Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array Leoplate25 PC Specs
    Leoplate25 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus Hero XI WiFi
    Processori5-9600k
    Memory (part number)CMU16GX4M2C3000C15
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 840 240gb
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 860 1tb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i v2
    CaseThermaltake Versa H34
    Power SupplyBitFenix Whisper M 750w
    Keyboard ASUS Cerberus
    Mouse ASUS Cerberus
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Leoplate25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    ASUS Maximus Hero cold boot

    Hi, i have a Maximus Hero XI WiFi. When i have the PC unplugged and then i plug it and, obviouly, i do a cold boot it powers up, then shuts down and then powers up again. I read in some forums with no luck till today. Setting the XMP profile do that, but if i change the CPU VCCIO voltage and the CPU System Agent voltage it starts normally, even in cold boots. The question is: what values should i enter for these 2 voltages? Is 1.1v ok? They has really high values, near 1.250v. I'm using a 9600k and i'm not OCing it for the moment. Thanks!!!

    This is my setup:

    Intel i5-9600k at stock (not OCing for the moment)
    ASUS Maximus Hero XI WiFi
    Corsair Vengeance LED White 2x8gb 3000mhz (XMP enabled but VCCIO and SA too high)
    Corsair H100i v2
    EVGA GTX 1070 TI SC
    BitFenix Whisper M 750w
    Last edited by Leoplate25; 04-21-2019 at 10:49 PM.

  2. #2
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,830

    Quote Originally Posted by Leoplate25 View Post
    Hi, i have a Maximus Hero XI WiFi. When i have the PC unplugged and then i plug it and, obviouly, i do a cold boot it powers up, then shuts down and then powers up again. I read in some forums with no luck till today. Setting the XMP profile do that, but if i change the CPU VCCIO voltage and the CPU System Agent voltage it starts normally, even in cold boots. The question is: what values should i enter for these 2 voltages? Is 1.1v ok? They has really high values, near 1.250v. I'm using a 9600k and i'm not OCing it for the moment. Thanks!!!

    This is my setup:

    Intel i5-9600k at stock (not OCing for the moment)
    ASUS Maximus Hero XI WiFi
    Corsair Vengeance LED White 2x8gb 3000mhz (XMP enabled but VCCIO and SA too high)
    Corsair H100i v2
    EVGA GTX 1070 TI SC
    BitFenix Whisper M 750w
    This cold boot behavior is normal and relates to memory training as well as some other controllers requiring a power cycle.

    VCCSA and VCCIO scale with memory frequency, some CPUs require more voltage here than others, so the scaling is to ensure the best possible chance of compatibility between CPU samples. XMP is an overclock due to increasing memory frequency beyond both Intel and JEDEC specification. If you wish to tune these voltages manually, the option is there to do so.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array leerock360 PC Specs
    leerock360 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9900k
    Memory (part number)G. Skill RGB 3600
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 2080 TI Advanced
    MonitorAsus 34PG34Q 21:9 G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung Evo 860 500gb
    Storage #2Samsung Evo 860 1TB
    CPU CoolerKraken X72 AIO
    CaseThermaltake View 71
    Power SupplyCorsair 850w
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma X TE
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Astro A50 Gen 3
    OS Windows 10 v 1809
    leerock360's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Quote Originally Posted by Leoplate25 View Post
    Hi, i have a Maximus Hero XI WiFi. When i have the PC unplugged and then i plug it and, obviouly, i do a cold boot it powers up, then shuts down and then powers up again. I read in some forums with no luck till today. Setting the XMP profile do that, but if i change the CPU VCCIO voltage and the CPU System Agent voltage it starts normally, even in cold boots. The question is: what values should i enter for these 2 voltages? Is 1.1v ok? They has really high values, near 1.250v. I'm using a 9600k and i'm not OCing it for the moment. Thanks!!!

    This is my setup:

    Intel i5-9600k at stock (not OCing for the moment)
    ASUS Maximus Hero XI WiFi
    Corsair Vengeance LED White 2x8gb 3000mhz (XMP enabled but VCCIO and SA too high)
    Corsair H100i v2
    EVGA GTX 1070 TI SC
    BitFenix Whisper M 750w
    I have the maximus extreme and a 9900k. I left both voltages on auto and my pc would double boot *each time from cold boot. I lowered both values to 1.15v for vccio and the system agent voltage and now my pc no longer double boots from a cold boot. So happy. I have a normal pc again. When i left on auto both were on 1.42 volts *

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array derektm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by leerock360 View Post
    I have the maximus extreme and a 9900k. I left both voltages on auto and my pc would double boot *each time from cold boot. I lowered both values to 1.15v for vccio and the system agent voltage and now my pc no longer double boots from a cold boot. So happy. I have a normal pc again. When i left on auto both were on 1.42 volts *
    I posted the same as you are saying yesterday, and my post got deleted. I guess Asus does not like us touching our VCCIO voltage and telling other members how to stop the double boot issue. Very unprofessional of them.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    36
    Posts
    16

    I can confirm this. I have my RAM configured with XMP at 3200Mhz and I set both VCCIO and VCCSA to 1.1v in BIOS (v0903) .
    The PC is not double or triple booting anymore when doing a cold boot and it seems stable.
    Last edited by Kelutrel; 04-24-2019 at 10:57 AM.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array Leoplate25 PC Specs
    Leoplate25 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus Hero XI WiFi
    Processori5-9600k
    Memory (part number)CMU16GX4M2C3000C15
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 840 240gb
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 860 1tb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i v2
    CaseThermaltake Versa H34
    Power SupplyBitFenix Whisper M 750w
    Keyboard ASUS Cerberus
    Mouse ASUS Cerberus
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Leoplate25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Quote Originally Posted by leerock360 View Post
    I have the maximus extreme and a 9900k. I left both voltages on auto and my pc would double boot *each time from cold boot. I lowered both values to 1.15v for vccio and the system agent voltage and now my pc no longer double boots from a cold boot. So happy. I have a normal pc again. When i left on auto both were on 1.42 volts *
    When is setted on auto, vccio reaches 1.312v and is coloured purple (danger maybe?). I think it is something to do with that and no with memory training at all. If it's memory training, how is it possible that lowering vccio and sa voltages solve the "issue"? I'm glad my question helped you.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array Leoplate25 PC Specs
    Leoplate25 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus Hero XI WiFi
    Processori5-9600k
    Memory (part number)CMU16GX4M2C3000C15
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 840 240gb
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 860 1tb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i v2
    CaseThermaltake Versa H34
    Power SupplyBitFenix Whisper M 750w
    Keyboard ASUS Cerberus
    Mouse ASUS Cerberus
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Leoplate25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Quote Originally Posted by Kelutrel View Post
    I can confirm this. I have my RAM configured with XMP at 3200Mhz and I set both VCCIO and VCCSA to 1.1v in BIOS (v0903) .
    The PC is not double or triple booting anymore when doing a cold boot and it seems stable.
    Well, we all everybody have a "normal" system now, haha! Run Memtest and Prime95 blend at least for an hour. I think anyway daily usage is the key.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array Leoplate25 PC Specs
    Leoplate25 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus Hero XI WiFi
    Processori5-9600k
    Memory (part number)CMU16GX4M2C3000C15
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 840 240gb
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 860 1tb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i v2
    CaseThermaltake Versa H34
    Power SupplyBitFenix Whisper M 750w
    Keyboard ASUS Cerberus
    Mouse ASUS Cerberus
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Leoplate25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Quote Originally Posted by derektm View Post
    I posted the same as you are saying yesterday, and my post got deleted. I guess Asus does not like us touching our VCCIO voltage and telling other members how to stop the double boot issue. Very unprofessional of them.
    Don't know why, but it solved the double or triple boot issue. They must release a BIOS with adecuated vccio and sa voltages. Some user told me the psu protected itself of the high voltages (maybe, maybe not). The thing is it worked, haha!

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array mdzcpa PC Specs
    mdzcpa PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero XI
    Processor9900k @ 5.1Ghz All Core 1.315v AVX -2
    Memory (part number)Gskill GTZ 4133 C17 32GB (4x8GB)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 2080 TI OC
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro M.2 512GB for OS & APPS
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro M.2 1TB for GAMES
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CasePhanteks Evolv X
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 1000W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Corsaur VOID Pro
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Wide Desk Mat
    OS WIN 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys VELOP
    Accessory #1 ROG 751JY Laptop for Moobile Gaming
    Accessory #2 Koolance EXC-800 Chiller
    Accessory #3 25+ years of overclocking

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    80
    Posts
    927

    Quote Originally Posted by Leoplate25 View Post
    Don't know why, but it solved the double or triple boot issue. They must release a BIOS with adecuated vccio and sa voltages. Some user told me the psu protected itself of the high voltages (maybe, maybe not). The thing is it worked, haha!

    Are you referring to a typical cold boot (computer is shutdown and a power button is pressed), or the issue SS was talking about (power supply is toggled off and system loses all power and then boot afterward.) Adjust SA and IO will not cure what SS was referring to.


    Side note. SA / IO discussions are all over the forums. Many threads. Not getting where people think Asus wants to "hide" that. Sounds a little tin foil hat wearing to me. Try this one out: https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...t=system+agent
    Last edited by mdzcpa; 04-24-2019 at 11:43 PM.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array Leoplate25 PC Specs
    Leoplate25 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus Hero XI WiFi
    Processori5-9600k
    Memory (part number)CMU16GX4M2C3000C15
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 840 240gb
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 860 1tb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i v2
    CaseThermaltake Versa H34
    Power SupplyBitFenix Whisper M 750w
    Keyboard ASUS Cerberus
    Mouse ASUS Cerberus
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Leoplate25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Quote Originally Posted by mdzcpa View Post
    Are you referring to a typical cold boot (computer is shutdown and a power button is pressed), or the issue SS was talking about (power supply is toggled off and system loses all power and then boot afterward.) Adjust SA and IO will not cure what SS was referring to.


    Side note. SA / IO discussions are all over the forums. Many threads. Not getting where people think Asus wants to "hide" that. Sounds a little tin foil hat wearing to me. Try this one out: https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...t=system+agent
    At night, I unplug the cpu from the wall and the next day i plug it back in and it turns on, off and on again. I set vccio and sa voltages to 1.1v (my i5 is at stock settings) and the "issue" disappeared. I ran Prime95 Blend (lots of memory tested) and MemTest Free and have 0 issues, same with daily usage, games and browsing the web.

    P.S.: I commented on the post you are referring to.
    P.S. 2: What happens if i put 2666mhz memory? Will the memory automaticaly run at 2666mhz? The motherboard support 2133/2400/2666 without OC and the i5 support 2666 ram natively. Does the ram depends on the jedec? Crucial Ballistix Sport Gray/White/Red have 3 jedec's at 1333 and one xmp at 1333 too.
    Last edited by Leoplate25; 04-25-2019 at 12:26 AM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •