Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    3 GPUs: how to specify second slot for the display?

    (also posted at tomshardware, but got no takers)

    Hi Folks,

    I have an ASUS Z8-WS motherboard with its first three PCI-E slots occupied by GPUs: I would like the weakest card (ASUS Strix 970) to drive my monitor and the other two (Titan X (Pascal)) to be used for 3D rendering engines.

    If the 970 is in the first PCI-E slot, one of the Titans won't show up in Windows (but is visible in BIOS). That's weird, so I tried putting the 970 into the second slot.

    If the 970 is in the 2nd GPU slot, Windows can see all three cards but the monitor doesn't register a signal from the 2nd GPU slot card - only from the first GPU slot!

    Each card can drive the monitor fine if in the first GPU slot, BTW.

    I don't see how to configure the ASUS BIOS or GPU Tweak II utility to have this motherboard use the second GPU as the lone monitor.
    Last edited by ooofest; 04-19-2019 at 07:49 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array 1mluer PC Specs
    1mluer PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus IX Apex & Maximus XI Apex's
    ProcessorI7-7700k & I9-9900k
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident Z RGB 4266 & 3200 DC
    Graphics Card #1MSI Sea Hawk 1080 & ROG Matrix 2080 ti
    Sound Cardbuilt in for both
    MonitorSamsung 27inch & ASUS Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro & Samsung 970 Pro
    CPU CoolerRyuo 240 & Ryujin 360
    CaseInWin 909 Black & InWin 909 Silver
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000w Titanium & ROG Thor 1200p
    Keyboard Corsair K95 & ASUS ROG Claymore
    Mouse Logitech G902 & ASUS Gladius II Origin
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 & ASUS ROG Baltheus
    Headset/Speakers Bose Computer Set with Sub
    OS Windows 10 Pro all around
    Network RouterLinksys EA 9500
    Accessory #1 Corsair LL / Commander Pro & TT Riing Plus
    Accessory #2 Blue Microphone

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    224

    How about just connecting your monitor to the 2nd card and use it's output to drive your monitor ? I am not sure of the question here? Love to help but don't want to commit to much yet.

    I may be reading this wrong ..
    Inwin 909 Black RGB build
    i7-7700k
    ROG Maximus IX Apex
    1080 Sea Hawk
    Gskill Trident Z RGB 4266

    InWin 909 Silver RGB build
    i9-9900k
    ROG Maximus XI Apex
    ROG Matrix 2080 ti
    Gskill TridentZ RGB DC 3200 64g

    Everything overclocked and love it.
    ROG Awesomeness !!!!

  3. #3
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by 1mluer View Post
    How about just connecting your monitor to the 2nd card and use it's output to drive your monitor ? I am not sure of the question here? Love to help but don't want to commit to much yet.

    I may be reading this wrong ..
    Thanks, I just reworded the original post to hopefully be more clear!

    So, that's what I tried: just connect the monitor to the 2nd GPU. Unfortunately, it never registered a signal with the monitor. Any of these cards work fine with the monitor if in the first slot, but apparently not from the second slot.

    And, if I switch the cards so the ASUS Strix 970 is in the first slot, then one of the Titans doesn't even show up in Windows (but is still visible in the BIOS). So, this all seems kind of weird.

    When I enable the iGPU (Intel 4600) in the BIOS, that works fine with the monitor, too.

    My main goal is to use the 970 as my daily driver and the Titan cards for rendering.

    So, I'm wondering if there's a specific limitation on this ASUS motherboard for the 2nd GPU slot to be used for the monitor.
    Last edited by ooofest; 04-19-2019 at 07:39 PM.

  4. #4
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600
    Memory (part number)16GB DDR4
    Graphics Card #1GTX980
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    290
    Posts
    7,279

    Do all 3 cards run your rendering tasks correctly? It's weird that slot arrangement makes one of your cards disappear. Makes me wonder if the card in the 2nd slot is even functioning correctly.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  5. #5
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    Do all 3 cards run your rendering tasks correctly? It's weird that slot arrangement makes one of your cards disappear. Makes me wonder if the card in the 2nd slot is even functioning correctly.
    Yes, right now I have them ordered as:

    (PCIEX16_1) Titan X
    (PCIEX16_2) GTX-970
    (PCIEX16_3) Titan X

    and all three are available in Windows, plus all three can be used to render in Blender Cycles, Octane, Iray, etc.

    Hm, your question makes me think I should test trying to drive the monitor from slot 3, too - I'll check that out and post an update.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 3GPUs in Blender Cycles.jpg  

    Last edited by ooofest; 04-19-2019 at 08:21 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •