Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Rampage v Edition 10 PCI E lanes set at 16x/8x with 5930k

    Hi chaps, hoping someone has some answers for me.

    I recently 'upgraded' from a maximus iv and 2600k to a rampage v edition 10 and a 5930k for a good price.

    I chose the 5930k as I have two matrix 980ti in sli so wanted 16x/16x.

    However both my GPU post in bios and GPU-Z are both saying that the second card in slot 3 is running at 8x.

    Anyone know what I can do to enable / force x16 on the 3rd pci-e slot.

    Yes the cards are both in the two x16 slots and I am aware there is probably no bottleneck here but I'd like to know my system is running as intended.

    Cheers many thanks!

  2. #2
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,440

    Any other PCIe lanes occupied?

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    No buddy that's why I'm confused. Haven't even got around to an m.2 drive yet. Hmmmm ������

    Nothing connected to the board other then the GPUs and a sata ssd.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array R5Eandme PC Specs
    R5Eandme PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme/U3.1
    Processori7-5930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK64GX4M8A2400C14
    Graphics Card #1MSI Geforce GTX 980Ti
    Sound CardAsus Essence STX II
    MonitorAcer B286HK 4K UHD
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 1TB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932
    Power SupplyThermaltake TPG-1200M-F 1200W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse Asus Sica
    Mouse Pad "And God said ... <Maxwell's equations> ... and there was light."
    OS Win 10 x64 Pro
    Accessory #1 Asus USB 3.1 A, StarTech USB 3.1 C PCIe adapters
    Accessory #2 Syba 1394A/B Firewire PCIe adapter PEX30009
    Accessory #3 Asus OC Panel I
    R5Eandme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    58
    Posts
    263

    Hello,

    Just some off the cuff suggestions. The i7-5930K supports 40 PCIE lanes while the i7-5920K supports only 28 lanes. The behavior you describe would be expected for a 5920K, see the attached info from the manual for R5E10. Might be worth double checking what they actually put on the board, although you probably already have done that. Check also the PCIE dip switches are all "on", in the upper right corner of the board. Try swapping positions of the cards to see if the problem is with the card and not the slots. Maybe there is a problem with the edgeboard connectors tarnished or something.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos PCIe Lanes Rampage V ed 10.JPG  

    Last edited by R5Eandme; 03-28-2019 at 05:30 PM.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Hi there thanks for the suggestions. I'll have a go at swapping the cards over again this evening, I'll blast the slots out quickly as that can't hurt.

    Well this is why I bought the 5930k and not the 5820 because I wanted the 40 lanes. The dip switches are all switched on but I'll give them some exercise and see if that makes any difference.

    I'll get back to you.

    Any other suggestions very welcome, thanks

  6. #6
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,440

    I'd definitely swap the GPUs over...see if it's the same...make sure the GPUs are seated propperly etc.

    I presume you've checked the CPU socket for bent pins and stuff like that.

    Make sure the cooler is evenly mounted...

    You could try to populate the EZplug molex connector at the bottom of the board

    What PSU do you have powering all this?

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Hey Arne, I will be sure to try the EZ plug, maybe the matrix cards want to see more juice?

    My power supply is 1250w enermax it's a little old but golden

    I did check out we the socket and there was nothing untoward there. Could have another look soon. If I don't get anywhere.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array R5Eandme PC Specs
    R5Eandme PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme/U3.1
    Processori7-5930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK64GX4M8A2400C14
    Graphics Card #1MSI Geforce GTX 980Ti
    Sound CardAsus Essence STX II
    MonitorAcer B286HK 4K UHD
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 1TB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932
    Power SupplyThermaltake TPG-1200M-F 1200W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse Asus Sica
    Mouse Pad "And God said ... <Maxwell's equations> ... and there was light."
    OS Win 10 x64 Pro
    Accessory #1 Asus USB 3.1 A, StarTech USB 3.1 C PCIe adapters
    Accessory #2 Syba 1394A/B Firewire PCIe adapter PEX30009
    Accessory #3 Asus OC Panel I
    R5Eandme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    58
    Posts
    263

    Also try and see if there is a BIOS setting that forces the x16 slot #3 to become x8 mode. If none of these things work, it must be bad Karma

  9. #9
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,440

    Quote Originally Posted by Morkrah View Post
    Hey Arne, I will be sure to try the EZ plug, maybe the matrix cards want to see more juice?

    My power supply is 1250w enermax it's a little old but golden

    I did check out we the socket and there was nothing untoward there. Could have another look soon. If I don't get anywhere.
    It's good to use the EZplug for multi GPU...but I'm not sure it would make a difference to the x8x16 you're seeing.

    Is the 5930K second hand? I once had a CPU do this to me...the PCIe controller was a bit fried...which is why swapping GPUs would help narrowing things down

    You could also BIOS flashback a fresh BIOS on there...switch BIOS to the second chip...

    Quote Originally Posted by R5Eandme View Post
    it must be bad Karma
    LOL...you'll be down to x4 Gen 2 for the suggestion
    Last edited by Arne Saknussemm; 03-28-2019 at 08:07 PM.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array R5Eandme PC Specs
    R5Eandme PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme/U3.1
    Processori7-5930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK64GX4M8A2400C14
    Graphics Card #1MSI Geforce GTX 980Ti
    Sound CardAsus Essence STX II
    MonitorAcer B286HK 4K UHD
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 1TB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932
    Power SupplyThermaltake TPG-1200M-F 1200W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse Asus Sica
    Mouse Pad "And God said ... <Maxwell's equations> ... and there was light."
    OS Win 10 x64 Pro
    Accessory #1 Asus USB 3.1 A, StarTech USB 3.1 C PCIe adapters
    Accessory #2 Syba 1394A/B Firewire PCIe adapter PEX30009
    Accessory #3 Asus OC Panel I
    R5Eandme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    58
    Posts
    263

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    It's good to use the EZplug for multi GPU...but I'm not sure it would make a difference to the x8x16 you're seeing.

    Is the 5930K second hand? I once had a CPU do this to me...the PCIe controller was a bit fried...which is why swapping GPUs would help narrowing things down

    You could also BIOS flashback a fresh BIOS on there...switch BIOS to the second chip...



    LOL...you'll be down to x4 Gen 2 for the suggestion
    "LOL...you'll be down to x4 Gen 2 for the suggestion": not a chance. I've been AGP for a long time

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •