Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    After some help with TUF Laptop/Realtek please! - Razer Kraken Pro Mic Issue

    Hey Guys, I just brought Myself Asus Tuf gaming laptop and it won’t pick up the mic on my headset Razer Kraken Pro the one with 3.5 jack, in the device manager I have Realtek(R) Audio and Intel(R) Display Audio and also Nvidia Virtal Audio, for some reason when in sound manager the intergrated mic overcomes the headset mic, even if I try to set up the mic as “Headset” it’ll still be the intergrated mic, it’s really annoying.... I plug the headset into my old hp pavilion also win 10 and I get the pop up from Realtek saying it’s been dectected and the headset/mic works great... my new laptop the TUF I get nothing when plugging in the headset... I must say the hp also shows in the device manager “Realtek HD Device Manager” and the Asus shows “Realtek(R) Audio” are these the same thing or what? Rally annoying having spent £1299.00 on a laptop that can’t do what my £350 laptop can do.... please help me!!!

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	41773ABF-4928-4197-B582-DE26D397EE7F.png 
Views:	8 
Size:	38.5 KB 
ID:	75320*

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    609

    /reads thread,
    /finds something being amiss,
    /googles Razer Kraken Pro,

    https://www.razer.com/gaming-audio/razer-kraken-pro

    i see the problem now.
    dude, it won't show up at device manager, because it doesn't need to.
    there's no driver to install, because it's not a USB interface. instead, it's the pure 3.5mm jack (this is the superior form in my opinion).

    if you hear sound coming from your razer kraken pro, it works.
    notification is just extra confirmation bling that comes outta your laptop.

    side rant, aiming at USB headphone makers:
    what the hell do you need to install drivers to get a stupid pair of headphones to work? and you can't even use it for your phone, old amps, vinyl..?
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

  3. #3
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    So why isn’t the mic working? And the intergrated mic takes over? I don’t even have a Audio Manager?? I right click the speaker icon go to recording devices, try set up the “microphone as a headset” but all it’s picking up is the intergrated mic :@*
    Last edited by deanaxten; 08-21-2018 at 07:29 AM.

  4. #4
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    *I just don’t understand why the intergrated mic picks up over the headset mic even when trying to setup as “Headset Microphone” I go through the step by step guide and when it gets to doing the speaking bit where you read the sentence it’s coming from my intergrated mic on the laptop and not the headset mic, it’s so thrustrating
    Last edited by deanaxten; 08-21-2018 at 08:47 AM.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    609

    Quote Originally Posted by deanaxten View Post
    *I just don’t understand why the intergrated mic picks up over the headset mic even when trying to setup as “Headset Microphone” I go through the step by step guide and when it gets to doing the speaking bit where you read the sentence it’s coming from my intergrated mic on the laptop and not the headset mic, it’s so thrustrating
    show me your headphone plug, or jack.
    is there a double line separating the connector?
    or triple lines?
    Last edited by haihane; 08-21-2018 at 07:49 PM.
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    If you are intended to use the headphone only for the sound output and the integrated mic as the microphone, these steps work for me:
    1. Search for "Realtek Audio Console"
    2. Go to "Device advanced settings"
    3. Pick "Headphone" from the dropdown

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	tempsnip.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	66.8 KB 
ID:	80151

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •