Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    G751J Not Booting Properly

    A while ago I was using my G751J when Windows completely crashed and I had no choice but to force shutdown. When I pressed the power button the computer did not boot to Windows and instead opened the bios. If I were to guess Windows is probably corrupted because of the crash/force shutdown. I am not able to remove the drive from the computer for certain reasons. I've obviously tried using a bootable CD and USB but the boot options in the bios are locked. Is there anyway I can get around the bios?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array mdzcpa PC Specs
    mdzcpa PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero XI
    Processor9900k @ 5.1Ghz All Core 1.315v AVX -2
    Memory (part number)Gskill GTZ 4133 C17 32GB (4x8GB)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 2080 TI OC
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro M.2 512GB for OS & APPS
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro M.2 1TB for GAMES
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CasePhanteks Evolv X
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 1000W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Corsaur VOID Pro
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Wide Desk Mat
    OS WIN 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys VELOP
    Accessory #1 ROG 751JY Laptop for Moobile Gaming
    Accessory #2 Koolance EXC-800 Chiller
    Accessory #3 25+ years of overclocking

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    76
    Posts
    891

    Quote Originally Posted by isopropyl View Post
    A while ago I was using my G751J when Windows completely crashed and I had no choice but to force shutdown. When I pressed the power button the computer did not boot to Windows and instead opened the bios. If I were to guess Windows is probably corrupted because of the crash/force shutdown. I am not able to remove the drive from the computer for certain reasons. I've obviously tried using a bootable CD and USB but the boot options in the bios are locked. Is there anyway I can get around the bios?


    I could be wrong, so do not take offense, but it sounds like you are trying to hack that laptop. The BIOS should allow you to change your boot priorities (all you need to do is add a boot option), unless someone locked the BIOS with a security password. In fact, boot to removable media is the default setting. So something is up here. Sounds like BIOS Admin Security has been set up.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    reply

    Quote Originally Posted by mdzcpa View Post
    I could be wrong, so do not take offense, but it sounds like you are trying to hack that laptop. The BIOS should allow you to change your boot priorities (all you need to do is add a boot option), unless someone locked the BIOS with a security password. In fact, boot to removable media is the default setting. So something is up here. Sounds like BIOS Admin Security has been set up.
    You are in fact wrong this computer was bought in retail and it is the way the bios is. The change boot priority option is not accessible nor is boot configuration. The bios is an American Megatrends 2.15.1236 from 2012. No one has ever changed bios settings and the bios does not even say any passwords have been setup.

  4. #4
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600
    Memory (part number)16GB DDR4
    Graphics Card #1GTX980
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    294
    Posts
    7,355

    Have you tried resetting to default settings in the BIOS?
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    It made no difference, it is the way the bios is setup.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    55
    Posts
    362

    It would be helpful if you could list your entire laptop model (G751JL, G751JM, G751JY, or G751JT).

    I think you have the wrong BIOS for that model laptop.

    Look on the ASUS Download page for G751J(?).
    G752VSK, G75VW-3D, G51J, G1S
    Homebuilt Windows Server

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    G751J is the entire model. Click image for larger version. 

Name:	0.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	74.6 KB 
ID:	80186

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    55
    Posts
    362

    You must identify the model of your ASUS G751J laptop. Look at the following forum post, it seems to be a common problem.

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...l-Number-G751J

    What GPU is in your laptop?

    What is your system serial number?

    What version BIOS are you accessing?
    Last edited by jdfrench3; 04-26-2019 at 04:00 PM.
    G752VSK, G75VW-3D, G51J, G1S
    Homebuilt Windows Server

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •