Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25
  1. #11
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Thank you for this thread it helped me a lot on first getting the machine!

  2. #12
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    I have a problem, i did everything besides adding a bank of ram and playing some intensive games like watch dogs 2 leads to 95c for my cpu.
    With other games i get something around 80 to 90.
    I use a cooling pad to help my laptop (gl704gw), so i dont know what im doing wrong.
    I need help please, i change laptop 2 times because of the low performances (every laptop was a gl704gw)
    Last edited by Adolf_Myers; 07-13-2019 at 03:06 PM.

  3. #13
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Low Fps

    I did all of this on my Strix Scar II GL504GW and my framerate on BFV is around 50 Fps on Ultra. The temps are between 70-85 and the CPU clock bounces between 3 to 3.9 Ghz with up to 80% of use. What could be the problem?

  4. #14
    New ROGer Array poqdavid PC Specs
    poqdavid PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ROG Strix SCAR II
    MotherboardASUS GL504GW
    ProcessorIntel(R) Core(TM) i7-8750H CPU @ 2.20GHz
    Memory (part number)HMA82GS6CJR8N-VK
    Graphics Card #1Intel UHD Graphics 630 (Coffee Lake-H GT2)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 (TU106M)
    Sound CardIntel Cannon Lake-H/S - cAVS (Audio, Voice, Speech) [B0]
    MonitorAUO B156HAN08.2 (AUO82ED)
    Storage #1Intel 660p NVMe PCIe M.2 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G633
    OS Windows 10 Home (x64) Build 18363.535
    poqdavid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Can this also be used with GL504GW?

  5. #15
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    I have a question please, I have a STRIX scar III and I'm trying to overclock the GPU it's an RTX-2070 but the problem is I keep getting power limit throttled on any frequency higher than 1590 MHZ and I can't unlock the power limit in msi after burner and GPU tweak II the slider for the power limit is just greyed out

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array FULLMETALJACKET7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    492

    Quote Originally Posted by MoonwingZxZ View Post
    I have a question please, I have a STRIX scar III and I'm trying to overclock the GPU it's an RTX-2070 but the problem is I keep getting power limit throttled on any frequency higher than 1590 MHZ and I can't unlock the power limit in msi after burner and GPU tweak II the slider for the power limit is just greyed out
    Undervolt it.

  7. #17
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by FULLMETALJACKET7 View Post
    Undervolt it.
    Yeah I already did that, I want to Overclock it but I keep getting power limit throttled when I go past 1590MHZ and my power limit slider in msi afterburner and GPU tweak II is locked

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array FULLMETALJACKET7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    492

    Quote Originally Posted by MoonwingZxZ View Post
    Yeah I already did that, I want to Overclock it but I keep getting power limit throttled when I go past 1590MHZ and my power limit slider in msi afterburner and GPU tweak II is locked
    As far as I know, there is only one way to unlock it, and that involves editing the vBIOS. Doesn't work for all models though. You have to take the risks and try it for yourself. The tool is called "Mobile Pascal TDP Tweaker" (it also supports the 20 series).

    If done properly, undervolting will give you better thermals and performance than a plain and simple overclock without raising the power limit (my 1070 went from 1560mhz stock to 1810mhz undervolted), so I guess that's the best you can get without going to unknown territory.

  9. #19
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by FULLMETALJACKET7 View Post
    As far as I know, there is only one way to unlock it, and that involves editing the vBIOS. Doesn't work for all models though. You have to take the risks and try it for yourself. The tool is called "Mobile Pascal TDP Tweaker" (it also supports the 20 series).

    If done properly, undervolting will give you better thermals and performance than a plain and simple overclock without raising the power limit (my 1070 went from 1560mhz stock to 1810mhz undervolted), so I guess that's the best you can get without going to unknown territory.
    Can you please explain to me how can i safely use it, i extracted my bios using GPUZ and opened it with the mobile pascal tdp tweaker what should i do next

    This is what i got when i opened the bios using tdp tweaker https://ibb.co/tPyxQXJ
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos Untitled-1.jpg  


  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array FULLMETALJACKET7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    492

    Quote Originally Posted by MoonwingZxZ View Post
    Can you please explain to me how can i safely use it, i extracted my bios using GPUZ and opened it with the mobile pascal tdp tweaker what should i do next

    This is what i got when i opened the bios using tdp tweaker https://ibb.co/tPyxQXJ
    You need a SPI Flash programmer with a soic8 test clip to extract and flash your bios chip. It doesn't work with nvflash. Editing the bios file is pretty straight forward.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •