Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array MaLLoc PC Specs
    MaLLoc PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel I9-9900k
    Memory (part number)DDR4-3200 TridentZ 32GB (16gbx2) CL 15-15-15-35
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG STRIX RX580 T8G
    MonitorBenQ ZOWIE XL2730 27" eSports Gaming Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB - M.2 2280 SSD (OS Drive)
    Storage #2Samsung 970 PRO 1TB - M.2 2280 SSD (Game Drive)
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X72 360mm - RGB CPU Liquid Cooler
    CaseLIAN LI ALPHA ALPHA 550X
    Power SupplySeasonic Platinum SS-1000WXP PSU
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Keyboard Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G502 Hero Mouse
    Headset Logitech G933 Artemis 7.1 Surround Sound Wireless Headset
    Mouse Pad Corsair Gaming MM200 Mouse Mat
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC88U

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Pci-e running at x8 instead of x16

    while going over settings I noticed the GPU seems to have started running at "native x8 link speed." It used to always run PCI-E 3.0 @ x16, but now BIOS, GPU-Z shows that it is running PCI-E 3.0 @ x8. and telling me that the cards can run at X16 but are running at X8 , Clearing CMOS, reseating vid card didn't help and I tried another video card too. PC is only a 2 month old and I had all kinds of video card problems already. and now I can't get this to change back to X16.
    the GPU is in the top PCIe x16/x8_1. There's nothing in PCIe_x8_2

    Thermaltake riser cable was being used for Verticle mounting and was running at X16 just fine when i set the computer up, however, I changed The card back just to test - the card is now mounted straight into top PCI-E x16 slot with 1x8pin cables coming out of it now with no difference in the result, still stuck at X8
    Last edited by MaLLoc; 04-12-2019 at 01:56 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array MaLLoc PC Specs
    MaLLoc PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel I9-9900k
    Memory (part number)DDR4-3200 TridentZ 32GB (16gbx2) CL 15-15-15-35
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG STRIX RX580 T8G
    MonitorBenQ ZOWIE XL2730 27" eSports Gaming Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB - M.2 2280 SSD (OS Drive)
    Storage #2Samsung 970 PRO 1TB - M.2 2280 SSD (Game Drive)
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X72 360mm - RGB CPU Liquid Cooler
    CaseLIAN LI ALPHA ALPHA 550X
    Power SupplySeasonic Platinum SS-1000WXP PSU
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Keyboard Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G502 Hero Mouse
    Headset Logitech G933 Artemis 7.1 Surround Sound Wireless Headset
    Mouse Pad Corsair Gaming MM200 Mouse Mat
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC88U

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    NM finally figured it out , when i enabled the Hyper M.2 in BIOS it was cutting the X16 to X8 on the pcie slot

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Quote Originally Posted by MaLLoc View Post
    NM finally figured it out , when i enabled the Hyper M.2 in BIOS it was cutting the X16 to X8 on the pcie slot
    Hello buddy, what was your solution to get the card running at X16 kindly?
    RIVE vi x299 + I9 79200K @ 4.3 || GTX 1080TI || EVGA 1300W G2 || 32GB Corsair Platinum 3200mhz || Samsung 960 EVO M.2 PCIE SSD || ...and a cuddly toy!

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Ch3vr0n PC Specs
    Ch3vr0n PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorCore i9 9900k @ 4.7GHZ (XMP)
    Memory (part number)CMT32GX4M4Z3200C16
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1080 A8G
    Sound Cardon board
    MonitorASUS VG278HR & ASUS VK278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo 1TB (Boot) & 970 EVO 2TB (Scratch)
    Storage #23X HGST 10TB, 1x HGST 4TB
    CPU CoolerScythe Mugen 5 PCGH
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos II
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Corsair k95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro RGB
    Headset Corsair Voide Wireless SE
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 + Corsair MM800 Polaris (EU)
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-906
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterNetgear XR500
    Accessory #1 Xbox One Elite Wireless Controller
    Accessory #2 2X Corsair LL140, 4x Corsair LL120
    Accessory #3 1x Corsair LED RGB Pro expansion kit, 2x LS100 RGB kit + 450mm expansion kit
    Ch3vr0n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    38
    Posts
    237

    Quote Originally Posted by audime View Post
    Hello buddy, what was your solution to get the card running at X16 kindly?
    You quoted the answer. He had enabled "Hyper M2" in the bios which cut the lanes in half. Disabling that setting fixed it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •