Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Exclamation upgrade rog g20aj Ram

    Hi

    I want to upgrade my RAM to 16 GB

    I now have one 8GB slot on my computer
    Kingston 8 Giga 204-DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3L 1600 (PC3L 12800)

    I wonder if I can use other brand like
    Patriot Memory 8 GB 204-DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Laptop Memory Model PSD38G16002S
    https://www.newegg.com/global/sa-en/...82E16820220656

    Is it fit for my computer?
    Or I will have a problem with voltage and some other things

    Would you recommend another product?

    Thank you

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array spartan_hoplite PC Specs
    spartan_hoplite PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ROG G21CX Huracan
    MotherboardZ390 ROG G21CX
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900k
    Memory (part number)32gb DDR4
    Graphics Card #1ASUS RTX 2080 Turbo
    MonitorROG PG27vQ
    Storage #1Samsung NvMe 960 500gb + 4 Tb Samsung SSD
    Storage #2Seagate 8 tb Hard Disk Drive
    CaseROG G21CX
    Keyboard ASUS ROG Claymore
    Mouse ASUS ROG Pugio
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    77

    Quote Originally Posted by megren21 View Post
    Hi

    I want to upgrade my RAM to 16 GB

    I now have one 8GB slot on my computer
    Kingston 8 Giga 204-DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3L 1600 (PC3L 12800)

    I wonder if I can use other brand like
    Patriot Memory 8 GB 204-DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Laptop Memory Model PSD38G16002S
    https://www.newegg.com/global/sa-en/...82E16820220656

    Is it fit for my computer?
    Or I will have a problem with voltage and some other things

    Would you recommend another product?

    Thank you
    it should fit, but Its better if you get another DDR3L sodimm RAM rather than standard DDR3 sodimm
    DDR3L: https://www.newegg.com/global/sa-en/...-679-_-Product

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by spartan_hoplite View Post
    it should fit, but Its better if you get another DDR3L sodimm RAM rather than standard DDR3 sodimm
    DDR3L: https://www.newegg.com/global/sa-en/...-679-_-Product
    Thank You

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    I found new ram and seems good for me , but i don't know it fit or not

    i want replace the old 8gb ddr3l 1600
    https://www.newegg.com/global/sa-en/...-697-_-Product

    with 16gb ram ddr3l 1866 2x8

    https://www.newegg.com/global/sa-en/...-732-_-Product

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array spartan_hoplite PC Specs
    spartan_hoplite PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ROG G21CX Huracan
    MotherboardZ390 ROG G21CX
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900k
    Memory (part number)32gb DDR4
    Graphics Card #1ASUS RTX 2080 Turbo
    MonitorROG PG27vQ
    Storage #1Samsung NvMe 960 500gb + 4 Tb Samsung SSD
    Storage #2Seagate 8 tb Hard Disk Drive
    CaseROG G21CX
    Keyboard ASUS ROG Claymore
    Mouse ASUS ROG Pugio
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    77

    Quote Originally Posted by megren21 View Post
    I found new ram and seems good for me , but i don't know it fit or not

    i want replace the old 8gb ddr3l 1600
    https://www.newegg.com/global/sa-en/...-697-_-Product

    with 16gb ram ddr3l 1866 2x8

    https://www.newegg.com/global/sa-en/...-732-_-Product
    it will fit but, your G20AJ will still read and run the ram at 1600mhz, not 1866mhz

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    this mean the maximum speed can i get for my ram is 1600MHz

    Thank you for the new information

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array spartan_hoplite PC Specs
    spartan_hoplite PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ROG G21CX Huracan
    MotherboardZ390 ROG G21CX
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900k
    Memory (part number)32gb DDR4
    Graphics Card #1ASUS RTX 2080 Turbo
    MonitorROG PG27vQ
    Storage #1Samsung NvMe 960 500gb + 4 Tb Samsung SSD
    Storage #2Seagate 8 tb Hard Disk Drive
    CaseROG G21CX
    Keyboard ASUS ROG Claymore
    Mouse ASUS ROG Pugio
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    77

    Quote Originally Posted by megren21 View Post
    this mean the maximum speed can i get for my ram is 1600MHz

    Thank you for the new information
    yes, you are welcome

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Welsh Whoopee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    230

    you might have to remove your cpu cooler, so buy your some spare descent thermal paste for the cpu, you might get to both slots but its just incase
    YOUTUBE CHANNEL @ http://bit.ly/2LNo1dI

    ASUS ROG G20 PLAYLIST @ http://bit.ly/2R9njXC

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •