Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Microcode

  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array no1yak PC Specs
    no1yak PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero X I Wi-Fi/ Hero IX
    Processori 8700K / i7 7700K both de-lidded @ 5Ghz
    Memory (part number)Gskill F4-3200C16D / Corsair 2400 LPX
    Graphics Card #1Evga GTX 1070 SC ACX3 / Evga 1060 SC
    Sound CardEssence One DAC Muses edition
    MonitorEizo CG275W
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe / 950 Pro
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 860 M.2 + 850 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NHu-14S on both boards
    CaseCorsair 450D / Corsair 230T
    Power SupplyEvga 650 P2
    Keyboard Cherry MX6
    Mouse Corsair M65
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500 + Senn HD650 + HD 600
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 1903

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    120

    Microcode

    The latest bios version for the Hero XI is 0903 and has an update for the microcode to 9Ah. My CPU is an i7 8700K and Intel's latest code is 96 for that CPU.
    Question:- Does it make any difference to the operation of the(8700K) CPU with a code of 9Ah as opposed to what Intel has said (96).

    If there is a problem with that code then the only Bios that has 96 is 0602. Can someone shed some light no the subject, thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array btrach144 PC Specs
    btrach144 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero Wi-Fi
    ProcessorIntel i7 8086K @ 5.3 GHz 1.38V
    Memory (part number)32 GB G.Skill DDR4 3200MHz C16
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Titan X (Pascal)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Titan X (Pascal)
    MonitorASUS PG27UQ
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 950 Pro 512 GB
    CPU CoolerCustom EK loop
    CaseCorsair 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Mouse Pad Logitech Powerplay
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z905 5.1 surround
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterASUS 88U

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    126

    I updated to 0903 but my CPU signature is 0x906EC and my microcode revision is A0. I have a 9900K. Nothing changed? Not sure if the update was for other processors?
    *

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array no1yak PC Specs
    no1yak PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero X I Wi-Fi/ Hero IX
    Processori 8700K / i7 7700K both de-lidded @ 5Ghz
    Memory (part number)Gskill F4-3200C16D / Corsair 2400 LPX
    Graphics Card #1Evga GTX 1070 SC ACX3 / Evga 1060 SC
    Sound CardEssence One DAC Muses edition
    MonitorEizo CG275W
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe / 950 Pro
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 860 M.2 + 850 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NHu-14S on both boards
    CaseCorsair 450D / Corsair 230T
    Power SupplyEvga 650 P2
    Keyboard Cherry MX6
    Mouse Corsair M65
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500 + Senn HD650 + HD 600
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 1903

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    120

    Quote Originally Posted by btrach144 View Post
    I updated to 0903 but my CPU signature is 0x906EC and my microcode revision is A0. I have a 9900K. Nothing changed? Not sure if the update was for other processors?
    *
    Thanks for the reply but, that was not an answer to my question. It appears that no one seems to know the answer.

  4. #4
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,400

    The microcode appropriate to your CPU will load on your CPU...I imagine the BIOS microcode is cumulative for all CPUs supported on a certain socket

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array no1yak PC Specs
    no1yak PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero X I Wi-Fi/ Hero IX
    Processori 8700K / i7 7700K both de-lidded @ 5Ghz
    Memory (part number)Gskill F4-3200C16D / Corsair 2400 LPX
    Graphics Card #1Evga GTX 1070 SC ACX3 / Evga 1060 SC
    Sound CardEssence One DAC Muses edition
    MonitorEizo CG275W
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe / 950 Pro
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 860 M.2 + 850 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NHu-14S on both boards
    CaseCorsair 450D / Corsair 230T
    Power SupplyEvga 650 P2
    Keyboard Cherry MX6
    Mouse Corsair M65
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500 + Senn HD650 + HD 600
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 1903

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    120

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    The microcode appropriate to your CPU will load on your CPU...I imagine the BIOS microcode is cumulative for all CPUs supported on a certain socket
    The microcode in 0903 is 9Ah which is not what Intel state for the 8700K in their latest updates.So, either Asus has just updated for the 9 series CPU's and not the 8 series. Therefore , how can that microcode (9Ah) be appropriate for the 8700K.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Enderwiggin03 PC Specs
    Enderwiggin03 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX Z390-E Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900k
    Memory (part number)F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2070 XC Ultra
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster X AE-5
    MonitorASUS VG248QE
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo 500GB m.2
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 1TB SATA
    CPU CoolerEVGA CLC280 with 4x NF-A14 iPPC-3000 PWM (push/pull)fans
    CaseFractal Design R6
    Power SupplyEVGA G3 1000w
    Keyboard Logitech G513 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G703
    Mouse Pad Logitech Poweplay
    OS Windows 10 Home x64

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    105

    I'm curious if there's a manual way to push microcode updates, 0903 bios was unstable with my 9900k @ 5.1 vs 0602 bios.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array btrach144 PC Specs
    btrach144 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero Wi-Fi
    ProcessorIntel i7 8086K @ 5.3 GHz 1.38V
    Memory (part number)32 GB G.Skill DDR4 3200MHz C16
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Titan X (Pascal)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Titan X (Pascal)
    MonitorASUS PG27UQ
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 950 Pro 512 GB
    CPU CoolerCustom EK loop
    CaseCorsair 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Mouse Pad Logitech Powerplay
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z905 5.1 surround
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterASUS 88U

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    126

    Quote Originally Posted by no1yak View Post
    The microcode in 0903 is 9Ah which is not what Intel state for the 8700K in their latest updates.So, either Asus has just updated for the 9 series CPU's and not the 8 series. Therefore , how can that microcode (9Ah) be appropriate for the 8700K.
    you have dual bios right? Give it a try on your backup bios.*

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Guitarmageddon888 PC Specs
    Guitarmageddon888 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus x code bios1704
    Memory (part number)8700k 5.1/4.9avx
    Graphics Card #1MSI 2080 gaming trio
    MonitorHP Omen 27"
    Storage #1Samsung 970 m.2
    Storage #2Samsung 860 evo
    CPU CoolerH150i
    CaseLian li pc011
    Power SupplyEvga supernova g3 850w
    Keyboard Corsair k70
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    186

    So the way it works is that microcode can be loaded to the motherboard (i believe) with a bios flash OR into a dll stored within windows. at bootup, windows will check to see if it has a more current version of the microcode in the dll file it keeps. If not, it loads whats in the bios, if so, windows will load was is in that DLL. The latest microcode should be 0x96 for the 8700k. Since the latest bios revision *may not* have microcode that is that current, you can easily apply windows update kbb4465065 and it will give you the current code. I just applied yesterday. Simple quick easy update. I believe they continually update the microcode under that same update number.

    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...rocode-updates

    Quote Originally Posted by no1yak View Post
    The microcode in 0903 is 9Ah which is not what Intel state for the 8700K in their latest updates.So, either Asus has just updated for the 9 series CPU's and not the 8 series. Therefore , how can that microcode (9Ah) be appropriate for the 8700K.
    It will only apply it if its needed and appropriate for that CPUID

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array no1yak PC Specs
    no1yak PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero X I Wi-Fi/ Hero IX
    Processori 8700K / i7 7700K both de-lidded @ 5Ghz
    Memory (part number)Gskill F4-3200C16D / Corsair 2400 LPX
    Graphics Card #1Evga GTX 1070 SC ACX3 / Evga 1060 SC
    Sound CardEssence One DAC Muses edition
    MonitorEizo CG275W
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe / 950 Pro
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 860 M.2 + 850 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NHu-14S on both boards
    CaseCorsair 450D / Corsair 230T
    Power SupplyEvga 650 P2
    Keyboard Cherry MX6
    Mouse Corsair M65
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500 + Senn HD650 + HD 600
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 1903

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    120

    Quote Originally Posted by Guitarmageddon888 View Post
    So the way it works is that microcode can be loaded to the motherboard (i believe) with a bios flash OR into a dll stored within windows. at bootup, windows will check to see if it has a more current version of the microcode in the dll file it keeps. If not, it loads whats in the bios, if so, windows will load was is in that DLL. The latest microcode should be 0x96 for the 8700k. Since the latest bios revision *may not* have microcode that is that current, you can easily apply windows update kbb4465065 and it will give you the current code. I just applied yesterday. Simple quick easy update. I believe they continually update the microcode under that same update number.

    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...rocode-updates



    It will only apply it if its needed and appropriate for that CPUID

    Thanks for the reply, KB4465065 is installed and the code is still showing 9A. So that KB has no effect on the 8700K. There doesn't appear to be any issues with that Bios so I'll continue to use it and if something goes south then I can always revert back to 0602.

    Thanks once again for all your reply s.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •