Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
  1. #11
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    irishj, have you resolved the problem or opened a support ticket?

  2. #12
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    No, I haven't resolved it yet, was busy with some other stuff. Will need to open a ticket with support.

    I tired the same two 4133Mhz Dimms in my Crosshair VII Hero and although it does POST with both Dimms installed, I get an error that the system couldn't boot or something like that and it started in safe mode (i think that's what it said). The BIOS on these boards is really bad when it comes to fast RAM.

  3. #13
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by irishj View Post
    No, I haven't resolved it yet, was busy with some other stuff. Will need to open a ticket with support.

    I tired the same two 4133Mhz Dimms in my Crosshair VII Hero and although it does POST with both Dimms installed, I get an error that the system couldn't boot or something like that and it started in safe mode (i think that's what it said). The BIOS on these boards is really bad when it comes to fast RAM.
    I understand. Could you update this (your) thread with support ticket progress, when you'll open it?
    I'll update my thread.

  4. #14
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Hello,

    Submitted a technical ticket today, waiting to hear back from Asus.

    Will revert back with any updates.

    Thanks !

  5. #15
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Received an update from Asus, pretty useless really. I already had the Z370 variant of this board and had the same issue and RMA'd it, got the Z380 and have the same issue. CPU is brand new, no bent pins.

    Thank you for contacting ASUS Support.

    Check the CPU socket for any bent pins , if there are any it is not making good contact with the CPU and dimms slots might become non-operational.
    If socket all seems fine , RMA the board please.

    I understand this is inconvenient, however in this case we suggest you contact your retailer for advice on returns/replacement or any other options they can offer. As part of the sale process the retailer accepted that they would control all returns/replacement on behalf of ASUS for the duration of the warranty. They should be able to sort this out for you. ASUS has no other policy on these devices; We cannot replace or repair these devices directly.

    Our apologies for the inconveniences caused to you.
    If you have any other question feel free to contact us again.


    Kind regards,
    Rado_K

  6. #16
    ROG Junior Member Array specialist7 PC Specs
    specialist7 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG STRIX Z390-I
    ProcessorIntel 9700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-16GTZSW
    Graphics Card #1MSI RTX 2070 Gaming Z
    MonitorAlienware 25" 240Hz G-Sync AH2518H
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair 280X
    Power SupplyCorsair AX850
    Keyboard Coolermaster Quickfire TK
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Hyper X Cloud II
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    OS Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    specialist7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    You try clearing CMOS?

    For my 3200CL14 kit to run 4000CL17 i have it at 1.35V, SA at 1.20V, IO at 1.15V but if you said that the same issue with the Z370 and on the Z390 even at 2133/2666 then there probably something wrong with the kits themselves?


  7. #17
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by specialist7 View Post
    You try clearing CMOS?

    For my 3200CL14 kit to run 4000CL17 i have it at 1.35V, SA at 1.20V, IO at 1.15V but if you said that the same issue with the Z370 and on the Z390 even at 2133/2666 then there probably something wrong with the kits themselves?
    Kit seems fine. Each module on their own works fine in slot A and the system POST's. Either module in slot B and no POST. Tried the modules in a Gigabyte board and they worked without issue. It appears to me to be a BIOS issue in how it handles memory training for 4133Mhz dimms. Shame the support from Asus was so bad, no troubleshooting, just RMA the board, even after telling them I had the same issue on a Z370 Strix-I. I'll just buy Gigabyte from now on, never had any issue with any of their boards.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •