Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Apex XI overvolts on Manual mode

    Hi,

    I recently bought a Apex Xi mb, 9900KF, and G.Skill 3200 memory.

    So I've tried to do some overclocking, and so far I've set my eyes on 5GHz. I can set the multiplier to 50, and everything works fine, but when I start stress testing, the voltage jumps to 1.359v instead of the specified manual voltage at 1.290v. AVX offset is at 0.

    I've disabled C-states, Intel Speedstep, Intel Speedshift and done the overall other settings that should apply for a stable OC.
    I have added the settings from bios here aswell.
    Archivos Adjuntos

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array 1mluer PC Specs
    1mluer PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus IX Apex & Maximus XI Apex's
    ProcessorI7-7700k & I9-9900k
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident Z RGB 4266 & 3200 DC
    Graphics Card #1MSI Sea Hawk 1080 & ROG Matrix 2080 ti
    Sound Cardbuilt in for both
    MonitorSamsung 27inch & ASUS Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro & Samsung 970 Pro
    CPU CoolerRyuo 240 & Ryujin 360
    CaseInWin 909 Black & InWin 909 Silver
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000w Titanium & ROG Thor 1200p
    Keyboard Corsair K95 & ASUS ROG Claymore
    Mouse Logitech G902 & ASUS Gladius II Origin
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 & ASUS ROG Baltheus
    Headset/Speakers Bose Computer Set with Sub
    OS Windows 10 Pro all around
    Network RouterLinksys EA 9500
    Accessory #1 Corsair LL / Commander Pro & TT Riing Plus
    Accessory #2 Blue Microphone

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    305

    Quote Originally Posted by Klovnious View Post
    Hi,

    I recently bought a Apex Xi mb, 9900KF, and G.Skill 3200 memory.

    So I've tried to do some overclocking, and so far I've set my eyes on 5GHz. I can set the multiplier to 50, and everything works fine, but when I start stress testing, the voltage jumps to 1.359v instead of the specified manual voltage at 1.290v. AVX offset is at 0.

    I've disabled C-states, Intel Speedstep, Intel Speedshift and done the overall other settings that should apply for a stable OC.
    I have added the settings from bios here aswell.
    Don't forget about windows power setting too. they will auto volt and clock down your CPU when it thinks it's idle or not being used very hard etc..

    go into window settings > All settings > System and Power. Basically anything with power controls set to off etc..
    Inwin 909 Black RGB build
    i7-7700k
    ROG Maximus IX Apex
    1080 Sea Hawk
    Gskill Trident Z RGB 4266

    InWin 909 Silver RGB build
    i9-9900k
    ROG Maximus XI Apex
    ROG Matrix 2080 ti
    Gskill TridentZ RGB DC 3200 64g

    Everything overclocked and love it.
    ROG Awesomeness !!!!

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by 1mluer View Post
    Don't forget about windows power setting too. they will auto volt and clock down your CPU when it thinks it's idle or not being used very hard etc..

    go into window settings > All settings > System and Power. Basically anything with power controls set to off etc..
    Sure, I will try this. But it's not clocking down, it's steady at 5GHz, so not sure why it would over volt.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array 1mluer PC Specs
    1mluer PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus IX Apex & Maximus XI Apex's
    ProcessorI7-7700k & I9-9900k
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident Z RGB 4266 & 3200 DC
    Graphics Card #1MSI Sea Hawk 1080 & ROG Matrix 2080 ti
    Sound Cardbuilt in for both
    MonitorSamsung 27inch & ASUS Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro & Samsung 970 Pro
    CPU CoolerRyuo 240 & Ryujin 360
    CaseInWin 909 Black & InWin 909 Silver
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000w Titanium & ROG Thor 1200p
    Keyboard Corsair K95 & ASUS ROG Claymore
    Mouse Logitech G902 & ASUS Gladius II Origin
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 & ASUS ROG Baltheus
    Headset/Speakers Bose Computer Set with Sub
    OS Windows 10 Pro all around
    Network RouterLinksys EA 9500
    Accessory #1 Corsair LL / Commander Pro & TT Riing Plus
    Accessory #2 Blue Microphone

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    305

    Quote Originally Posted by Klovnious View Post
    Sure, I will try this. But it's not clocking down, it's steady at 5GHz, so not sure why it would over volt.
    Aye might be the case but I guess I was making the point that windows does have a hand in it's behavior if you don't change that stuff. Keep us posted..
    Inwin 909 Black RGB build
    i7-7700k
    ROG Maximus IX Apex
    1080 Sea Hawk
    Gskill Trident Z RGB 4266

    InWin 909 Silver RGB build
    i9-9900k
    ROG Maximus XI Apex
    ROG Matrix 2080 ti
    Gskill TridentZ RGB DC 3200 64g

    Everything overclocked and love it.
    ROG Awesomeness !!!!

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by 1mluer View Post
    Aye might be the case but I guess I was making the point that windows does have a hand in it's behavior if you don't change that stuff. Keep us posted..
    It is still overvolting to 1.349v

  6. #6
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,801

    What stress tests are you referring to?

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ASUS View Post
    What stress tests are you referring to?
    Prime95 v26.6 (custom test, min FFT size 12-12 max FFT, run fft's in place) and Cinebench R20 from the Windows Store.
    Last edited by Klovnious; 04-15-2019 at 07:50 PM. Reason: More information

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array 1mluer PC Specs
    1mluer PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus IX Apex & Maximus XI Apex's
    ProcessorI7-7700k & I9-9900k
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident Z RGB 4266 & 3200 DC
    Graphics Card #1MSI Sea Hawk 1080 & ROG Matrix 2080 ti
    Sound Cardbuilt in for both
    MonitorSamsung 27inch & ASUS Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro & Samsung 970 Pro
    CPU CoolerRyuo 240 & Ryujin 360
    CaseInWin 909 Black & InWin 909 Silver
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000w Titanium & ROG Thor 1200p
    Keyboard Corsair K95 & ASUS ROG Claymore
    Mouse Logitech G902 & ASUS Gladius II Origin
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 & ASUS ROG Baltheus
    Headset/Speakers Bose Computer Set with Sub
    OS Windows 10 Pro all around
    Network RouterLinksys EA 9500
    Accessory #1 Corsair LL / Commander Pro & TT Riing Plus
    Accessory #2 Blue Microphone

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    305

    Quote Originally Posted by Klovnious View Post
    It is still overvolting to 1.349v
    I haven't cracked the seal on my new Maximus XI Apex yet so I really can't go much further. I read that Asus Multi-thread setting in bios provides a better level of power thresholds based on processing demand. If you say no to that setting it uses the Intel CPU profile and locks the board to a strict 95w TDP I read somewhere. Maybe it is accommodating the CPU load.. Speaking of Load.. What do you have the Load Line Calibration set to ? That can be pretty beefy too in it's respond to processor demand.
    Last edited by 1mluer; 04-16-2019 at 12:33 AM.
    Inwin 909 Black RGB build
    i7-7700k
    ROG Maximus IX Apex
    1080 Sea Hawk
    Gskill Trident Z RGB 4266

    InWin 909 Silver RGB build
    i9-9900k
    ROG Maximus XI Apex
    ROG Matrix 2080 ti
    Gskill TridentZ RGB DC 3200 64g

    Everything overclocked and love it.
    ROG Awesomeness !!!!

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by 1mluer View Post
    I haven't cracked the seal on my new Maximus XI Apex yet so I really can't go much further. I read that Asus Multi-thread setting in bios provides a better level of power thresholds based on processing demand. If you say no to that setting it uses the Intel CPU profile and locks the board to a strict 95w TDP I read somewhere. Maybe it is accommodating the CPU load.. Speaking of Load.. What do you have the Load Line Calibration set to ? That can be pretty beefy too in it's respond to processor demand.
    I have been using LLC 6. I tried lowering the LLC to 4 and 5, but I crash pretty quickly, but it's overvolting even on the lower LLC's (4 and 5).
    I can't really see that it's not getting less voltage than I've specified in the manual mode, only more.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    I was looking at VID and not Vcore. My bad guys.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •