Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Saeva_Veritas PC Specs
    Saeva_Veritas PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus VIII Gene
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6700K @ 4.7GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB 3466MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 SC @ 2100Mhz
    Sound CardASUS Xonar Essence STX II
    MonitorDell S2716DG 27" 1440p 144Hz G-sync
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro 256GB x2 in RAID 0
    Storage #2Seagate Baracuda 2TB Mass Storage
    CPU CoolerCryorig H7 Quad Lumi
    CaseCorsair Carbide Series Air 240
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 650W 80 Plus Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Red
    Mouse Logitech MX Master
    Mouse Pad Generic
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch Promedia 2.1 Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS RT-ACRH13
    Saeva_Veritas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Maximus X Hero Wifi AC BIOS Flashback not working.

    Hello. I have a Maximus X Hero Wifi AC that had a bad BIOS update. When turning the board on, all I get is post code 00 and nothing else. I've tried the BIOS flashback but the light only blinks for a few seconds then turns solid. According to the manual, this means either the USB was plugged in improperly or an incorrect filename/file system. I've renamed the BIOS file to M10H.CAP like the manual says but it doesn't work. The file system of the USB is NTFS but I've tried FAT32 as well.

    Any suggestions? Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Code
    ProcessorIntel 8086K @ 5.1Ghz
    Memory (part number)32 GB (2x16) G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200 MHz CL14 @ 3733 16-16-36
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 2070 Super A8G
    MonitorEIZO Coloredge CG2730 and Dell
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID 0, 6 TB WDC Black HDD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 Chromax
    CaseFractal Design R4 w/ tempered glass
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium
    Keyboard CM Quickfire Rapid TKL
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Bose
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, ML Dynamo 300
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    364

    Is it a USB 3.0 drive? Try a different USB brand, preferably USB 2.0

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array no1yak PC Specs
    no1yak PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero X I Wi-Fi/ Hero IX
    Processori9 9900KF/ i7 7700K both de-lidded @ 5Ghz
    Memory (part number)Gskill F4-3200C16D / Corsair 2400 LPX
    Graphics Card #1Evga GTX 1070 SC ACX3 / Evga 1060 SC
    Sound CardEssence One DAC Muses edition
    MonitorEizo CG275W
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe / 950 Pro
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 860 M.2 + 850 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NHu-14S on both boards
    CaseCorsair 450D / Corsair 230T
    Power SupplyEvga 650 P2
    Keyboard Cherry MX6
    Mouse Corsair M65
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500 + Senn HD650 + HD 600
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 1903

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    122

    Was the board working and you flashed the bios and now you are getting code 00. Or is this a new build. Your system specs show that you have a Maximus 8 gene. So I can assume that this is a new build. The most common problem with code 00 on Asus boards is CPU. Have you checked for any bent pins on the CPU socket? Really require more information .

    You should be able to use bios flahback with no cpu installed. Just make sure that you format your USB stick to Fat32 and place the renamed bios (M10H.cap) as the only file on the stick.
    Last edited by no1yak; 05-27-2018 at 04:48 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array Saeva_Veritas PC Specs
    Saeva_Veritas PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus VIII Gene
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6700K @ 4.7GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB 3466MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 SC @ 2100Mhz
    Sound CardASUS Xonar Essence STX II
    MonitorDell S2716DG 27" 1440p 144Hz G-sync
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro 256GB x2 in RAID 0
    Storage #2Seagate Baracuda 2TB Mass Storage
    CPU CoolerCryorig H7 Quad Lumi
    CaseCorsair Carbide Series Air 240
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 650W 80 Plus Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Red
    Mouse Logitech MX Master
    Mouse Pad Generic
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch Promedia 2.1 Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS RT-ACRH13
    Saeva_Veritas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by geneo View Post
    Is it a USB 3.0 drive? Try a different USB brand, preferably USB 2.0
    It is a USB 2.0 drive. I will try a different drive.

    Quote Originally Posted by no1yak View Post
    Was the board working and you flashed the bios and now you are getting code 00. Or is this a new build. Your system specs show that you have a Maximus 8 gene. So I can assume that this is a new build. The most common problem with code 00 on Asus boards is CPU. Have you checked for any bent pins on the CPU socket? Really require more information .

    You should be able to use bios flahback with no cpu installed. Just make sure that you format your USB stick to Fat32 and place the renamed bios (M10H.cap) as the only file on the stick.
    The board was working then after the flash I received code 00. It is indeed a new build. Both the board and CPU are new. There are no bent pins and I have no other 8th gen. CPU to try. I have used both the drive formatted to FAT32 and NTFS with the BIOS file renamed to M10H.CAP as the only file on the drive. No luck. I'll have to try a new drive.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    Unfortunately you may have to to resort to replacing the bios chip.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Saeva_Veritas View Post
    Hello. I have a Maximus X Hero Wifi AC that had a bad BIOS update. When turning the board on, all I get is post code 00 and nothing else. I've tried the BIOS flashback but the light only blinks for a few seconds then turns solid. According to the manual, this means either the USB was plugged in improperly or an incorrect filename/file system. I've renamed the BIOS file to M10H.CAP like the manual says but it doesn't work. The file system of the USB is NTFS but I've tried FAT32 as well.

    Any suggestions? Thanks in advance.
    I'm sure this is far too late to be of any help to you OP, sorry. But I have literally the exact same problem. I figured out that you MUST use the filename M10HWIFI.CAP on the maximus X hero wifi AC board or flashback won't work. Hope this helps someone anyway.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by cdurkinz View Post
    I'm sure this is far too late to be of any help to you OP, sorry. But I have literally the exact same problem. I figured out that you MUST use the filename M10HWIFI.CAP on the maximus X hero wifi AC board or flashback won't work. Hope this helps someone anyway.
    Thank you for the great tip. Asus should pay more attention when they write their manuals. Also when they publish a new BIOS. 1801 is a disaster.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •