Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Intermittent problem with triple monitors: ROG SWIFT PG27VQ

    Hi folks,

    I recently purchased three ROG SWIFT PG27VQ 27" monitors and they are running off a Gigabyte water-cooled 2080ti on a ROG Maximus XI Hero mobo with a water-cooled i7 9700K @5.1GHz operating in NVidia surround. I run the monitors at 165Hz, but have even tried at 144Hz and the same issue persists. I am on the latest updated version of WIN10 and all power saving features and screen savers etc are off.

    The monitors work just fine generally, but every so often one of them will switch off during game play, but never just the same one. Sometimes it's the left one, other times the center one, or the right side. but never more than one at once. This problem has been persistent through three different NVidia drivers. Yesterday I upgraded the driver to the latest WHQL version 425.31 and still, the problem is still there.

    When it happens, just one screen, but never more than one of them, will simply go black, the power LED changes colour, then the screen reboots about 5 seconds and once it has gone through this cycle, I do not suffer it again that day. The screens can be on for hours without issue during gaming, then boom, one turns off. Then they will work without issue for the rest of the day.

    I hope someone can suggest what I can try to stop this from happening. Thanks in advance.

    >^..^<
    Last edited by quattroboy; 04-16-2019 at 05:03 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Desperate for any ideas please

  3. #3
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    301
    Posts
    7,482

    You might have already considered this but what are they plugged into? Maybe this is simple electrical problem. Loose connection, faulty power strip, etc.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Hi Xeroist. Thanks for the suggestion. I hadn't thought of that. They all plugged into a large multiple power outlet along with lots of other peripherals. Perhaps the power is limited?

    I'll plug them in elsewhere and see how it goes.

    Cheers

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Checked that. Plugged each monitor power into its own dedicated wall outlet. Still happens. Just sitting reading a forum and one monitor just turned off and back on again.

    I'm at my wits end.

  6. #6
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    301
    Posts
    7,482

    I don't have any more ideas on specific cause but there are a few things that might be worth testing. I would try disconnecting power or the display cable from one of the monitors to see if either disconnection behaves like what you are seeing. That might tell you if the monitor is losing power or picture. Given that you say the monitor reboots it doesn't sound like the display cutting out but it's worth checking.

    Another thing to try is to leave one of the displays out of your configuration for a day or two to see if it still happens with two displays.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  7. #7
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,823

    Hello,

    Have you tried updating the firmware here?

    https://www.nvidia.com/object/nv-uefi-update-x64.html

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ASUS View Post
    Hello,

    Have you tried updating the firmware here?

    https://www.nvidia.com/object/nv-uefi-update-x64.html

    Thanks. I'm going to try that now. Appreciate the help guys.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    HI Scone.

    I just ran the updater, but it reported that, "this update is not applicable to your graphics card"

  10. #10
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,823

    Quote Originally Posted by quattroboy View Post
    HI Scone.

    I just ran the updater, but it reported that, "this update is not applicable to your graphics card"
    Then it likely isn't for Turing. Might be worth filing a bug report with NV.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •