Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Pls. Help - Detecting 2 Keyboards Problem

    Hi,

    Model: ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
    BIOS: 0604 x64

    Problem(s):
    1. I have only attached one USB Keyboard (NO PS/2 Keyboard) to the motherboard. When I go to BIOS under Advance -> USB Configuration, I see that my motherboard detect 2 USB Keyboards. When I disconnect that keyboard, motherboard detects 1 keyboard (No keyboard attached to it). Can someone please help me on how to fix this problem?

    What I have tried so far:
    a. I cleared the CMOS (Technician from ASUS told me) by basically removing battery from motherboard, wait 1 minute, while waiting, hold power bottom to clear all charges and then put everything back on (Didn't work).

    b. Flash bios to newer version, 1101 (That didn't work).

    c. Flashback (Tools -> Flashback) the BIOS (0604) (That didn't work).

    Thanks
    Mani

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Is there any contaminate in one of the USB ports, a bit of waste matter that might be fooling the USB into thinking there is something connected?

    Have a good visual inspection and check if all clear.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  3. #3
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    164
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by orionfw View Post
    Hi,

    Model: ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
    BIOS: 0604 x64

    Problem(s):
    1. I have only attached one USB Keyboard (NO PS/2 Keyboard) to the motherboard. When I go to BIOS under Advance -> USB Configuration, I see that my motherboard detect 2 USB Keyboards. When I disconnect that keyboard, motherboard detects 1 keyboard (No keyboard attached to it). Can someone please help me on how to fix this problem?

    What I have tried so far:
    a. I cleared the CMOS (Technician from ASUS told me) by basically removing battery from motherboard, wait 1 minute, while waiting, hold power bottom to clear all charges and then put everything back on (Didn't work).

    b. Flash bios to newer version, 1101 (That didn't work).

    c. Flashback (Tools -> Flashback) the BIOS (0604) (That didn't work).

    Thanks
    Mani

    its just a misreport (some USB devices are picked up as keyboard). The system should be working fine regardless.


    You can update to a later UEFI also.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Thank you guys for the reply.

    I checked all the USB port, I didn't detect anything. Is there any way that I can fix the misreport? I also update my BIOS to ver. 1101 and I still see the same thing (Did FlashBack after upgrading and that didn't work either).

    Beside that motherboard works fine (When I called ASUS, one the agent told me that my motherboard is defected and I should send it to them to fix it, is true?).


    Why I'm Concern:
    My Motherboard reported everything fine until 3 weeks ago that I had to change my keyboard (Some of the keys wasn't working and I got the replacement for it). After connecting the new keyboard (Same brand of keyboard <Replacement>, same USB port as before), I see that my Motherboard reports "2 Keyboards, 1 Mouse, 2 Hubs".

    --
    Thanks
    Last edited by orionfw; 02-20-2012 at 04:01 PM.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array mdzcpa PC Specs
    mdzcpa PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero XI
    Processor9900k @ 5.1Ghz All Core 1.315v AVX -2
    Memory (part number)Gskill GTZ 4133 C17 32GB (4x8GB)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 2080 TI OC
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro M.2 512GB for OS & APPS
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro M.2 1TB for GAMES
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CasePhanteks Evolv X
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 1000W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Corsaur VOID Pro
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Wide Desk Mat
    OS WIN 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys VELOP
    Accessory #1 ROG 751JY Laptop for Moobile Gaming
    Accessory #2 Koolance EXC-800 Chiller
    Accessory #3 25+ years of overclocking

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    80
    Posts
    968

    I get the same misreport as well. I see it on my initial boot up screen as well. But I have experienced no negative affects from it and simply ignore it.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Thanks for the reply.

    Another thing that worries me is the keylogger. Maybe because of that it shows two keyboards. I might be wrong. I don't have much experience in computer.


    --
    Thanks

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    69
    Posts
    655

    Mine also does this. No noticeable problems because of it.
    Simply cosmetic.
    MB: ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
    CPU: Intel Xeon E5-2697 v2 (Cooled by Corsair H100i w/ Noctua NF-F12 fans)
    RAM: 64GB G.SKILL RipjawsZ 1600 (10-10-10-30)
    GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX Titan X Hybrid
    TV Tuners: 2 * Hauppauge HVR-1800
    Case: CoolerMaster Cosmos 2


  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array UltraNEO* PC Specs
    UltraNEO* PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell XPS 13
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel i7-6850k
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL F4-3600C17Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Titan X (Pascal)
    Graphics Card #2Titan X (Pascal)
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q (x3)
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 1TB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1Tb (x4)
    CPU CoolerCustom Watercooled
    CaseCaseLabs SMA8
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Keyboard Paradise Custom
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Mouse Pad Logitech G840 XL
    Headset/Speakers ART SLA2 Linear Amp with JBL Control 5
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterPF Sense
    Accessory #1 Logitech Brio 4k
    Accessory #2 Logitech PowerPlay Game Pad
    UltraNEO*'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    605

    Quote Originally Posted by mdzcpa View Post
    I get the same misreport as well. I see it on my initial boot up screen as well. But I have experienced no negative affects from it and simply ignore it.
    Me too, this only appears to show IF the keyboard is attached through USB, adding the converter and pluging it into the PS2 port and it informs there are NO keyboards attached!!! Yet here I am tapping on one

    I think at end of the day, it's essentially a non-issue caused by to a bug in the UEFI BIOS.
    ASUS ROG RVIE Encore| i9-10940x | Dominator Platinum 128GB 3333 MHz | EVGA RTX 2080 Ti SLI | Samsung 970 Pro 1TB NVMe (x3)
    WD Black 4TB | WD Black 6TB x2 | EVGA 1600 P2 | CaseLabs SMA8 | Custom Water Cooling | HWLabs Black Ice Nemesis GTX 560
    XSPC RX 480 v3 | XSPC D5 Vario x2 | EK Blocks | EK-RES X3 400 | BitsPower Fittings | GentleTypoon 1850 x12 | Corsair SP140 x8 | Lamptron CM615

    Twitch.tv/MsNikita | Twitter.com/MsNikitaTV | Instagram.com/MsNikitaTV | Reddit.com/r/MsNikitaTV

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Glad that I'm not the only one here experiencing this problem. If it's a bug hopefully they fix it in the next release of BIOS.

    Another thing that I notice is "Windows Boot Manager" under Boot menu. I installed windows 7 Pro x64 and Uninstall it by zero fill the hard drive. I still see "Windows Boot Manager" in my BIOS. Does anyone knows on how to delete it from boot menu.

    I'm thinking that when BIOS detects something it saves it and on the next restart it never checks to see if it is still exist. I might be wrong.

  10. #10
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    164
    Posts
    7,454

    It's just a bug report, it will require a large amount of time to 'fix' (depends on how devices are recognised) and because the boards are working fine it is not a high-priority for us at the moment. High priority items are those that are causing gross incompatibility and non-function.

    -Raja

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •