Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array ph33rz PC Specs
    ph33rz PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V edition 10
    ProcessorI7 5820k
    Memory (part number)Hyper x Fury 3000mhz
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
    Graphics Card #2ASUS ROG GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
    Graphics Card #3Nvidia GTX 1080
    MonitorLG 55" 4k TV
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseCorsair H500i
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500
    OS unraid

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Updated bios finally after years and extremly annoyed.

    So i finally updated the bios after years. I had ran with the original bios that was shipped with my board and had no issues at all. I updated with hopes of gaining a performance increase also figuring it was time i finally did so. Since then i have had an on going issue with this BF Qcode. I know that its voltage related or bent pin related and i know the work around to it and dont have any issues with that. I simply just dont understand why if i apply optimal settings and reboot my pc with stock settings this is coming up. I can work around it by lowering my memory speed to 2133 and not increasing voltage and it will fix the issue. My xmp profile for my memory is 2666mhz if i do this tho i will instantly have the bf error which was never the issue running with the original bios. I guess what im trying to ask is why hasn't this been patched or fixed its simply annoying if i apply stock settings the machine should boot up with no issues. The average user isnt gonna know how to go in and adjust voltages or change memory speeds or any of the things required to make this stop.

    oh also i do not have any bent pins and i have remounted this board several times in several different cases nothing seems to change the outcome.


    Board: Rampage V edition 10
    Processor: i7 5820k
    Ram: Hyper X Fury 32gb quad channel

  2. #2
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,801

    The memory rules will have changed a lot since the release BIOS. Did you bother to make note of associated voltages and sub timings before flashing? When overclocking memory it’s always wise to do so.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array mindflayer PC Specs
    mindflayer PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE V Extreme X99
    ProcessorIntel i7-5960x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 32GB DDR4 TridentZ RGB 3600Mhz PC4-28800 CL16 1.35V Quad Channel Kit
    Graphics Card #1MSI Gaming X 1080 Ti
    Graphics Card #2MSI Gaming X 1080 Ti
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU bmiprz 27" WQHD (2560x1440) NVIDIA G-SYNC IPS Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO Series - 512GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 Internal SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 PRO 512GB V-NAND Solid State Drive
    CPU CoolerCORSAIR Hydro Series H115i AIO Liquid CPU Cooler, 280mm Radiator
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1200 P2 80+ Platinum
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 Mechanical Gaming Keyboard - Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse CORSAIR Glaive - RGB Gaming Mouse
    OS Windows 10 Pro - 1809
    mindflayer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    This sounds a lot like what's going on with my Rampage V Extreme U3.1 motherboard which is also paired with a Haswell-E (i7 5960x in my case). My error is more extreme. If I update to the latest BIOS, my 32GB Corsair LPX 3000MHz kit is not even recognized. I have to stay on BIOS 2001 just to pass POST. If I overclock the RAM beyond 2800MHz, I also get the q code "bF". Also, I found that my gaming experience was unstable with RAM overclocks at 2800MHz. So I'm sticking with BIOS version 2001 and running at stock RAM speeds of 2133MHz with my 15-15-15-35 timings.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array mindflayer PC Specs
    mindflayer PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE V Extreme X99
    ProcessorIntel i7-5960x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 32GB DDR4 TridentZ RGB 3600Mhz PC4-28800 CL16 1.35V Quad Channel Kit
    Graphics Card #1MSI Gaming X 1080 Ti
    Graphics Card #2MSI Gaming X 1080 Ti
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU bmiprz 27" WQHD (2560x1440) NVIDIA G-SYNC IPS Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO Series - 512GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 Internal SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 PRO 512GB V-NAND Solid State Drive
    CPU CoolerCORSAIR Hydro Series H115i AIO Liquid CPU Cooler, 280mm Radiator
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1200 P2 80+ Platinum
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 Mechanical Gaming Keyboard - Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse CORSAIR Glaive - RGB Gaming Mouse
    OS Windows 10 Pro - 1809
    mindflayer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Just to update - I fixed my problem by upgrading my RAM to a tight Samsung B die kit. It increased my uncore clock and RAM clock. Very happy, but I paid handsomely for that happiness...

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array ph33rz PC Specs
    ph33rz PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V edition 10
    ProcessorI7 5820k
    Memory (part number)Hyper x Fury 3000mhz
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
    Graphics Card #2ASUS ROG GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
    Graphics Card #3Nvidia GTX 1080
    MonitorLG 55" 4k TV
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseCorsair H500i
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500
    OS unraid

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    ahh yeah i pretty much did the same i went and bought the corsair vengeance pro rgb memory and havent had to make any adjustments or had the issue at all since other then applying the timing and memory speed its been stable as it should of been from the start 2 years ago lol
    Last edited by ph33rz; 04-21-2019 at 11:43 PM.

  6. #6
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,801

    Quote Originally Posted by ph33rz View Post
    ahh yeah i pretty much did the same i went and bought the corsair vengeance pro rgb memory and havent had to make any adjustments or had the issue at all since other then applying the timing and memory speed its been stable as it should of been from the start 2 years ago lol
    Yes, sadly some of the older MFR kits that were available during X99 aren't capable of the same tighter memory subsets as newer memory kits. As with everything, things progress. It's wise to stick to a UEFI build that's stable for you when in that situation.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •