Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array chrisistansell PC Specs
    chrisistansell PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG MAXIMUS XI EXTREME
    ProcessorINTEL I9-9900K
    Memory (part number)F4-3733C17Q-64GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 TI FTW3 ULTRA HYBRID GAMING, 11G-P4-2484-KR
    Sound CardON-BOARD
    MonitorPREDATOR: MAIN - (1) XB273K; SIDES - (2) XB271HK
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS 1TB
    Storage #2SAMSUNG 979 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT KRAKEN X72
    CaseDEEPCOOL QUADSTELLAR
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G3
    Keyboard RAZER BLACKWIDOW CHROMA V2 - YELLOW KEY
    Mouse RAZER MAMBA HYPERFLUX
    Headset STEELSERIES - ARCTIS PRO WIRELESS
    Mouse Pad RAZER FIREFLY
    Headset/Speakers RAZER LEVIATHAN - OPTICAL
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO - BUILD 1803
    Network RouterVERIZON'S
    chrisistansell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    ROG MAXIMUS XI Extreme takes 2-3 times to post to Windows 10

    I have put most of my RIG information into my profile you can see under my avatar.

    Essentially my problem the BIOS takes forever to get to post to where I can get to Windows. It also makes overclocking take 3x more work.

    First boot:

    Blank screen on monitor (haven't checked the BIOS code, but can)

    Second boot:

    System boots to overclock success message for memory. Press F1 to save memory settings.
    I do this, then tell it to save settings an reboot. These settings always are the same in the BIOS every time.

    Third boot:

    System boots clean into Windows runs fine and even passes all stress tests.

    The only changes I have made to BIOS settings are the following:

    XMP II (have tried XMP I as well) and AI turned on for the CPU.


    Wondering if anyone has fixed this problem. I don't really care if it turns off testing features from the BIOS.... This cycle is super annoying for me because I do turn off my machine every night because of electric costs.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array ninezerofive PC Specs
    ninezerofive PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop ? Ewww
    MotherboardMaximus XI Apex
    Processori7-9700K @ 5.2
    Memory (part number)Trident Z Royal 4000 / 2x8GB @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 1070 OC
    Storage #1Corsair MP510 960 GB
    Storage #2Seagate 3TB
    CPU CoolerROG Ryuo 240
    CaseROG Helios
    Power SupplyROG THOR 850W
    Keyboard ROG Claymore
    Mouse ROG Pugio
    Headset ROG Cerberus
    Mouse Pad ROG Whetstone
    Accessory #1 ROG Terminal
    ninezerofive's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    218

    It looks like memory to me.

    1.First make sure you have the latest bios settings installed.
    2.Make sure that the memory you are trying to run is supported by ASUS :

    https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/RO.../HelpDesk_QVL/

    3.Check if the ram stick are insalled in correct slot, I think on default it's 1 and 3, don't quote me, check manual.

    4. You can also try to run them in 2 and 4.

    5.If you are running 4 memory stick that that might be your problem, try running only 2.

    6. I had a 4500 Mhz Corsair that was supposed to run on Maximus XI Gene, but I couldn't get it to run anything above 4400, so instead of trying to force XMP, try to do it manually, leave the CL timing a per spec but reduce the Mhz to lower value.

    7. Basically I should have started with this : make sure it runs straight out of the box without XMP settings. Default or on auto or whatever is the case.

    Hope this helps.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array chrisistansell PC Specs
    chrisistansell PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG MAXIMUS XI EXTREME
    ProcessorINTEL I9-9900K
    Memory (part number)F4-3733C17Q-64GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 TI FTW3 ULTRA HYBRID GAMING, 11G-P4-2484-KR
    Sound CardON-BOARD
    MonitorPREDATOR: MAIN - (1) XB273K; SIDES - (2) XB271HK
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS 1TB
    Storage #2SAMSUNG 979 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT KRAKEN X72
    CaseDEEPCOOL QUADSTELLAR
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G3
    Keyboard RAZER BLACKWIDOW CHROMA V2 - YELLOW KEY
    Mouse RAZER MAMBA HYPERFLUX
    Headset STEELSERIES - ARCTIS PRO WIRELESS
    Mouse Pad RAZER FIREFLY
    Headset/Speakers RAZER LEVIATHAN - OPTICAL
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO - BUILD 1803
    Network RouterVERIZON'S
    chrisistansell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Kit came 4x16. Wanted to cap out the motherboard. The memory is on the QVL. I'll do some more testing, was just curious if people were encountering this as well.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array ninezerofive PC Specs
    ninezerofive PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop ? Ewww
    MotherboardMaximus XI Apex
    Processori7-9700K @ 5.2
    Memory (part number)Trident Z Royal 4000 / 2x8GB @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 1070 OC
    Storage #1Corsair MP510 960 GB
    Storage #2Seagate 3TB
    CPU CoolerROG Ryuo 240
    CaseROG Helios
    Power SupplyROG THOR 850W
    Keyboard ROG Claymore
    Mouse ROG Pugio
    Headset ROG Cerberus
    Mouse Pad ROG Whetstone
    Accessory #1 ROG Terminal
    ninezerofive's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    218

    Couple more things, was the kit 4x16 or did you buy two separate 2x16 kits and try to run them together ?

    Also you could try running XMP profile, but just increase the voltage, assuming that it's not some high speed kit that supposed to run at 1.45v out of the box. But if it's like 1.35 out of the box, try running it at 1.4 and 1.45.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array chrisistansell PC Specs
    chrisistansell PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG MAXIMUS XI EXTREME
    ProcessorINTEL I9-9900K
    Memory (part number)F4-3733C17Q-64GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 TI FTW3 ULTRA HYBRID GAMING, 11G-P4-2484-KR
    Sound CardON-BOARD
    MonitorPREDATOR: MAIN - (1) XB273K; SIDES - (2) XB271HK
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS 1TB
    Storage #2SAMSUNG 979 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT KRAKEN X72
    CaseDEEPCOOL QUADSTELLAR
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G3
    Keyboard RAZER BLACKWIDOW CHROMA V2 - YELLOW KEY
    Mouse RAZER MAMBA HYPERFLUX
    Headset STEELSERIES - ARCTIS PRO WIRELESS
    Mouse Pad RAZER FIREFLY
    Headset/Speakers RAZER LEVIATHAN - OPTICAL
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO - BUILD 1803
    Network RouterVERIZON'S
    chrisistansell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    F4-3733C17Q-64GTZR < - is on the QVL

    I was only able to get it stable booting from scratch to 3333MHZ. Wasn't impressed with that result. Just completed a memory diagnostic today and it came back error free.

    3733MHZ works, but like i said.... Two to Three boots before I can get into the operating system.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array ninezerofive PC Specs
    ninezerofive PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop ? Ewww
    MotherboardMaximus XI Apex
    Processori7-9700K @ 5.2
    Memory (part number)Trident Z Royal 4000 / 2x8GB @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 1070 OC
    Storage #1Corsair MP510 960 GB
    Storage #2Seagate 3TB
    CPU CoolerROG Ryuo 240
    CaseROG Helios
    Power SupplyROG THOR 850W
    Keyboard ROG Claymore
    Mouse ROG Pugio
    Headset ROG Cerberus
    Mouse Pad ROG Whetstone
    Accessory #1 ROG Terminal
    ninezerofive's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    218

    Quote Originally Posted by chrisistansell View Post
    F4-3733C17Q-64GTZR < - is on the QVL

    I was only able to get it stable booting from scratch to 3333MHZ. Wasn't impressed with that result. Just completed a memory diagnostic today and it came back error free.

    3733MHZ works, but like i said.... Two to Three boots before I can get into the operating system.
    I see your ram takes 1.35v to run. Maybe try running 3600 with with 1.4v or even 3733.
    Personally I wouldn't go with 1.45v for everyday use, but I think 1.4 is still reasonable and maybe it just needs that little bit of extra kick.

    The other thing you can try is, maybe leave it at 3333 but try to cut down the CL timings from 17-19-19-39 to... I don't even know.But that wouldn't be a bad solution either, let it run slower but if that gives you the ability to run tighter timings, the memory could be actually running faster.

    I had a 4500 corsair kit on my Gene motherboard that was supposed to run as per QVL but no matter what I tried it didn't want to take 4500 with CL 19-19-19, but I could run it at 4400... and then it turned out at 4400 it could run CL17-18-18 and I wasn't that sad anymore

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	jp.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	82.6 KB 
ID:	79842
    Last edited by ninezerofive; 04-05-2019 at 10:56 PM.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array chrisistansell PC Specs
    chrisistansell PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG MAXIMUS XI EXTREME
    ProcessorINTEL I9-9900K
    Memory (part number)F4-3733C17Q-64GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 TI FTW3 ULTRA HYBRID GAMING, 11G-P4-2484-KR
    Sound CardON-BOARD
    MonitorPREDATOR: MAIN - (1) XB273K; SIDES - (2) XB271HK
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS 1TB
    Storage #2SAMSUNG 979 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT KRAKEN X72
    CaseDEEPCOOL QUADSTELLAR
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G3
    Keyboard RAZER BLACKWIDOW CHROMA V2 - YELLOW KEY
    Mouse RAZER MAMBA HYPERFLUX
    Headset STEELSERIES - ARCTIS PRO WIRELESS
    Mouse Pad RAZER FIREFLY
    Headset/Speakers RAZER LEVIATHAN - OPTICAL
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO - BUILD 1803
    Network RouterVERIZON'S
    chrisistansell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Didn't change anything but the continued tinkering with the bios has made the boot get further. *Turning off during the cog wheel for Windows loading now. * Still have the two boots after to post. **


    Noticing the difference appears to be starting from off. * Since the I have the quadsteller case I can tell when/how things boot clearly since I get to watch the fan flaps reset. *


    I'll tinker with a little more juice here shortly and see if it helps.*


    In the end, I just want what I paid for....*

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •