Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Rampage VI Extreme(R6E) NON-Bootable Vroc

    As the title says i have the R6E would like to setup non bootable VROC i already have The Asus hyper card set in the bios as data.

    Do i need to reinstall the os when the hyper card is set to vroc in bios?

    i have 4 drives on the hyper card
    970 pro boot drive
    960 pro storage
    970 pro
    970 pro

    I would like to use VROC with two of the 970 pros how would i go by setting this up?


    Thanks
    Last edited by bmcbride1991; 04-02-2019 at 09:48 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array CharlieH PC Specs
    CharlieH PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI GT75 TITAN-094
    MotherboardAsus Dominus Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Xeon W-3175X
    Memory (part number)128GB G.SKILL TridentZ F4-3466C16Q2-128GTZR
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 Ti ROG-STRIX-RTX2080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Graphics Card #2ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 Ti ROG-STRIX-RTX2080TI-O11G-GAMING
    MonitorHP LP 3065
    Storage #12x 1TB Samsung 970 PRO PCIe NVMe SSD VROC Raid 0
    CPU CoolerEK-Velocity WS - Narrow ILM
    CaseMountainMods Extended Ascension CYO - Custom Computer Case
    Power SupplyCorsair AXi Series, AX1500i and AX1200i
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterNetgear XS712T and Asus ROG Rapture GT-AX11000
    Accessory #1 ASUS ROG GeForce RTX Nvlink Bridge with Aura Sync RGB 4 Slot Graphic Cards ROG-NVLINK-4
    Accessory #2 EK-VRM ASUS ROG Dominus Extreme
    Accessory #3 2x HEATKILLER® IV for ASUS RTX 2080 Ti STRIX - ACRYL
    CharlieH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    252

    Pretty sure you have to use VROC with all the drives you can't just use it on 2 of the 4. The bios setting for the hyper x16 is to split the x16 PCIE lane into 4 x4 lanes one for each PCIe NVMe SSD with VROC. Then you need to use the IRSTe driver I believe to get the VMD Controller drivers installed even if you are not using RAID. As far as re-installing the OS I am not sure you can try it w/o doing that and see but I think you might have to and if so you'll need the standalone IRSTe drivers at install time to find the PCIe NVMe SSDs to install the OS to.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Well i ended up getting this working i have a 970 pro as a boot drive and two of the 970 pros in vroc raid 0 and then the 960 pro as an extra storage

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    104

    Quote Originally Posted by bmcbride1991 View Post
    Well i ended up getting this working i have a 970 pro as a boot drive and two of the 970 pros in vroc raid 0 and then the 960 pro as an extra storage
    Can you please post up how you did whats been thought to be impossible and deemed so by Intel as well?

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by BigJohnny View Post
    Can you please post up how you did whats been thought to be impossible and deemed so by Intel as well?
    All ssd are on the hyper card.

    I set the bios setting for vroc and started a clean install. I installed the drivers during the clean install which detected all 4 drives. Once i got windows installed i installed Intel Rapid Storage Technology Enterprise and i was able to create a VROC RAID 0 Array with two of the 970s like i wanted. Might have installed the wrong IRSTe because it does give a 90 day message at the top. It also says the Array is bootable in IRSTe.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos IMG_20190403_002000-800x800.jpg  

    IMG_20190403_003413-800x800.jpg  

    IMG_20190403_003658-800x800.jpg  

    IMG_20190403_011811-800x800.jpg  

    IMG_20190403_012304-800x800.jpg  


  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array CharlieH PC Specs
    CharlieH PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI GT75 TITAN-094
    MotherboardAsus Dominus Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Xeon W-3175X
    Memory (part number)128GB G.SKILL TridentZ F4-3466C16Q2-128GTZR
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 Ti ROG-STRIX-RTX2080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Graphics Card #2ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 Ti ROG-STRIX-RTX2080TI-O11G-GAMING
    MonitorHP LP 3065
    Storage #12x 1TB Samsung 970 PRO PCIe NVMe SSD VROC Raid 0
    CPU CoolerEK-Velocity WS - Narrow ILM
    CaseMountainMods Extended Ascension CYO - Custom Computer Case
    Power SupplyCorsair AXi Series, AX1500i and AX1200i
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterNetgear XS712T and Asus ROG Rapture GT-AX11000
    Accessory #1 ASUS ROG GeForce RTX Nvlink Bridge with Aura Sync RGB 4 Slot Graphic Cards ROG-NVLINK-4
    Accessory #2 EK-VRM ASUS ROG Dominus Extreme
    Accessory #3 2x HEATKILLER® IV for ASUS RTX 2080 Ti STRIX - ACRYL
    CharlieH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    252

    The 90 day message is the kicker. In 90 days you can no longer use the RAID array. To BigJohnny's point you cannot do this. You need to use Intel drives for the RAID not Samsung to get rid of the message and not have the RAID array expire in 90 days. You are fine booting off a single Samsung drive running off a VROC VMD controller, I do that w/o any issues. But my RAID 0 array is 8 Intel 900ps installed on 2x Hyper x16 cards as a data array. I do not get the 90 message and I have been running my RAID 0 array far longer than 90 days. My Samsung boot drive is on the DIMM.2 card. So I use all 3 VROC VMD controllers on the CPU. My data array spans 2 VROC VMD controllers. My Samsung boot drive is on the third VROC VMD Controller

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IRSTEGui.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	122.9 KB 
ID:	79857

    This is the driver I use:
    http://www.smartredirect.de/redir/cl...QL-v-WHQL.html

    It comes from this site:
    https://www.win-raid.com/t2f23-Intel...QL-v-WHQL.html

    It is under the IRSTE section under Intel RSTe Storage Drivers & Software Set v5.5.0.2012 WHQL for Win8-10

    Here are my speeds:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	RAID08Drives3.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	68.5 KB 
ID:	79858

    When using VROC OCing your CPU increases your drive access speeds. I have a custom water loop and have OCed my CPU.
    Last edited by CharlieH; 04-07-2019 at 10:36 AM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •