Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Random Freezing Even Without OC

    Greetings,

    I am officially out of ideas (from my limited knowledge) on this one.

    These are my specs.

    Motherboard: ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme X299
    Processor: Intel Core i9 7980XE BIOS 1704
    Processor Cooling: Premium Nickel Plated Copper CPU Cooling Block
    Heat Exchanger Array: Premium Copper Core Radiators- 240 (2x120mm) + 360 (3x120mm) copper core solderless radiator with high airflow fans
    BiTurbo Pump Array: BiTurbo Dual Laing DDC Vario Pumps
    Reservoir: Dual Reservoir- 400mL Bitspower Oversized Reservoir and Redundant Backup Reservoir
    Memory: 128GB HyperX FURY DDR4-2666 (8x16GB)
    Graphics Card: Dual NVIDIA Titan Xp 12GB GDDR5X [SLI]
    GPU Liquid Cooling: Dual Card EK Supremacy - Nickel
    Power Supply: 1600W EVGA SuperNOVA P2 - Platinum Certified
    OS Drive: [M.2 NVME SSD] 2TB Samsung® 960 Pro
    Storage 1: [SSD] 4TB Samsung 860 EVO
    Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 Professional

    This is my problem.

    The computer randomly freeze for no apparent reason forcing me to hard reset the computer (no BSOD). Happens when I'm playing a game (i.e. Watch Dogs 2), leave it idle for a while, or the middle of surfing the web.

    At first, I thought it was the memory. Spent a day testing my memory with MemTest64. No errors.

    Uses Intel's Processor Diagnostics Tool to test and stress test the CPU. All passed.

    Stress tested the GPU (not OC) with 3D Mark and PC Mark. All passed.

    Reloaded my system with a clean copy of Windows 10 (all current drivers from ASUS site) and tested it. Problem still occurred in less than a day.

    Loaded the "Load Optimized Default" in BIOS". Problem still occurred in less than a day.

    Using the Loaded Default, I manually set the processor speed to 2600Mhz (no overclock on CPU or Memory). Problem still occurred, though it took a lot longer to happen. Was good for two days. Then after hard resetting, it happened in less than a day.

    I even went as far as disabling Intel SpeedStep, Turbo Mode, and Autonomous Core C-State just to see what would happen. No real change and problem still occurred in less than a day.

    Note that the CPU's and GPU's temp never exceeded 67°C

    The only other problem I could think it could be is the voltage settings set in BIOS. Since most are set to Auto, I can only guess what they are really set to.

    But that's only an idea.

    Any ideas on what I should do or change before I go insane?

    Your inputs are greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Bios 1704 has been known to cause random freezes with some rigs. Most likely that.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by Riicckk View Post
    Bios 1704 has been known to cause random freezes with some rigs. Most likely that.
    Lovely.

    But is was still doing the same thing when I was on 1603. Unless that one was screwed up too.

    Interesting...

    Maybe the computer just doesn't love me.
    Last edited by Dazkey69; 04-20-2019 at 07:18 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array CharlieH PC Specs
    CharlieH PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI GT75 TITAN-094
    MotherboardAsus Dominus Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Xeon W-3175X
    Memory (part number)128GB G.SKILL TridentZ F4-3466C16Q2-128GTZR
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 Ti ROG-STRIX-RTX2080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Graphics Card #2ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 Ti ROG-STRIX-RTX2080TI-O11G-GAMING
    MonitorHP LP 3065
    Storage #12x 1TB Samsung 970 PRO PCIe NVMe SSD VROC Raid 0
    Storage #22x Intel Optane SSD 900P VROC Raid 0
    CPU CoolerEK-Velocity WS - Narrow ILM
    CaseHighSpeed PC Top Desk Tech Station - HPTX
    Power SupplyCorsair AXi Series, AX1500i and AX1200i
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterNetgear XS712T and Asus ROG Rapture GT-AX11000
    Accessory #1 ASUS ROG GeForce RTX Nvlink Bridge with Aura Sync RGB 4 Slot Graphic Cards ROG-NVLINK-4
    Accessory #2 EK-VRM ASUS ROG Dominus Extreme
    Accessory #3 2x HEATKILLER® IV for ASUS RTX 2080 Ti STRIX - ACRYL
    CharlieH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    247

    May I start by saying what a very nice rig. I wanted that same 7980xe when I bought mine for the R6E but the BIOS was in it's early stages and it would not run correctly programs would just crash on me so I ended up switching the CPU for a 7900X. Two thoughts with the defaults I have read in other threads OCing the memory got rid of the hangs (also something with the timing too setting it to T2 maybe, you might search around a bit there is a thread on this hang condition already)? Second I know you have probably done this but in Windows Power Management setting it to high performance to ensure the CPU runs at 100% all the time.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array LiveOrDie PC Specs
    LiveOrDie PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE VI EXTREME
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 7980XE Custom IHS @ 4.6Ghz 1.221v
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1080Ti Strix OC
    MonitorLG 4k 43inch
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVME 512gb
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 1TB x 2
    CPU CoolerEK ROG R6E Monoblock, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 500D SE
    Power SupplyCooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Razer Tiamat 2.2 v2
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterNetGear
    LiveOrDie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    1,638

    Is it Freezing with a sound loop in games? it does sound memory related but it could be your IMC which you might need to fine turn for that amount of ram, have you tried just running 1 stick or 2 and see if the issue is still there?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array CharlieH PC Specs
    CharlieH PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI GT75 TITAN-094
    MotherboardAsus Dominus Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Xeon W-3175X
    Memory (part number)128GB G.SKILL TridentZ F4-3466C16Q2-128GTZR
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 Ti ROG-STRIX-RTX2080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Graphics Card #2ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 Ti ROG-STRIX-RTX2080TI-O11G-GAMING
    MonitorHP LP 3065
    Storage #12x 1TB Samsung 970 PRO PCIe NVMe SSD VROC Raid 0
    Storage #22x Intel Optane SSD 900P VROC Raid 0
    CPU CoolerEK-Velocity WS - Narrow ILM
    CaseHighSpeed PC Top Desk Tech Station - HPTX
    Power SupplyCorsair AXi Series, AX1500i and AX1200i
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterNetgear XS712T and Asus ROG Rapture GT-AX11000
    Accessory #1 ASUS ROG GeForce RTX Nvlink Bridge with Aura Sync RGB 4 Slot Graphic Cards ROG-NVLINK-4
    Accessory #2 EK-VRM ASUS ROG Dominus Extreme
    Accessory #3 2x HEATKILLER® IV for ASUS RTX 2080 Ti STRIX - ACRYL
    CharlieH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    247

    And back to the memory even if you don't OC/XMP. When I have memory issues and the defaults on it are set via XMP the three things I generally have to contend with to stabilize memory when I OC it are: speed (I generally run it around 3200 any speeds higher can be tricky to stabilize and the benefits are marginally imho, you have 2666 so you should be good here, I also buy faster memory than I run it at, at default your memory should be running slower than 2666, I believe it will run at 2133), VCCSA voltage, and VCCIO voltage. So those are some things you might want to look at.

    One other question is the RAM you purchased in the officially supported RAM list? I always get my memory based on that list and do not deviate from it.
    Last edited by CharlieH; 04-21-2019 at 01:43 AM.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by CharlieH View Post
    May I start by saying what a very nice rig. I wanted that same 7980xe when I bought mine for the R6E but the BIOS was in it's early stages and it would not run correctly programs would just crash on me so I ended up switching the CPU for a 7900X. Two thoughts with the defaults I have read in other threads OCing the memory got rid of the hangs (also something with the timing too setting it to T2 maybe, you might search around a bit there is a thread on this hang condition already)? Second I know you have probably done this but in Windows Power Management setting it to high performance to ensure the CPU runs at 100% all the time.
    Thanks.

    I did look around on the threads and found a few possibilities. I found a few that said to raise the CPU and System Agent Voltage. Tried it a few hours ago, no real change. One of the settings (I think it was increasing the SA Voltage) made the 900W UPS the computer was plugged into alarm because it was drawing more power that it could supply when I ran the stress test.

    I did have this overclocked once before and was stable for a while, then the freezing happened. Note that the configuration it was on was the AI Tuner's OC settings. I have no real experience on what to tweak (i.e. voltage, offsets, etc) and half the setting in the Tweaking Menu of the BIOS I have no clue what they do.

    And I have Windows Power Management settings set to high performance so the CPU is running at 100% all the time.

    Right now, I'd settle for a stable system even if it means not overclocking it. Would be a waste though.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by LiveOrDie View Post
    Is it Freezing with a sound loop in games? it does sound memory related but it could be your IMC which you might need to fine turn for that amount of ram, have you tried just running 1 stick or 2 and see if the issue is still there?
    Not sure if I call it a sound loop. It just freezes leaving a loud sound that loud enough to wake the house. Only way to stop it is to do a hard shutdown. If that's your idea of a sound loop, then yes.

    The day I spent testing the memory, took out every stick and tested the memory in pairs. Never tried running on a lower amount to see if the problem returned. That's an option to try though.

    And out of curious, how does one fine tune for that amount of RAM?

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array LiveOrDie PC Specs
    LiveOrDie PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE VI EXTREME
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 7980XE Custom IHS @ 4.6Ghz 1.221v
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1080Ti Strix OC
    MonitorLG 4k 43inch
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVME 512gb
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 1TB x 2
    CPU CoolerEK ROG R6E Monoblock, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 500D SE
    Power SupplyCooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Razer Tiamat 2.2 v2
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterNetGear
    LiveOrDie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    1,638

    Quote Originally Posted by Dazkey69 View Post
    Not sure if I call it a sound loop. It just freezes leaving a loud sound that loud enough to wake the house. Only way to stop it is to do a hard shutdown. If that's your idea of a sound loop, then yes.

    The day I spent testing the memory, took out every stick and tested the memory in pairs. Never tried running on a lower amount to see if the problem returned. That's an option to try though.

    And out of curious, how does one fine tune for that amount of RAM?
    It sort of sounds like a machine gun it will repeat a sound over and over something like this , System Agent Voltage (VCCSA) normally helps, have you also tried running your ram at rated speeds?

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array CharlieH PC Specs
    CharlieH PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI GT75 TITAN-094
    MotherboardAsus Dominus Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Xeon W-3175X
    Memory (part number)128GB G.SKILL TridentZ F4-3466C16Q2-128GTZR
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 Ti ROG-STRIX-RTX2080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Graphics Card #2ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 Ti ROG-STRIX-RTX2080TI-O11G-GAMING
    MonitorHP LP 3065
    Storage #12x 1TB Samsung 970 PRO PCIe NVMe SSD VROC Raid 0
    Storage #22x Intel Optane SSD 900P VROC Raid 0
    CPU CoolerEK-Velocity WS - Narrow ILM
    CaseHighSpeed PC Top Desk Tech Station - HPTX
    Power SupplyCorsair AXi Series, AX1500i and AX1200i
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterNetgear XS712T and Asus ROG Rapture GT-AX11000
    Accessory #1 ASUS ROG GeForce RTX Nvlink Bridge with Aura Sync RGB 4 Slot Graphic Cards ROG-NVLINK-4
    Accessory #2 EK-VRM ASUS ROG Dominus Extreme
    Accessory #3 2x HEATKILLER® IV for ASUS RTX 2080 Ti STRIX - ACRYL
    CharlieH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    247

    I concur with LiveOrDie you need to try your memory at rated speeds. An easy way to do this and insure everything else is default is to either reset your CMOS from the MB via the reset button (I prefer this approach) or in the BIOS reset to defaults. Then select XMP on the easy menu or as the OC method on the advanced menu. Make sure if you are running RAID you turn that back on after a reset before you boot. Also any other tweaks you may have made disabling something or setting a PCIe bus speed to x16 etc. But do not use the easy menu OC right now during this test leave it normal. Also you need to bypass that UPS and go straight to the wall. A 900 watt UPS for a 1600 watt PSU just isn't good especially given your rigs powerful components. I suspect the UPS may be involved in this issue. A UPS itself and the battery inside it degrade over time and do not perform as well.
    Last edited by CharlieH; 04-21-2019 at 04:14 AM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •