmageddon888 PC Specs
    Guitarmageddon888 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus x code bios1704
    Memory (part number)8700k 5.1/4.9avx
    Graphics Card #1MSI 2080 gaming trio
    MonitorHP Omen 27"
    Storage #1Samsung 970 m.2
    Storage #2Samsung 860 evo
    CPU CoolerH150i
    CaseLian li pc011
    Power SupplyEvga supernova g3 850w
    Keyboard Corsair k70
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    186

    Quote Originally Posted by CP9901 View Post
    Hi

    I'm using Z370G with the latest BIOS. I'm running a custom loop for my build. I can't find the CPU fan step up/down response time adjustment and my water pump will skyrocket for some random seconds, which is extremely annoying. I think the adjustment for response time is a must have.

    I'm running macOS with this build for 95% of the time other than gaming, so I will need a solution without installing software. I tried to look for hardware, such as an adapter that will curve the pwm. However, I didn't find any.

    What do you guys do for response time?

    Thanks in advance.
    Short answer....step up doesn't work well, if at all. Do you have a temp monitor of your water? That's what I ended up doing on my h150 when I posted the same question about Corsair Icue on their forum. Don't these boards have a water temp header?

    Plus water temp is a gradual change and isn't going to constantly vary by the second

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by Guitarmageddon888 View Post
    Short answer....step up doesn't work well, if at all. Do you have a temp monitor of your water? That's what I ended up doing on my h150 when I posted the same question about Corsair Icue on their forum. Don't these boards have a water temp header?

    Plus water temp is a gradual change and isn't going to constantly vary by the second
    Yes I do have a sensor in the water and all my fans spin based on the water temp. However, the pump that connects to the pump header does spike.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Guitarmageddon888 PC Specs
    Guitarmageddon888 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus x code bios1704
    Memory (part number)8700k 5.1/4.9avx
    Graphics Card #1MSI 2080 gaming trio
    MonitorHP Omen 27"
    Storage #1Samsung 970 m.2
    Storage #2Samsung 860 evo
    CPU CoolerH150i
    CaseLian li pc011
    Power SupplyEvga supernova g3 850w
    Keyboard Corsair k70
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    186

    Quote Originally Posted by CP9901 View Post
    Yes I do have a sensor in the water and all my fans spin based on the water temp. However, the pump that connects to the pump header does spike.
    So your pump is paired with cpu temp and not water temp?

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Asryan PC Specs
    Asryan PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Hero X
    Processor8086k / 5GHz / delidded
    Memory (part number)32GB G.SKILL Trident Z RGB / 3466Mhz
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1080 TI EVGA FTW3
    MonitorASUS PG34Q - 34" GSYNC
    Storage #1SSD: Samsung EVO 850 - 250Go + Samsung EVO 850 - 500Go
    Storage #2HDD: WD Green 2To 64Mo 3.5"
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i + ML 120 Pro
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe tempered glass
    Power SupplyCorsair RMI 850 GOLD
    Keyboard Corsair k70 rapidfire
    Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
    Headset Logitech G933
    Headset/Speakers G560 Logitech
    OS Win 10 60 bits

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    123

    I have the same issue, i put 25c of step up and down but still, even if the CPU spikes for 2s, i can hear the chassis fan going up and down,

    With the fan of the CPU it's not an issue they are controled by ICUE but for the chassis fan it's a bit annoying

    Also besides setting up fan curve for chassis in Bios, is there another way to control chassis fans plugued on the motherboard? I don't want to instal AI suite again, I hate it.

    Also, another thing i've noticed it seems that the temperatures in the bios does not matches the one in game
    For example;

    If i set up the fan to be at 100% at 50c, they will be only at 80c if I reach 50c in game (the value there are just for example)

    Someone have any idea how to have something more coherent?

    Thanks

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Guitarmageddon888 PC Specs
    Guitarmageddon888 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus x code bios1704
    Memory (part number)8700k 5.1/4.9avx
    Graphics Card #1MSI 2080 gaming trio
    MonitorHP Omen 27"
    Storage #1Samsung 970 m.2
    Storage #2Samsung 860 evo
    CPU CoolerH150i
    CaseLian li pc011
    Power SupplyEvga supernova g3 850w
    Keyboard Corsair k70
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    186

    Quote Originally Posted by Asryan View Post
    I have the same issue, i put 25c of step up and down but still, even if the CPU spikes for 2s, i can hear the chassis fan going up and down,

    With the fan of the CPU it's not an issue they are controled by ICUE but for the chassis fan it's a bit annoying

    Also besides setting up fan curve for chassis in Bios, is there another way to control chassis fans plugued on the motherboard? I don't want to instal AI suite again, I hate it.

    Also, another thing i've noticed it seems that the temperatures in the bios does not matches the one in game
    For example;

    If i set up the fan to be at 100% at 50c, they will be only at 80c if I reach 50c in game (the value there are just for example)

    Someone have any idea how to have something more coherent?

    Thanks
    This is the reason I went with the Corsair commander pro. My case fans are linked to my gpu temperature , so only active during gaming, and my h150i CPU fans are paired to it's liquid temp, NOT cpu temp. Having cpu fans Spike up and down on a whim is a waste especially in a water cooled system. But yeah step up times never work via the BIOS. Not sure why they even bother.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Asryan PC Specs
    Asryan PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Hero X
    Processor8086k / 5GHz / delidded
    Memory (part number)32GB G.SKILL Trident Z RGB / 3466Mhz
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1080 TI EVGA FTW3
    MonitorASUS PG34Q - 34" GSYNC
    Storage #1SSD: Samsung EVO 850 - 250Go + Samsung EVO 850 - 500Go
    Storage #2HDD: WD Green 2To 64Mo 3.5"
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i + ML 120 Pro
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe tempered glass
    Power SupplyCorsair RMI 850 GOLD
    Keyboard Corsair k70 rapidfire
    Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
    Headset Logitech G933
    Headset/Speakers G560 Logitech
    OS Win 10 60 bits

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    123

    I wanted to avoid having another controler in the case actually, I have a H500M case and the front fans are not PWM too. This is a bit annoying to have the fan going up and down all the time, only solution is to have a very peculiar custom curve

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •