Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Hi,just bought a refurb system ,and it has an asus dual gtx 1070 o8g

    The system hard locks and or crashes alot when i play graphics intensive games....This card has the micron ram . Im thinking its either the power supply ,or the card.
    If i turn down some settings ,and others off (AA) .I can run some of the games that would hard lock ,like skyrim.

    Is there anything i need to know about this card that could help ? I heard there was a problem with the micron ram , and there was a bios fix, but when i run the bios patch it tells me i dont need to do so....

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array ninezerofive PC Specs
    ninezerofive PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Apex
    Processori7-9700K @ 5.2
    Memory (part number)Trident Z Royal 4000 / 2x8GB @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 1070 OC
    Storage #1Corsair MP510 960 GB
    Storage #2Seagate 3TB
    CPU CoolerROG Ryuo 240
    Power SupplyROG THOR 850W
    Keyboard ROG Claymore
    Mouse ROG Pugio
    ninezerofive's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    194

    First of all make sure it's not ram, download memtest86, do 8 runs just to be sure.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    I ran the windows ram test (mdsched.exe) and it found no problems ,but ill run memtest86 also.... 8 times ?

    Hmmm,i dont have a flash drive ,is that the only way to run memtest86
    Last edited by tkobo; 04-29-2019 at 01:16 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array ninezerofive PC Specs
    ninezerofive PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Apex
    Processori7-9700K @ 5.2
    Memory (part number)Trident Z Royal 4000 / 2x8GB @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 1070 OC
    Storage #1Corsair MP510 960 GB
    Storage #2Seagate 3TB
    CPU CoolerROG Ryuo 240
    Power SupplyROG THOR 850W
    Keyboard ROG Claymore
    Mouse ROG Pugio
    ninezerofive's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    194

    Quote Originally Posted by tkobo View Post
    I ran the windows ram test and it found no problems ,but ill run memtest86 also.... 8 times ?

    Hmmm,i dont have a flash drive ,is that the only way to run memtest86
    Yea 8, to be safe and exclude it from the list, unfortunately you do need a USB.

    How much ram is in this PC, if you are running like 2x4GB then you might be fine in windows but when loading all ram up in games, a small sector that is corrupted might crash it.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    16 gb 2x8
    The windows test runs 2 tests,no idea if that one test per stack ,or 2 separate tests covering all 16

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array ninezerofive PC Specs
    ninezerofive PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Apex
    Processori7-9700K @ 5.2
    Memory (part number)Trident Z Royal 4000 / 2x8GB @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 1070 OC
    Storage #1Corsair MP510 960 GB
    Storage #2Seagate 3TB
    CPU CoolerROG Ryuo 240
    Power SupplyROG THOR 850W
    Keyboard ROG Claymore
    Mouse ROG Pugio
    ninezerofive's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    194

    Quote Originally Posted by tkobo View Post
    16 gb 2x8
    The windows test runs 2 tests,no idea if that one test per stack ,or 2 separate tests covering all 16
    You can do a cheap test, both of your rams being faulty is unlikely. Do the following, take one stick out and try to play the game, if it crashes switch rams and see if it crashes with other stick of ram. Mind you, use different slots when doing this, the problem might be in motherboard slot as well.

  7. #7
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    294
    Posts
    7,377

    Quote Originally Posted by tkobo View Post
    I ran the windows ram test (mdsched.exe) and it found no problems ,but ill run memtest86 also.... 8 times ?

    Hmmm,i dont have a flash drive ,is that the only way to run memtest86
    HCI's memtest runs in Windows and has a free version. You just have to spawn multiple copies to fill up your memory.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array Super Gnome PC Specs
    Super Gnome PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme Omega
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9980XE CPU @ 3.00GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX Vengeance DDR4 DRAM 2666MHz 128 GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    Graphics Card #2Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    MonitorJAPANNEXT JN-VT500UHD 4K 50-inch LCD
    Storage #1Crucial MX500 1 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CaseThermaltake View 71 TG
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AXi Series, AX1600i 1600 watt
    Accessory #1 Noctua 140mm 3000 RPM x 4
    Accessory #2 Gigabyte GC-A 2WAY NVLINK RGB (3-slot)

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    72

    Quote Originally Posted by tkobo View Post
    The system hard locks and or crashes alot when i play graphics intensive games....This card has the micron ram . Im thinking its either the power supply ,or the card.
    If i turn down some settings ,and others off (AA) .I can run some of the games that would hard lock ,like skyrim.

    Is there anything i need to know about this card that could help ? I heard there was a problem with the micron ram , and there was a bios fix, but when i run the bios patch it tells me i dont need to do so....
    In one of my rigs I have two 8G 1070s (the memory is Micron according to GPU-Z) and a 1200 watt PSU. I have problems when the drivers are not up to date. Otherwise I get stutters when games are too memory intensive (like running two accounts of WOW with the settings not toned down). I always have my Windows power settings set to "Performance Mode" because that can be a problem. You can also turn off unnecessary programs running using Task Manager. My computers have always liked to load things unnecessarily so I've disabled them or even uninstalled them altogether. I would download HWMonitor to see what is happening with temperatures, etc. myself. Of course you have probably thought of these things, but if you are like me you might forget little obvious things sometimes... Diagnosing problems correctly is not always as simple as it seems. Hopefully you have better luck than I do sometimes with these things and this helps.
    Last edited by Super Gnome; 04-30-2019 at 12:34 AM.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Thanks all , still working on it. Still not having much luck . And yeah , i find i forgot something to try constantly...

    My power supply is what seems to me , really low end....allied 480 watt SL-8500btx > im debating scrapping up the cash to get a much better one. Right now im thinking its either a problem with the video card itself (the micron ram thing comes to mind) ,or the power supply .The power supply i think i can afford to replace.

    i have been watching the temps, as i first thought the card was simply overheating ,but the hard locks were happening at only about 80c ,and id been told the card should go to 94c before it started to throttle..And the cpu temp stays pretty solid.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array Super Gnome PC Specs
    Super Gnome PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme Omega
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9980XE CPU @ 3.00GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX Vengeance DDR4 DRAM 2666MHz 128 GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    Graphics Card #2Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    MonitorJAPANNEXT JN-VT500UHD 4K 50-inch LCD
    Storage #1Crucial MX500 1 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CaseThermaltake View 71 TG
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AXi Series, AX1600i 1600 watt
    Accessory #1 Noctua 140mm 3000 RPM x 4
    Accessory #2 Gigabyte GC-A 2WAY NVLINK RGB (3-slot)

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    72

    Yup, I'd research what kind of PSU you need for two 1070s. I Googled "two 1070s PSU needed" and this was the first page that came up. The first guy said 850 watts. I myself think you are better to err on the side of having too much power than too little. I don't know if 850 watts is ideal, I'd research it more, but for what it's worth here is the page:


    https://linustechtips.com/main/topic...from-gigabite/
    Last edited by Super Gnome; 04-30-2019 at 12:58 PM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •