Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array Sigfried PC Specs
    Sigfried PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix X470-F Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 2700X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C16D-16GTZR (Trident Z RGB 32GB 4x8)
    Graphics Card #1Aorus Extreme RTX 2080
    MonitorSamsung U28E590 4K
    Storage #1Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 3TB 7200 rpm
    CPU CoolerArctic Freezer 34 eSports DUO
    CaseCooler Master H500P Mesh White
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower Grand RGB 750W Gold
    Keyboard HyperX Alloy FPS
    Mouse Logitech G403
    OS Windows 10 (1809)

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Asus Strix X470-F Gaming does not work with 4 RAM modules

    Good night, a couple of weeks ago I had problems with my video card and I took it to warranty and today they called me to tell me that it was damaged and they exchanged it for a new one. When I connected this new GPU to the motherboard and turned on the PC, the screen was black without giving me the option to enter the BIOS, all the components turned on but without giving video, I looked out to see the motherboard and the LED indicator of the RAM was on. I turned off and removed two of them (of slots 1 and 3) and I turned on again and loaded the system, I did some tests and everything fine, then I turned off the equipment to test the other modules I removed and these also work, I turned off again and moved the memories to slots 1 and 3 that were empty before and when I turned on I got a message from the motherboard that said that if I kept the memories in that place the system would be unstable, I entered and left the BIOS and the system loaded without problem.

    Why now the motherboard doesn't want to work with all four modules together? What goes from the year until before the GPU problem worked well and at 3200Mhz with the D.O.C.P enabled.

    The motherboard is an Asus ROG Strix X470-F Gaming with BIOS 4207, Ryzen 7 2700X processor, RAM are 2 kits 2x8GB (32GB in total) G.Skill TridentZ RGB (F4-3200C16D-16GTZR). Thank you for your help.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Legolas PC Specs
    Legolas PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero Wifi AC
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 8600k oc 5Ghz
    Memory (part number)Samsung DDR4 16GB
    Graphics Card #1ASUS NVIDIA GTX 1080
    MonitorASUS MS246
    Storage #1Samsung MZVPV256
    Storage #2Samsung MZVPV256
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110I v2
    Power SupplyPC 1200W Turbo-Cool 1200
    Keyboard ASUS SK2045

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    242

    The ram can not work with 4 RAM modules, because the F4-3200C16D-16GTZR works only as 2x8GB module. Due to chip variations, timing differences, it will not work properly.
    I suggest you to use 2x8GB of same kit or get 4x8GB of the Gskill. Hope it helps.
    Sincerely,
    Legolas

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array Sigfried PC Specs
    Sigfried PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix X470-F Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 2700X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C16D-16GTZR (Trident Z RGB 32GB 4x8)
    Graphics Card #1Aorus Extreme RTX 2080
    MonitorSamsung U28E590 4K
    Storage #1Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 3TB 7200 rpm
    CPU CoolerArctic Freezer 34 eSports DUO
    CaseCooler Master H500P Mesh White
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower Grand RGB 750W Gold
    Keyboard HyperX Alloy FPS
    Mouse Logitech G403
    OS Windows 10 (1809)

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Hi, I've already solved the problem. I just had to remove the battery from the motherboard for a few minutes, and then manually enter the values into the BIOS for the four sticks to work at 3200Mhz. So far so good. There was no need to change or buy new RAM.

    Thanks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •