Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    109

    Asus Maximus XI Hero and G.Skill F4-3600C16Q-32GTZKK problem

    Hi,

    I've bought new G.Skill Trident Z, DDR4, 32 GB (4x8GB),3600MHz, CL16 (F4-3600C16Q-32GTZKK) and I try to run it with i9-9900K on Asus Maximus XI Hero. This RAM isn't on ASUS QVL but it is on G.Skill QVL.

    The i9-9900k is not overclocked (standard Turbo mode active) and XMP I profile is set (3600 MHz, CL16-16-16-36 2T @1.35V). Other BIOS things are set of Auto. I've successfuly passed these tests:
    - 8 hrs of ROG RealBench v2.43
    - Karhu RAM test 1.1.0.0 - coverage of 12600%.

    But, I have a problem. When decompressing 13GB RAR file (Winrar 64bit, 7z, etc.) I got errors stating archive is corrupted (archive consistency confirmed on other computer). Strange thing is the problem is when RAR file is on HDD. If I copy this file to SDD and try to decompress it from SDD everything goes ok. I've tried WinRAR decompressing on brand new HDD -> WinRAR failed (there isn't HDD issue therefore).

    So, I've done some additional tests:
    - only 2 sticks in A2 and B2 slots (16GB @XMP I) - WinRAR passed
    - only another 2 sticks in A1 and B1 slots (16GB @XMP I) - WinRAR passed
    - 4 sticks (32GB but @3200 MHz) - WinRAR passed.
    - 4 sicks >3200 MHz - WinRAR failed.

    I've tried to raise DRAM voltage to 1.4V, but WinRAR failed on HDD.

    PS. Generaly small RAR files (ca. 2-3GB) are decompressed normally.

    May I asked more experienced ROG users to guide me to achive XMP 3600 MHz. Or maybe I should RMA this RAM.
    Please help.
    Last edited by cniedzi; 03-29-2019 at 06:29 AM.

  2. #2
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    148
    Posts
    1,971

    Quote Originally Posted by cniedzi View Post
    Hi,

    I've bought new G.Skill Trident Z, DDR4, 32 GB (4x8GB),3600MHz, CL16 (F4-3600C16Q-32GTZKK) and I try to run it with i9-9900K on Asus Maximus XI Hero. This RAM isn't on ASUS QVL but it is on G.Skill QVL.

    The i9-9900k is not overclocked (standard Turbo mode active) and XMP I profile is set (3600 MHz, CL16-16-16-36 2T @1.35V). Other BIOS things are set of Auto. I've successfuly passed these tests:
    - 8 hrs of ROG RealBench v2.43
    - Karhu RAM test 1.1.0.0 - coverage of 12600%.

    But, I have a problem. When decompressing 13GB RAR file (Winrar 64bit, 7z, etc.) I got errors stating archive is corrupted (archive consistency confirmed on other computer). Strange thing is the problem is when RAR file is on HDD. If I copy this file to SDD and try to decompress it from SDD everything goes ok. I've tried WinRAR decompressing on brand new HDD -> WinRAR failed (there isn't HDD issue therefore).

    So, I've done some additional tests:
    - only 2 sticks in A2 and B2 slots (16GB @XMP I) - WinRAR passed
    - only another 2 sticks in A1 and B1 slots (16GB @XMP I) - WinRAR passed
    - 4 sticks (32GB but @3200 MHz) - WinRAR passed.
    - 4 sicks >3200 MHz - WinRAR failed.

    I've tried to raise DRAM voltage to 1.4V, but WinRAR failed on HDD.

    PS. Generaly small RAR files (ca. 2-3GB) are decompressed normally.

    May I asked more experienced ROG users to guide me to achive XMP 3600 MHz. Or maybe I should RMA this RAM.
    Please help.

    With that much Ramtest coverage, the memory shouldn't have any issues with decompression. Have you tried running Karhu again since the issue arose? Sounds like there's possibly some memory training discrepancy.

    Set VCCSA and VCCIO voltages to 1.2v - 1.25v.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    109

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ASUS
    With that much Ramtest coverage, the memory shouldn't have any issues with decompression. Have you tried running Karhu again since the issue arose? Sounds like there's possibly some memory training discrepancy.

    Set VCCSA and VCCIO voltages to 1.2v - 1.25v.
    I've reverted to BIOS 0602 and WinRAR errors have gone. System is rock solid.
    When 0702> WinRAR failed.

    Any idea?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    109

    Hi,

    The problem exists since I've build my computer (3 weeks ago). This 12600% Karhu RAM test coverage is from last night (test was ran all night, 0 errors).

    When in home I will try to set VCCSA and VCCIO voltages to proposed 1.2v - 1.25v and report back.

    PS. Today morning I installed BIOS 0602 and tried to decompress 2 times - without any errors. I have to do more tests with 0602.
    Last edited by cniedzi; 03-29-2019 at 09:51 AM.

  5. #5
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    148
    Posts
    1,971

    Hard to say sitting from here, but memory rules change from build to build occasionally. If the memory kit is more stable on the previous UEFI, then there's little reason to change unless one is happy to tune things manually.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    109

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ASUS View Post
    Hard to say sitting from here, but memory rules change from build to build occasionally. If the memory kit is more stable on the previous UEFI, then there's little reason to change unless one is happy to tune things manually.
    Can you guide me how to tune my RAM on BIOS 0903 pls?

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    109

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ASUS View Post
    Hard to say sitting from here, but memory rules change from build to build occasionally. If the memory kit is more stable on the previous UEFI, then there's little reason to change unless one is happy to tune things manually.
    Hi,

    I wonder if the fact that my F4-3600C16Q-32GTZKK isn't on ASUS QVL may be the reason of it's "incompatibility" with newer BIOS?
    I have possibility to return it back and get new RAM that is on ASUS QVL (for example F4-3600C17Q-32GTZ).
    What do you think? Does RGB/non-RGB matter in terms of stability at high freq?

    Pls find attached details of my F4-3600C16Q-32GTZKK.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos RAM.png  

    Last edited by cniedzi; 04-02-2019 at 10:15 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    109

    Ok, RAM has been returned. Waiting for new F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR. Will see.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Phillyflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    536

    Quote Originally Posted by cniedzi View Post
    Ok, RAM has been returned. Waiting for new F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR. Will see.
    You should have no issues with the 3866mhz quad kit...I have used it on 4 different boards .
    Asus ROG Maximus XI EXTREME
    Intel i7 9900K OC'D @ 5.2 GHZ @ 1.345V (1.296V LOAD) LLC 6 PRIME 95 STABLE 8 HRS
    XSPC RX360 Rad (6)Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850 RPM Fans In Push/Pull @ 1500 RPMS
    Swiftech Drive II / Swiftech MCP35X Pump
    Enermax Platimax 1200 Watt Power Supply
    32GB G.Skill F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 3866 MHZ CL18 1.35V (OC 4266MHZ 17-18-18-41-2T @1.45V)
    MSI GTX 1070 SEA HAWK EK X SLI WITH ASUS HB RGB
    (5)Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB In Raid 0
    (2) WD 1TB Black Edition
    Corsair 900 D

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    109

    Quote Originally Posted by Phillyflyer View Post
    You should have no issues with the 3866mhz quad kit...I have used it on 4 different boards .
    Fingers crossed Will report back when it will arrive (ca. 10/04).

    regards

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •