Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Crosshair VII Hero build from scratch memory error

    Hi, I'm doing a first time build of a system.

    - ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero
    - Ryzen 7 2700X CPU
    - Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C16 Desktop Memory Kit - Black (CMK16GX4M2B3200C16) (x2 for 32 GB)

    After turning the power on, after a few seconds I get a white LED below the Q Code, and the following repeating Q codes:
    50
    de
    ad
    30
    06
    01

    Which I am interpreting as memory errors in the DRAM. It doesn't matter which configuration I am using, 1, 2 or 4 sticks, or which sticks (ruling out a bad stick).

    While the QVL list shows 3200MHz as being an option, this specific chip isn't on it, although the Corsair website says it is compatible.

    Since I haven't even gotten past this point in the POST, I don't even have video yet to look at any output or BIOS. So I am kind of clueless what is really going on,or how to proceed.

    (It's been quite few years since my last PC build, and the components are a lot different now (GET OFF MY LAWN!!!) )

    Help!

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array drop4205 PC Specs
    drop4205 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)What are laptops
    MotherboardMaximus XI Formula
    ProcessorI9-9900K
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident Z F4-3200C14-32GYZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia Reference RTX2080TI
    Graphics Card #2ha I wish
    Graphics Card #3ha I wish
    Graphics Card #4ha I wish
    Sound Cardha I wish
    MonitorMSI Oculux-NXG251R
    Storage #1Samsung970 EVO Plus 1T
    CPU CoolerHeatkiller
    CasePhantex Evolove X
    Power SupplySessonic Prime Titanium 850
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare
    Mouse ROG Gladius II
    Headset Astro A40
    Mouse Pad Corsair
    Headset/Speakers Astro A40TR
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 Bit
    Accessory #1 Ek GPU Block
    Accessory #2 EK SE 360 Rad, EK PE 360 Rad
    Accessory #3 EK D5 Vario 140 Pump/Res
    drop4205's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    47
    Posts
    555

    You are showing 2 different memory kits in description. Hope you are trying them separate from one another. Have you put one stick in a2 cleared cmos and tried to boot
    Maximus XI Formula, I9-9900k, Phantex Evolove X, Seasonic Titanium 850W, Custom loop PE360+SE360 Rad, G.Skill Trident Z F4-3200C14 32g, Nvidia Reference RTX 2080 TI, Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1Tb, ROG Strix Flare keyboard, ROG Gladius II

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by drop4205 View Post
    You are showing 2 different memory kits in description. Hope you are trying them separate from one another. Have you put one stick in a2 cleared cmos and tried to boot
    Naw, it's 4 identical sticks of 8 GB each.

    But, after reading the mobo manual, the white LED is indicting that it is at the VGA check, and I don't have any VGA capable cards in it or available to me atm. Will try again shortly.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Yeah, having a VGA card in changed nothing. No output to graphics. The codes mentioned above are the same, with the white LED lit.

    50 (might be SO or S0 as well)
    de
    ad
    30
    06 (might be 0b or Ob as well)
    01

    Any help?

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Ultimately, I'm not sure what the problem was, but doing a CMOS clear got me to a state where I could (intermittently) reach the BIOS screens. At that, I then did a BIOS flash up to the latest version (2103 as of today) and it seems to have gotten much better.

    On to the next problems, of memory speed and M.2 drive recognition.

    If you're reading this, thanks!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •