Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array mr_yogi PC Specs
    mr_yogi PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 5 2600
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK - 32GB (4x8GB) G.Skill Ripjaws V
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX1070 SeaHawk EK
    Graphics Card #2MSI GTX1070 Gaming X
    MonitorASUS MG279Q
    Storage #1256GB Crucial MX100
    Storage #21TB Crucial MX300
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy
    CaseFractal Design Define R5
    Power SupplyBeQuiet Straight Power 800W
    Keyboard Logitech G513 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 1500
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300
    Headset/Speakers Topping Class T amp /w Mission 761i
    OS Win 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Crosshair VI Hero CPU Temperature Error

    Hi,
    my motherboard is displaying very odd CPU temps. Even in the bios the CPU temps are much too low, -4 to 6 degrees centigrade. It's the same in Windows using CoreTemp or AI Suite 3.

    The system is only watercooled so these temp are wrong.

    I've updated the bios to 6903, but this makes no difference.

    Any advice appreciated.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array SaLSouL PC Specs
    SaLSouL PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Extreme
    ProcessorRyzen 7 2700x
    Memory (part number)trident RGB CL16 3200mhz 32GB
    Graphics Card #1MSI Gaming 6GB GTX 980Ti
    Graphics Card #2MSI Gaming 6GB GTX 980Ti
    Sound CardAstro A50 Wireless
    MonitorPhillips BDM4037U 40" 4k UHD Monitor
    Storage #1samsung 850 pro raid 0
    Storage #2WD Black 1tb Raid 0
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCoolermaster Cosmos 2
    Power SupplyCorsair ax 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Scimitar RGB Pro
    Headset Astro A50 Gaming Wireless
    Mouse Pad corsair massive
    OS Win 10 x64 pro
    Network RouterAsus AC-3200
    SaLSouL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    214

    Quote Originally Posted by mr_yogi View Post
    Hi,
    my motherboard is displaying very odd CPU temps. Even in the bios the CPU temps are much too low, -4 to 6 degrees centigrade. It's the same in Windows using CoreTemp or AI Suite 3.

    The system is only watercooled so these temp are wrong.

    I've updated the bios to 6903, but this makes no difference.

    Any advice appreciated.

    Have you tried clearing the CMOS?

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    133

    ive tried clearing the cmos and it is an exercise in frustration. the latest bios is a total mess. nothing works as it should and I have had 2 water cooling units heat up and literally explode... not happy, and even now I have to keep an eye on it all the time just in case the cpu wraith prism cooler stops spinning!!!

    Completely unacceptable!!!!!!
    AsusCrosshairVIHero - 2700x@4.30Ghz~1.373v
    32Gb G.Skill RGB Trident 16gb3466Mhz + 16gb4266Mhz DDR4@3466mhz
    Titan Xp
    1TbSamsung960EVO M.2 1TbSamsung850EVO SSD Seagate2TB/3Tb CorsairForceGt 64gb
    TTtoughpower1200w80
    Thermaltake Core X71 Tempered glass side panal

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array mr_yogi PC Specs
    mr_yogi PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 5 2600
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK - 32GB (4x8GB) G.Skill Ripjaws V
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX1070 SeaHawk EK
    Graphics Card #2MSI GTX1070 Gaming X
    MonitorASUS MG279Q
    Storage #1256GB Crucial MX100
    Storage #21TB Crucial MX300
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy
    CaseFractal Design Define R5
    Power SupplyBeQuiet Straight Power 800W
    Keyboard Logitech G513 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 1500
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300
    Headset/Speakers Topping Class T amp /w Mission 761i
    OS Win 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Hi,

    Yes BIOS has been reset many times but makes no difference.

    Here is a screen shot of the BIOS
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20190407_212347.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	297.5 KB 
ID:	79883

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    133

    I cant believe after all this time, users are still being used as beta testers.

    maybe add a warning to the latest bios that there could be issues, as all I saw was improved stability. when in actual fact its been anything but.

    I wish everyone good luck with their c6h and warn you not to upgrade to the last 3 bios updates.

    i'm about to try rolling back to 6201. i'm praying this works and doesnt bork my mainboard...

    will update... tried renaming bios to C6H.CAP and received an error message saying 'this is not a proper bios' what is going on???

    im stuck here, if I cant roll back the bios to at least 6201 this motherboard is borked. the fans dont work correctly and the cpu runs at up to 60degrees....

    i'm so frustrated with it... i'm about 6 hours in to reconfiguring this bios and have a cpu which performs badly...

    also the wraith prism cooler has started rattling after a weeks use!!!! :/

    just used the cpu-z bench to check on performance. I get 449.5 single thread and 4739.5 multi threaded. just turned my pc into garbage and like I say it wont let me roll back to an earlier bios. any ideas...
    did I rename my bios incorrectly????
    if amd wanted to brick every ones boards using the c6h they have achieved this as the board runs terribly with a 2700x right now.
    temps are rediculus showing 50c+ on anything but power saving mode.
    Last edited by purecain; 04-07-2019 at 11:25 PM.
    AsusCrosshairVIHero - 2700x@4.30Ghz~1.373v
    32Gb G.Skill RGB Trident 16gb3466Mhz + 16gb4266Mhz DDR4@3466mhz
    Titan Xp
    1TbSamsung960EVO M.2 1TbSamsung850EVO SSD Seagate2TB/3Tb CorsairForceGt 64gb
    TTtoughpower1200w80
    Thermaltake Core X71 Tempered glass side panal

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by purecain View Post
    ive tried clearing the cmos and it is an exercise in frustration. the latest bios is a total mess. nothing works as it should and I have had 2 water cooling units heat up and literally explode... not happy, and even now I have to keep an eye on it all the time just in case the cpu wraith prism cooler stops spinning!!!

    Completely unacceptable!!!!!!
    I have a 1700 and a 2700x, both had not this issue with the newest BIOS.
    Did you try the BIOS Flashback over the USB without starting the PC? Did you try an older BIOS?

    I have no issues but the pump control, which I can not control a fancurve for.

    You behave like a child that didn't get what he wants - like that nobody wants to help you, so be nice in the future.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array mr_yogi PC Specs
    mr_yogi PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 5 2600
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK - 32GB (4x8GB) G.Skill Ripjaws V
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX1070 SeaHawk EK
    Graphics Card #2MSI GTX1070 Gaming X
    MonitorASUS MG279Q
    Storage #1256GB Crucial MX100
    Storage #21TB Crucial MX300
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy
    CaseFractal Design Define R5
    Power SupplyBeQuiet Straight Power 800W
    Keyboard Logitech G513 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 1500
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300
    Headset/Speakers Topping Class T amp /w Mission 761i
    OS Win 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Just to add, that the temperature reading hasn't always been incorrect. It's something that occured in the past couple of months, when I had the previous BIOIS (62xx) installed, which had been on the board for months. I have no idea what could have triggered this issue.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array SaLSouL PC Specs
    SaLSouL PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Extreme
    ProcessorRyzen 7 2700x
    Memory (part number)trident RGB CL16 3200mhz 32GB
    Graphics Card #1MSI Gaming 6GB GTX 980Ti
    Graphics Card #2MSI Gaming 6GB GTX 980Ti
    Sound CardAstro A50 Wireless
    MonitorPhillips BDM4037U 40" 4k UHD Monitor
    Storage #1samsung 850 pro raid 0
    Storage #2WD Black 1tb Raid 0
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCoolermaster Cosmos 2
    Power SupplyCorsair ax 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Scimitar RGB Pro
    Headset Astro A50 Gaming Wireless
    Mouse Pad corsair massive
    OS Win 10 x64 pro
    Network RouterAsus AC-3200
    SaLSouL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    214

    Try unplugging the pc from the wall socket and holding down the start button to drain access power from the psu, then clear CMOS and remove the MB battery completely, leaving it for 5- 10 mins, then put MB battery back in and plug PC back into the wall socket. Power up the PC and all settings should be at default. report back your findings

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array mr_yogi PC Specs
    mr_yogi PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 5 2600
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK - 32GB (4x8GB) G.Skill Ripjaws V
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX1070 SeaHawk EK
    Graphics Card #2MSI GTX1070 Gaming X
    MonitorASUS MG279Q
    Storage #1256GB Crucial MX100
    Storage #21TB Crucial MX300
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy
    CaseFractal Design Define R5
    Power SupplyBeQuiet Straight Power 800W
    Keyboard Logitech G513 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 1500
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300
    Headset/Speakers Topping Class T amp /w Mission 761i
    OS Win 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by SaLSouL View Post
    Try unplugging the pc from the wall socket and holding down the start button to drain access power from the psu, then clear CMOS and remove the MB battery completely, leaving it for 5- 10 mins, then put MB battery back in and plug PC back into the wall socket. Power up the PC and all settings should be at default. report back your findings
    Hi,

    Sorry for the delay in replying to this thread, I've been busy and also had issues logging in to the site.

    So I tried removing the battery and restored the defaults a couple of times, but it didn't change the temp readings.

    However the other day I remembered I droped the CPU onto the motherboard when I was first testing the system before I built my loop. I bent a couple of pins and got some thermal paste on the socket, but I cleaned it up best I could and straightened out the pins and it worked fine, so I forgot about it.

    So I've just drained everything down, removed the waterbock and CPU, cleaned both sides of the CPU with Alochol and lightly brushed the underside of the CPU with a toothbrush. Stuck it back together and refilled the loop and the temp readings in the BIOS and via AI Suite 3 are back to realistic levels, 28 degrees c as I type this

    Thanks for all the help

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array SaLSouL PC Specs
    SaLSouL PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Extreme
    ProcessorRyzen 7 2700x
    Memory (part number)trident RGB CL16 3200mhz 32GB
    Graphics Card #1MSI Gaming 6GB GTX 980Ti
    Graphics Card #2MSI Gaming 6GB GTX 980Ti
    Sound CardAstro A50 Wireless
    MonitorPhillips BDM4037U 40" 4k UHD Monitor
    Storage #1samsung 850 pro raid 0
    Storage #2WD Black 1tb Raid 0
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCoolermaster Cosmos 2
    Power SupplyCorsair ax 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Scimitar RGB Pro
    Headset Astro A50 Gaming Wireless
    Mouse Pad corsair massive
    OS Win 10 x64 pro
    Network RouterAsus AC-3200
    SaLSouL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    214

    Quote Originally Posted by mr_yogi View Post
    Hi,

    Sorry for the delay in replying to this thread, I've been busy and also had issues logging in to the site.

    So I tried removing the battery and restored the defaults a couple of times, but it didn't change the temp readings.

    However the other day I remembered I droped the CPU onto the motherboard when I was first testing the system before I built my loop. I bent a couple of pins and got some thermal paste on the socket, but I cleaned it up best I could and straightened out the pins and it worked fine, so I forgot about it.

    So I've just drained everything down, removed the waterbock and CPU, cleaned both sides of the CPU with Alochol and lightly brushed the underside of the CPU with a toothbrush. Stuck it back together and refilled the loop and the temp readings in the BIOS and via AI Suite 3 are back to realistic levels, 28 degrees c as I type this

    Thanks for all the help

    Wow,

    After that description Id say your one very lucky person, Im glad its all sorted.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •