Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array MoKiChU PC Specs
    MoKiChU PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix Z370-F Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB DDR4 2666MHz CL16 - 16GB (2 x 8GB)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix GTX 1080 Ti OC
    MonitorASUS ROG Strix XG35VQ
    Storage #1SSD Samsung 960 EVO 256GB
    Storage #2SSHD Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master ML240L RGB
    CaseBitFenix Enso
    Power SupplyCorsair TX850M (850W)
    Keyboard Logitech G413
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad PECHAM MPad-XXL
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z333
    OS Windows 10 64 bit 1903/19H1/18362.x
    MoKiChU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    101
    Posts
    338

    Hi,

    Do you use the latest BIOS 300 for your ROG GL752VW (https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/G...752VWAS300.zip) ?

  2. #12
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Quote Originally Posted by MoKiChU View Post
    Hi,

    Do you use the latest BIOS 300 for your ROG GL752VW (https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/G...752VWAS300.zip) ?
    Hello.

    The results of "wmic bios get smbiosbiosversion" at CMD prompt give me this:
    SMBIOSBIOSVersion
    G751JT.211

    Based on this, I have a couple questions:

    1. First, I understand updating BIOS can be risky and is something you want to minimize. May I ask WHY I would need to update my BIOS if my Internet was working fine for a couple years under its current BIOS version? I just want to make sure I'm not taking an unnecessary risk.
    2. Noticing the discrepancy between current BIOS version, I double checked, and my model is indeed G751JT, NOT GL752VW as stated in the thread title. I'm not sure where I got that idea when I wrote my OP. Sorry about that. If updating BIOS is truly necessary, given the information that my Internet was working fine before, can you please provide me with a link to the proper BIOS version?


    Thanks!
    Last edited by jbayko; 05-30-2019 at 05:37 AM.

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array MoKiChU PC Specs
    MoKiChU PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix Z370-F Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB DDR4 2666MHz CL16 - 16GB (2 x 8GB)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix GTX 1080 Ti OC
    MonitorASUS ROG Strix XG35VQ
    Storage #1SSD Samsung 960 EVO 256GB
    Storage #2SSHD Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master ML240L RGB
    CaseBitFenix Enso
    Power SupplyCorsair TX850M (850W)
    Keyboard Logitech G413
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad PECHAM MPad-XXL
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z333
    OS Windows 10 64 bit 1903/19H1/18362.x
    MoKiChU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    101
    Posts
    338

    Quote Originally Posted by jbayko View Post
    Hello.

    The results of "wmic bios get smbiosbiosversion" at CMD prompt give me this:
    SMBIOSBIOSVersion
    G751JT.211

    Based on this, I have a couple questions:

    1. First, I understand updating BIOS can be risky and is something you want to minimize. May I ask WHY I would need to update my BIOS if my Internet was working fine for a couple years under its current BIOS version? I just want to make sure I'm not taking an unnecessary risk.
    2. Noticing the discrepancy between current BIOS version, I double checked, and my model is indeed G751JT, NOT GL752VW as stated in the thread title. I'm not sure where I got that idea when I wrote my OP. Sorry about that. If updating BIOS is truly necessary, given the information that my Internet was working fine before, can you please provide me with a link to the proper BIOS version?


    Thanks!
    If you have the G751JT, your current BIOS 211 is the latest one.

    Your laptop is still more than 4 years, have you tried to do a clean install of Windows 10 64-bit ?

  4. #14
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Quote Originally Posted by MoKiChU View Post
    If you have the G751JT, your current BIOS 211 is the latest one.

    Your laptop is still more than 4 years, have you tried to do a clean install of Windows 10 64-bit ?
    No I haven't. That would be a rather large undertaking for me at this point. Is there no way to troubleshoot this to see if it is hardware related or something? No logs or anything which can be useful in diagnosing / narrowing down the problem instead of just trying various things?
    Last edited by jbayko; 05-30-2019 at 07:09 PM.

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array MoKiChU PC Specs
    MoKiChU PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix Z370-F Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB DDR4 2666MHz CL16 - 16GB (2 x 8GB)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix GTX 1080 Ti OC
    MonitorASUS ROG Strix XG35VQ
    Storage #1SSD Samsung 960 EVO 256GB
    Storage #2SSHD Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master ML240L RGB
    CaseBitFenix Enso
    Power SupplyCorsair TX850M (850W)
    Keyboard Logitech G413
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad PECHAM MPad-XXL
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z333
    OS Windows 10 64 bit 1903/19H1/18362.x
    MoKiChU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    101
    Posts
    338

    Quote Originally Posted by jbayko View Post
    MoKiChU - Is there anything else I can do here to troubleshoot this further? It's a very high quality (and expensive) laptop, but it is nearly unusable in this condition where the Internet continuously drops every few minutes, requiring Windows troubleshooting to restore.
    Try this Intel technician tutorial : https://forums.intel.com/s/question/...ry-10-minutes? but with this file : https://downloadmirror.intel.com/288...er64_Win10.zip

  6. #16
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Create a second partition on hard drive or add a secondary hard drive and install a fresh windows version and you can run both as dual boot . Then you will see if a reinstall in necessary.

  7. #17
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Hey guys. Thanks for the assistance. I resolved this a while ago and gold have updated the thread.

    Frustrated, I assumed it was a hardware failure, got it replaced, and my WiFi works beautifully now.*

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •