Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Crosshair VII Hero - dual M.2 SATA drives, M.2_2 missing

    Hi there! I am hoping to run dual M.2 drives, yet it seems like the second one, M.2_2 (between the CPU and top PCIE slot), isn't recognized, or if it is I'm looking in the wrong place.

    Both drives are identical, wd blue 3d nand sata ssd m.2 2280 2tb (part # wds200t2b0b-00ys70).

    Crosshair VII Hero (no wifi)
    BIOS version is 2103

    I've tried my single GPU in both the top slot (PCIEX16/x8_1) and the middle (PCIEX8/x4_2).

    I've tried swapping the drive sticks. Both work in slot M.2_1, neither seem to register in slot M.2_2.

    In the BIOS, Advanced/SATA Configuration shows only a single M.2 at the bottom, named grey. This only shows it's populated when either drive is in the M.2_1 slot, and shows Empty when a single stick is in the M.2_2 slot. A single drive in M.2_2 also doesn't show in the boot list, while a drive in M.2_1 does.

    Also in BIOS, in Advanced/Onboard Devices Configuration, I have the M.2_2 PCIe Bandwidth Configuration set to "auto". I understand the M.2_2 slot will steal bandwidth from the GPU slot, I'm OK with that.

    What is really odd to me is that the bios Advanced/SATA Configuration literally only shows a single M2 entry. It doesn't show an entry for M.2_1 and M.2_2. So is it working and I can't see it, or is this something else?

    thanks in advance

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array SaLSouL PC Specs
    SaLSouL PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Extreme
    ProcessorRyzen 7 2700x
    Memory (part number)trident RGB CL16 3200mhz 32GB
    Graphics Card #1MSI Gaming 6GB GTX 980Ti
    Graphics Card #2MSI Gaming 6GB GTX 980Ti
    Sound CardAstro A50 Wireless
    MonitorPhillips BDM4037U 40" 4k UHD Monitor
    Storage #1samsung 850 pro raid 0
    Storage #2WD Black 1tb Raid 0
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCoolermaster Cosmos 2
    Power SupplyCorsair ax 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Scimitar RGB Pro
    Headset Astro A50 Gaming Wireless
    Mouse Pad corsair massive
    OS Win 10 x64 pro
    Network RouterAsus AC-3200
    SaLSouL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    224

    have you checked disk management in windows?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    This is pre-OS-install at this point

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array SaLSouL PC Specs
    SaLSouL PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Extreme
    ProcessorRyzen 7 2700x
    Memory (part number)trident RGB CL16 3200mhz 32GB
    Graphics Card #1MSI Gaming 6GB GTX 980Ti
    Graphics Card #2MSI Gaming 6GB GTX 980Ti
    Sound CardAstro A50 Wireless
    MonitorPhillips BDM4037U 40" 4k UHD Monitor
    Storage #1samsung 850 pro raid 0
    Storage #2WD Black 1tb Raid 0
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCoolermaster Cosmos 2
    Power SupplyCorsair ax 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Scimitar RGB Pro
    Headset Astro A50 Gaming Wireless
    Mouse Pad corsair massive
    OS Win 10 x64 pro
    Network RouterAsus AC-3200
    SaLSouL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    224

    Quote Originally Posted by snoopthulhu View Post
    This is pre-OS-install at this point
    is your intention to set them up in RAID 0 if so have you gone into sata options in the bios and turned on raid in sata config?
    options are AHCI or RAID, you then have to create and array (2disks or more) using the RAIDXpert utility in the bios, there are tutorials available on youtube for this

    you will need the native sata driver for your chipset from the MB page to load first before you install windows as windows will not see any disks until you load the driver for them

    hope that helps

    here is a link I found https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QMfb_kmGLh0
    Last edited by SaLSouL; 04-10-2019 at 06:59 PM.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by SaLSouL View Post
    is your intention to set them up in RAID 0
    Actually I want RAID 1

    Quote Originally Posted by SaLSouL View Post
    if so have you gone into sata options in the bios and turned on raid in sata config?
    options are AHCI or RAID, you then have to create and array (2disks or more) using the RAIDXpert utility in the bios, there are tutorials available on youtube for this

    you will need the native sata driver for your chipset from the MB page to load first before you install windows as windows will not see any disks until you load the driver for them

    hope that helps

    here is a link I found https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QMfb_kmGLh0
    So it took some messing around to find out exactly WHY the RAIDXpert2 option didn't show up in my Advanced page in BIOS. Eventually I found a good description here: Thread: Crosshair VII Wifi nvme RAID setup

    Once I got that going, RAIDXpert basically confirmed that the M.2_2 slot is not recognized as having anything in it. It doesn't show up to make a part of a RAID array.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array SaLSouL PC Specs
    SaLSouL PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Extreme
    ProcessorRyzen 7 2700x
    Memory (part number)trident RGB CL16 3200mhz 32GB
    Graphics Card #1MSI Gaming 6GB GTX 980Ti
    Graphics Card #2MSI Gaming 6GB GTX 980Ti
    Sound CardAstro A50 Wireless
    MonitorPhillips BDM4037U 40" 4k UHD Monitor
    Storage #1samsung 850 pro raid 0
    Storage #2WD Black 1tb Raid 0
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCoolermaster Cosmos 2
    Power SupplyCorsair ax 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Scimitar RGB Pro
    Headset Astro A50 Gaming Wireless
    Mouse Pad corsair massive
    OS Win 10 x64 pro
    Network RouterAsus AC-3200
    SaLSouL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    224

    I think ive found the problem but im afraid you wont like it>

    your motherboard has 2 M.2 slots > only the M2.1 is capable of running in Pcie or SATA mode
    the M2.2 slot can only run in PCIE mode which your WD_BLUE_3dnand does not, it is essentially a sata ssd in M2 form factor

    you need an NVME drive to run them both in raid 1,
    it is not recognising it in the M2.2 as its not using the PCIE lanes which is not supported.

    Can you send them back and get 2 NvMe M2 drives?

    https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/m...ERO_UM_WEB.pdf page 1-25

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	m2m.PNG 
Views:	0 
Size:	33.3 KB 
ID:	79952
    Last edited by SaLSouL; 04-11-2019 at 08:46 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Well, fudge...

    SalSoul thank you for finding that. Now the mystery is solved. And ASUS support wanted to RMA the board!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •