cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

GL703GM Utilizing car charging?

New_to_desktops
Level 7
I have a GL703GM. Im a truck driver and im trying to find a way of keeping my laptop charged in my truck. Previously I had inverters that were hooked to the battery. I switched company’s and they have no such inverter. I purchased a 400W inverter, but I’m not able to hook to the battery. This inverter is not able to charge the laptop when the laptop is running. I’m assuming the problem is the power output from the 12V DC connection(cigarette lighter). It is able to charge the laptop in sleep. Any advice on keeping my laptop charged would be great.*
6 REPLIES 6

xeromist
If you only have a single 12v outlet, I'm not sure there's much you can do. If you try to pull too much current through those wires they will overheat and melt.
A bus station is where a bus stops. A train station is where a train stops. On my desk, I have a work station…

davemon50
Level 11
Go higher? Not sure if this will plug in.

600W inverter
Davemon50

davemon50 wrote:
Go higher? Not sure if this will plug in.

600W inverter

It's probably not a lack of capacity in the inverter unless it's not really 400w. In a modern vehicle an accessory plug is going to be fused at 15A, maybe 20A. 15A*12V=180W and 20A*12V=240W. So 400W is enough to max a single outlet. It might actually be a safety feature so that if you use the accessory outlet adapter it limits its draw.
A bus station is where a bus stops. A train station is where a train stops. On my desk, I have a work station…

I have noticed that one of the outlets actually will provide enough power to keep it charging while it’s running, but not if I’m gaming. I’m assuming the limit is the actual outlet, not the inverter. I see on the power adapter for the laptop that it says:
”input 100-240V~50-60Hz 2.4A”
“output 19.5V—-9.23A”