Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Upgraded to 2080 Ti(s) - PC Randomly Lagging/Freezing

    Hey guys, this issue is really doing my head in, this will be a long read and i really hope someone has a solution for me.

    Original PC, running without issues:

    - 8086K
    - X Code
    - 2080 Strix OC
    - 4x8gb 4266 GSkill DDR4
    - 1200W Asus Thor
    - 2x 500gb 970 Pro's

    I upgraded my 2080 to a 2080 Ti and also purchased a new motherboard, SSD and memory. This system was giving me issues.

    System:

    - 8086K
    - XI Extreme
    - 2080 Ti Strix OC
    - 4x8GB 4400 GSkill Royal
    - 1200W Asus Thor
    - 2x 1TB 970 Evo Plus

    Symptoms:

    - Screen will lock up and recover after a few seconds
    - Audio will cut out and either recover or reset my audio device to my monitor (instead of headset)
    - Happens in both gaming and browsing, but more prominant during gaming.

    So... i thought.. hell i must have gotten one of those "bad" 2080 Ti's, even though mine had Samsung GDDR6, so i purchased another 2080 Ti to use while i RMA the current, and run SLI when i get my RMA back...

    Same issue. I can't possibly have gotten 2 bad 2080 Ti's? So then... i went on replacing components in my rig.

    Current setup (issue occuring still):

    - 9900K
    - XI Apex
    - 2x 2080 Ti Strix OC (happens with both, even one at a time)
    - 2x16GB 4000Mhz GSkill DDR4
    - 1200W Asus Thor
    - 2x 1TB 970 Evo Plus (Dimm.2 RAID0)

    The only thing the two systems have in common is the PSU... but i had absolutely 0 issues when i was running my 2080.

    I have:

    - Reseated GPU's
    - Reformated
    - Flashed different Bios' (back to stock 2080 Ti Strix OC bios now)
    - Tried various drivers after uninstalling with DDU
    - Using 2x 6+2pin power connectors for each card
    - Plugged the PC into its own wall socket.

    This is driving me nuts, i have never experienced an issue like this before.

    Please, someone, help me!

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Please, someone give me a solution =[

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array ninezerofive PC Specs
    ninezerofive PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Apex
    Processori7-9700K @ 5.2
    Memory (part number)Trident Z Royal 4000 / 2x8GB @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 1070 OC
    Storage #1Corsair MP510 960 GB
    Storage #2Seagate 3TB
    CPU CoolerROG Ryuo 240
    Power SupplyROG THOR 850W
    Keyboard ROG Claymore
    Mouse ROG Pugio
    ninezerofive's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    191

    Uninstall Rapid Storage Technology by Intel.

    You have HDD in your system ? Try turning off indexing and caching.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by ninezerofive View Post
    Uninstall Rapid Storage Technology by Intel.

    You have HDD in your system ? Try turning off indexing and caching.
    Yes I have 3x 6TB WD black for storage.

    Do you really think Intel rapid storage can cause this issue? Why is that? How do I disable caching?

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    I'm also using Intel Rapid Storage in my Bios for Raid, will that have an effect?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array ninezerofive PC Specs
    ninezerofive PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Apex
    Processori7-9700K @ 5.2
    Memory (part number)Trident Z Royal 4000 / 2x8GB @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 1070 OC
    Storage #1Corsair MP510 960 GB
    Storage #2Seagate 3TB
    CPU CoolerROG Ryuo 240
    Power SupplyROG THOR 850W
    Keyboard ROG Claymore
    Mouse ROG Pugio
    ninezerofive's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    191

    There's a lot of nuances in your build. In that case, this approach might not work.

    Yea it worked for me and one other guy reported that after deleting IRST it stopped.

    Just try it out, if it works it works, if it doesn't then install it back on.

    I "THINK" you RAID setup "SHOULD" work without IRST just maybe with decreased speed.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array Johnnie PC Specs
    Johnnie PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Rampage VI Extreme Omega
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9980XE
    Memory (part number)4 x G.Skill Trident Z RGB DDR4 4600 MHz 2x8GB (F4-4600C18D-16G)
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Poseidon 1080Ti
    MonitorAsus ROG PG27V
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 970 PRO NVMe M.2 PCIe 1TB
    Storage #2SanDisk Extreme II SSD 480GB
    CPU CoolerAsus ROG Ryujin 360
    Casebe quiet! Dark Base 700
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Asus ROG Horus GK2000 RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius II
    Mouse Pad Asus ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Edifier S730
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC66U B1
    Johnnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    40

    Hello Lukeyboy89,

    Maybe this will help You. For me helped. I got shuttering and lagging in Destiny 2 for example
    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...urbo+boost+3.0

    Best regards,
    Johnnie

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Code
    Processor9900K
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4B3600C18
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080ti-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorAOC AGON AG2701QX (2)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 256GB
    Storage #2Kingston Savage 500GB
    CPU CoolerNzxt X74 360mm AIO
    CaseNzxt H700
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Asus Spartha
    Headset Hyper X Cloud Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Hyper X Fury S 900mx420mm
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z337
    OS Windows 10 64btis
    Network RouterTpLink Archer C9
    Accessory #1 EKWB FANs all of them
    MrAgapiGC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    1,228

    a 2080ti gpu with those symptoms will arrive during the week. with the same board and a 8700k

    I will try first with z390 and then disable the use of uefi.
    Learn, Play Enjoy!

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Code
    Processor9900K
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4B3600C18
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080ti-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorAOC AGON AG2701QX (2)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 256GB
    Storage #2Kingston Savage 500GB
    CPU CoolerNzxt X74 360mm AIO
    CaseNzxt H700
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Asus Spartha
    Headset Hyper X Cloud Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Hyper X Fury S 900mx420mm
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z337
    OS Windows 10 64btis
    Network RouterTpLink Archer C9
    Accessory #1 EKWB FANs all of them
    MrAgapiGC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    1,228

    is here. testing. so far i have my fisrt bubu in a game. But not on the hard test with furtmark with all 3 test selected. for 1h. i will test these durng the week. and for the interest all CPU and GPU are stock with just motherboard fans on 100% and gpu hit 100% at 60C.
    Learn, Play Enjoy!

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Code
    Processor9900K
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4B3600C18
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080ti-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorAOC AGON AG2701QX (2)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 256GB
    Storage #2Kingston Savage 500GB
    CPU CoolerNzxt X74 360mm AIO
    CaseNzxt H700
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Asus Spartha
    Headset Hyper X Cloud Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Hyper X Fury S 900mx420mm
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z337
    OS Windows 10 64btis
    Network RouterTpLink Archer C9
    Accessory #1 EKWB FANs all of them
    MrAgapiGC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    1,228

    well strike 2 for me. 3 one is out for RMA. i can not explain why. BUT i got a DWM error.

    I spend a lot of time one RMA for a friend, is the 2 2080ti.

    It just freeze. and i have to manualy restart the computer.

    Aside that i will miss the 2080ti
    Learn, Play Enjoy!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •