Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 9 10 11 12 LastLast
Results 101 to 110 of 113
  1. #101
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    19

    EVERYONE is having trouble with boost clocks on EVERY 3000-series CPU. It is endemic to the newer 1.0.0.3 AGESA used in the new BIOS files. The 7306 OFFICIAL release is using AGESA 1.0.0.3AB and Beta 7401 is using 1.0.0.3ABB, which has a few fixes in it (particularly but not exclusively for Destiny 2).

    That being said, I am running 7401 with a 3900x and it is quick and rock stable at stock, and the default boost behavior is plenty good enough for now. I look forward to getting more out of it with later BIOS updates, but I am not unhappy with what I have right now.

  2. #102
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array R5Eandme PC Specs
    R5Eandme PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme/U3.1
    Processori7-5930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK64GX4M8A2400C14
    Graphics Card #1MSI Geforce GTX 980Ti
    Sound CardAsus Essence STX II
    MonitorAcer B286HK 4K UHD
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 1TB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932
    Power SupplyThermaltake TPG-1200M-F 1200W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse Asus Sica
    Mouse Pad "And God said ... <Maxwell's equations> ... and there was light."
    OS Win 10 x64 Pro
    Accessory #1 Asus USB 3.1 A, StarTech USB 3.1 C PCIe adapters
    Accessory #2 Syba 1394A/B Firewire PCIe adapter PEX30009
    Accessory #3 Asus OC Panel I
    R5Eandme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    58
    Posts
    263

    "Memory is not the problem as I dropped it all the way back to 2133 with loose timings @ 1.35v when I was troubleshooting. (now back at 3200 1:1)"

    I hope 7306 works well for you. This is a bit off topic, but I am curious to know how was the difference in performance with memory at 2133 MT/s versus 3200 MT/s? I read that the infinity fabric that links the Ryzen chiplets to each other and to DRAM runs at the speed of the memory controller. But I don't have an idea how much it really matters. For the X370 board if you want 32GB DRAM instead of 16GB then it may have to run at 2133 MT/s.

  3. #103
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    https://www.guernsey-ci.com/public/o...2010.21.12.jpg

    Did I 'notice' a difference between 2133 and 3200... honestly no I didn't.
    'Was there a difference' yes memory bandwidth was down and latency went up according to the benchmarks I did run.

    So clearly there is an difference.
    But it's not something you can really detect or feel until you start benching games and start to look at things like 1% lows or the performance of memory sensitive applications.

    For the record I'm running 4x 8Gb B-die C14 with manually entered sub timings from 1usmus safe settings.
    Infinity fab @ 1600Mhz.

    I've not pushed further than the rated 3200 for now.

  4. #104
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array R5Eandme PC Specs
    R5Eandme PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme/U3.1
    Processori7-5930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK64GX4M8A2400C14
    Graphics Card #1MSI Geforce GTX 980Ti
    Sound CardAsus Essence STX II
    MonitorAcer B286HK 4K UHD
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 1TB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932
    Power SupplyThermaltake TPG-1200M-F 1200W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse Asus Sica
    Mouse Pad "And God said ... <Maxwell's equations> ... and there was light."
    OS Win 10 x64 Pro
    Accessory #1 Asus USB 3.1 A, StarTech USB 3.1 C PCIe adapters
    Accessory #2 Syba 1394A/B Firewire PCIe adapter PEX30009
    Accessory #3 Asus OC Panel I
    R5Eandme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    58
    Posts
    263

    Quote Originally Posted by ROGod View Post
    https://www.guernsey-ci.com/public/o...2010.21.12.jpg

    Did I 'notice' a difference between 2133 and 3200... honestly no I didn't.
    'Was there a difference' yes memory bandwidth was down and latency went up according to the benchmarks I did run.

    So clearly there is an difference.
    But it's not something you can really detect or feel until you start benching games and start to look at things like 1% lows or the performance of memory sensitive applications.

    For the record I'm running 4x 8Gb B-die C14 with manually entered sub timings from 1usmus safe settings.
    Infinity fab @ 1600Mhz.

    I've not pushed further than the rated 3200 for now.
    Thanks ROGod, it is great to know that you pushed above 2133 with 4 sticks of DRAM (32GB), and infinity fabric at 1600MHz which is the memory clock speed for 3200 MT/s. When I build, I will have to experiment with that, although I will probably use XMP or whatever AMD calls it.

    I have 4x 8GB of Corsair Vengeance LPX 2400, and for this brand the QVL doesn't list a 32GB combination at 2400 MT/s. QVL does list 32GB for the 2133 kit though.

    I think for future builds I will try and stick with quad channel boards and CPUs as the memory channel bandwidth is double that of a board like x370.
    Last edited by R5Eandme; 08-21-2019 at 04:23 PM.

  5. #105
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Hi. Just upgrade to the 3900X and I have a big problem if a install more than 1 ram stick I got code error C5 but if I just install 1 module is boot just fine. I I already increased Dram boot volt and code error C5 appears. I got incompatibility rams issues? This never happened when I was running the 3700X

  6. #106
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by roco_smith View Post
    Hi. Just upgrade to the 3900X and I have a big problem if a install more than 1 ram stick I got code error C5 but if I just install 1 module is boot just fine. I I already increased Dram boot volt and code error C5 appears. I got incompatibility rams issues? This never happened when I was running the 3700X
    The DRAM voltage is set in two completely different places in the BIOS.
    There is the boot voltage for POST and the normal operating voltage.

    Be sure to change both to 1.35v.

    Also double check the DRAM timings, I would not count on the auto SPD settings to be detected correctly.

  7. #107
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array SaLSouL PC Specs
    SaLSouL PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Extreme
    ProcessorRyzen 7 2700x
    Memory (part number)trident RGB CL16 3200mhz 32GB
    Graphics Card #1MSI Gaming 6GB GTX 980Ti
    Graphics Card #2MSI Gaming 6GB GTX 980Ti
    Sound CardAstro A50 Wireless
    MonitorPhillips BDM4037U 40" 4k UHD Monitor
    Storage #1samsung 850 pro raid 0
    Storage #2WD Black 1tb Raid 0
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCoolermaster Cosmos 2
    Power SupplyCorsair ax 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Scimitar RGB Pro
    Headset Astro A50 Gaming Wireless
    Mouse Pad corsair massive
    OS Win 10 x64 pro
    Network RouterAsus AC-3200
    SaLSouL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    220

    Added 7306 bios w/ 1.0.0.3 AB Agesa & new chipset driver 9.2.0.127 to 1st & 2nd post

  8. #108
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    [QUOTE=roco_smith;781730]Hi. Just upgrade to the 3900X and I have a big problem if a install more than 1 ram stick I got code error C5 but if I just install 1 module is boot just fine. I I already increased Dram boot volt and code error C5 appears. I got incompatibility rams issues? This never happened when I was running the 3700X [/QUOT

    Never mind my issue was fix with just reinstall the cpu.. Now all my 4 memory stick are working very good at 3600mhz OC
    Last edited by roco_smith; 08-23-2019 at 04:53 PM.

  9. #109
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array R5Eandme PC Specs
    R5Eandme PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme/U3.1
    Processori7-5930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK64GX4M8A2400C14
    Graphics Card #1MSI Geforce GTX 980Ti
    Sound CardAsus Essence STX II
    MonitorAcer B286HK 4K UHD
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 1TB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932
    Power SupplyThermaltake TPG-1200M-F 1200W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse Asus Sica
    Mouse Pad "And God said ... <Maxwell's equations> ... and there was light."
    OS Win 10 x64 Pro
    Accessory #1 Asus USB 3.1 A, StarTech USB 3.1 C PCIe adapters
    Accessory #2 Syba 1394A/B Firewire PCIe adapter PEX30009
    Accessory #3 Asus OC Panel I
    R5Eandme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    58
    Posts
    263

    Quote Originally Posted by SaLSouL View Post
    Added 7306 bios w/ 1.0.0.3 AB Agesa & new chipset driver 9.2.0.127 to 1st & 2nd post
    Thanks SalSoul,

    If you are not using RAID is there any reason to use the RAID driver 9.2.0.127 versus the non-RAID chipset driver 1.8.19.0915?

    Both are available at https://www.amd.com/en/support/chips...ocket-am4/x370

  10. #110
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array SaLSouL PC Specs
    SaLSouL PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Extreme
    ProcessorRyzen 7 2700x
    Memory (part number)trident RGB CL16 3200mhz 32GB
    Graphics Card #1MSI Gaming 6GB GTX 980Ti
    Graphics Card #2MSI Gaming 6GB GTX 980Ti
    Sound CardAstro A50 Wireless
    MonitorPhillips BDM4037U 40" 4k UHD Monitor
    Storage #1samsung 850 pro raid 0
    Storage #2WD Black 1tb Raid 0
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCoolermaster Cosmos 2
    Power SupplyCorsair ax 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Scimitar RGB Pro
    Headset Astro A50 Gaming Wireless
    Mouse Pad corsair massive
    OS Win 10 x64 pro
    Network RouterAsus AC-3200
    SaLSouL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    220

    New BIOS released today

    Latest 7403 w/ 1.0.0.3 ABB AGESA in 1st post

Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 9 10 11 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •