Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array R3N3G4D3 PC Specs
    R3N3G4D3 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus XI Hero (Wi-Fi)
    ProcessorIntel core i9-9900k
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C17Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Geforce RTX 2080 XC Ultra
    MonitorAlienWare AW3418DW
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 970 PLUS 1TB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB FireCuda SSHD
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i RGB Platinum
    CaseFractal Designs Meshify S2 Dark TG
    Power SupplyEVGA 750w G2
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    R3N3G4D3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Maximus XI Hero (Wi-Fi) w/ DDR4-3600 G.Skill RAM instability

    Hello All,

    I just finished a new build w/ following specs:

    Fractal Designs Meshify S2 Dark TG
    ASUS Maximus XI Hero
    Intel Core i9-9900K
    G.Skill TridentZ RGB 4x8GB DDR4-3600
    EVGA Supernova 750w G3 PSU
    Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB NVMe SSD
    EVGA Geforce RTX 2080 XC Ultra
    4x Corsair LL140 RGB fans

    When I first booted, first thing I did was pop into BIOs and set the DRAM frequency to DDR4-3600 (the BIOs selected 2133MHz by default). However, I was having stability problems when attempting to install W10 - IE, BSoD, ntoskernel errors, etc. It wasn't until I went back to default that I could actually install everything.

    I'm new to some of the OC stuff - Could someone tell me how to properly configure my OC for this RAM?

    The part number is:
    F4-3600C17Q-32GTZR

    ... And yes, it's on the QVL.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    did you upgrade your bios to 0903 yet?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array R3N3G4D3 PC Specs
    R3N3G4D3 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus XI Hero (Wi-Fi)
    ProcessorIntel core i9-9900k
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C17Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Geforce RTX 2080 XC Ultra
    MonitorAlienWare AW3418DW
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 970 PLUS 1TB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB FireCuda SSHD
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i RGB Platinum
    CaseFractal Designs Meshify S2 Dark TG
    Power SupplyEVGA 750w G2
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    R3N3G4D3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by FornaxLacerta View Post
    did you upgrade your bios to 0903 yet?
    Sure did.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    107

    Quote Originally Posted by R3N3G4D3 View Post
    Sure did.
    Did you set XMP profile or change 3600 MHz freq only?

    Try load default settings (F5). When setting XMP try to not enable Multicore Enhancement - it may help as starting point.
    If it will not help, return back to BIOS 0602 and give a try

    PS. I had issues with TridentZ 3600 CL16 (not from QVL), waiting for F4-3866Q18-32GTZR, so I'm very interested in your issue.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array R3N3G4D3 PC Specs
    R3N3G4D3 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus XI Hero (Wi-Fi)
    ProcessorIntel core i9-9900k
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C17Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Geforce RTX 2080 XC Ultra
    MonitorAlienWare AW3418DW
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 970 PLUS 1TB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB FireCuda SSHD
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i RGB Platinum
    CaseFractal Designs Meshify S2 Dark TG
    Power SupplyEVGA 750w G2
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    R3N3G4D3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by cniedzi View Post
    Did you set XMP profile or change 3600 MHz freq only?

    Try load default settings (F5). When setting XMP try to not enable Multicore Enhancement - it may help as starting point.
    If it will not help, return back to BIOS 0602 and give a try

    PS. I had issues with TridentZ 3600 CL16 (not from QVL), waiting for F4-3866Q18-32GTZR, so I'm very interested in your issue.
    All I did was change the DRAM Frequency to 3600 - Didn't mess with any XMP stuff. I set it to DDR4-3200 without adjusting voltage or anything, and it's going pretty stable now. Wonder if maybe I need to slightly increase voltage to it or something?

    Again, I'm nub on the OC stuff. Which is why I'm here

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    Quote Originally Posted by R3N3G4D3 View Post
    Hello All,

    I just finished a new build w/ following specs:

    Fractal Designs Meshify S2 Dark TG
    ASUS Maximus XI Hero
    Intel Core i9-9900K
    G.Skill TridentZ RGB 4x8GB DDR4-3600
    EVGA Supernova 750w G3 PSU
    Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB NVMe SSD
    EVGA Geforce RTX 2080 XC Ultra
    4x Corsair LL140 RGB fans

    When I first booted, first thing I did was pop into BIOs and set the DRAM frequency to DDR4-3600 (the BIOs selected 2133MHz by default). However, I was having stability problems when attempting to install W10 - IE, BSoD, ntoskernel errors, etc. It wasn't until I went back to default that I could actually install everything.

    I'm new to some of the OC stuff - Could someone tell me how to properly configure my OC for this RAM?

    The part number is:
    F4-3600C17Q-32GTZR

    ... And yes, it's on the QVL.
    Since you manually set the frequency, did you also enter the base timings and DRAM voltage?

    If you're not familiar or comfortable doing this, then try enabling the XMP profile.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array R3N3G4D3 PC Specs
    R3N3G4D3 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus XI Hero (Wi-Fi)
    ProcessorIntel core i9-9900k
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C17Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Geforce RTX 2080 XC Ultra
    MonitorAlienWare AW3418DW
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 970 PLUS 1TB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB FireCuda SSHD
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i RGB Platinum
    CaseFractal Designs Meshify S2 Dark TG
    Power SupplyEVGA 750w G2
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    R3N3G4D3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by NemesisChild View Post
    Since you manually set the frequency, did you also enter the base timings and DRAM voltage?

    If you're not familiar or comfortable doing this, then try enabling the XMP profile.
    Thanks man! Looks like that did it. Should have done some research on this.

    Appreciate the help.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Just to let you know, as soon as you enable XMP the board changes the IA AC/DC loadline auto values from 1.2 mOhm to 0.01. This means your VID and Vcore voltages will suddenly be lower (unless you change to fixed voltage or change other settings to compensate).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •