Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 33
  1. #11
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    1. use the non-oculus otherwise it wont work. tell lost_n_bios about the S-Spec of your cpu you want to put on.
    make sure you have a ch341a bios writer accessible ~10$
    2. use simple capton tape this makes a perfect job. just be careful about the pins form the socket non of them should be bended while inserting.
    i had a bend 'cause of a not careful enough placement of the cpu
    also add heatsinks on the vrms like shown in earlier posts
    3. make sure you have a backup of your own bios
    4. once you have a bios form lostn't bios you may need to change the setting “IA AC Load Line” and “IA DC Load Line”, to "1" to boot windows. with my 9400f i had instant shutdowns after a few minute booted windows before changing “IA AC Load Line” and “IA DC Load Line”
    Last edited by creisey; 07-13-2020 at 11:50 AM.

  2. #12
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Hey, you upgraded your G20CI to an 9900k. I am trying the same, but my pc gets stuck on bootlogo, hitting F2 or DEL does nothing.

    I have a I9 9900k R0 SRG19.

    what exactly you did, to get this run?

  3. #13
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Meanwhile my 9900k is running. In addition I did some hardware hacks (second MOSFET on high side, that was unpopulated by default, heatsinks, additional low profile blower). Performs well with some changed settings in BIOS.

    But it runs only with HT disabled. How did you managed it running with HT enabled???

  4. #14
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    I want use i7 8700 on g20ci, i need a bios flasher or just downgrade me firmware? Thanks.

  5. #15
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    You will need a bios flasher. As I know, downgrading ME without pulling out the BIOS Flash Chip is not possible. Have a look on win-raid.

  6. #16
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    UPDATE: To run a 9900k on G20CI you simply need CoffeeTime 0.99. This tool will fix everything you need to run without issues.

    Mine runs stable at 8c/16t, but with some modifications on the VRM. On the bottom side of the board you see in the CPU area that there are solderpoints with unpopulated ceramic capacitors. I took all of a old defective G20CB board and added 3 additional electrolyte-capacitors (the same ones near the Inductors, everything low ESR). Doing this you will be able to run such a cpu above the board specs without getting Thermal Throttling of the VRM and resulting in much more performance. Simply adding this capacitors I won the performance of 2 (!) single cores, because the VRM can deliver a higher current, set to 120A (CPU-Z Points 4900), instead of 79A (CPU-Z Points 3600). Modifying BIOS to deliver such a high current is possiple, using ThrottleStop is the best way to keep original values in BIOS if something goes wrong.
    Last edited by Mollari; 10-04-2021 at 09:52 AM.

  7. #17
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Throttled 9900K

    I went with the coffetime route to flash the bios everything works well, but i cannot seem to go above 3.8ghz with my i9 9900K seems bottlnecked, i put the heatsinks as you described in your post. How did you manage to turn the hyperthreding off i cannot find the setting on the bios menu.

  8. #18
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Hi,

    The HT setting is in the BIOS... just look around. It is there.

    Yes. With the original BIOS settings and mainly the original VRM hardware, the i9 9900k suffers from a bottleneck. The VRM.

    1. There is only one HighSide-FET for each VRM Phase on the board. - I fixed that by soldering a second identical one to the 3 places on the mainboard.
    2. Temperatures of VRM... it gets hot when at max. (default 79A) - I used copper heat sinks relaxing that issue a bit. And an additional low-profile blower fan connected to the PCH - Fan helps.
    3. There are many unpopulated capacitors on the bottom side of the CPU socket. - I used all cemaric capacitors of identical defective board and soldered them on my board.
    4. In addition I soldered 3 identical of that electrolytic capacitors to the cpu voltage rail. PRIMARY (19V) and SECONDARY (VccCore around 1V) side - THAT does the trick mainly. With this I am able to sink around 111A without thermal throttling of the VRM!!!



    To drive that high currents I use ThrottleStop. There you see in the settings the Imax of 79A. I set mine to 120A.

    All these modifications killed that bottleneck.
    Last edited by Mollari; 11-23-2021 at 07:45 AM.

  9. #19
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Mollari View Post
    Hi,

    The HT setting is in the BIOS... just look around. It is there.

    Yes. With the original BIOS settings and mainly the original VRM hardware, the i9 9900k suffers from a bottleneck. The VRM.

    1. There is only one HighSide-FET on the board. - I fixed that by soldering a second identical one to the 3 places on the mainboard.
    2. Temperatures of VRM... it gets hot when at max. (default 79A) - I used copper heat sinks relaxing that issue a bit. And an additional low-profile blower fan connected to the PCH - Fan helps.
    3. There are many unpopulated capacitors on the bottom side of the CPU socket. - I used all cemaric capacitors of identical defective board and soldered them on my board.
    4. In addition I soldered 3 identical of that electrolytic capacitors to the cpu voltage rail. - THAT does the trick mainly. With this I am able to sink around 111A without thermal throttling of the VRM!!!



    To drive that high currents I use ThrottleStop. There you see in the settings the Imax of 79A. I set mine to 120A.

    All these modifications killed that bottleneck.

    Intresting, i will give it another look with the HT settings in the bios. As for the extra board i might order a defective one on ebay. Did you use hotair to solder them into the unpoulated spots?

    And an extra fan on the copperheatsink isnt a bad idea, ill try that too

    Edit:
    https://ibb.co/KbQDTPd
    https://ibb.co/zbzVrhj

    Can't find the HT option in the bios-

    Btw, do you have a picture of your motherboard with the new soldered components?
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 20211119_204650.jpg  

    20211119_204740.jpg  

    Last edited by poviking; 11-20-2021 at 06:35 PM.

  10. #20
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Here I marked the Primary side. Blue are the FETs and red are the electrolytic capacitors for the 19V rail

    Attachment 90685

    After soldering the FETs and C on primary side:

    Attachment 90686

    The secondary side needs the red marked capacitors and every ceramic capacitor from a spare board (mine was a G20CB rev. 1.02 from where I got every C.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	InkedP_20200721_101411_cutandmark_LI.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	505.0 KB 
ID:	90689

    The electrolytic capacitors have to be soldered on the bottom side of the board, otherwise there is no place. I do not have a photo from this.

    To solder the FETs I prepared the place first. You need hot air and a good iron to prepare the surface with solder. After that you simply place the part on the surface. With hot air in that region solder will melt and you got it. Do not use to much solder and use any kind of hotair gun with a very small nozzle to heat only the region of interest. Be careful not to burn and delaminate your board. Here is a photo of the G20CB from where I got the cemaric capacitors:

    Attachment 90687

    For HT you can find it here:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P_20211121_171806.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	304.3 KB 
ID:	90691
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P_20211121_171816.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	340.5 KB 
ID:	90692

    It is possible, that you can´t see that entries because you do not have access to them.

    I unlocked many features of the BIOS. Instructions for that you find on win-raid.com . For each hidden setting you have to set access mode to "supervisor". I dont remember wether the HT feature is locked or not.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos P_20200721_101411_cutandmark.jpg  

    Last edited by Mollari; 11-22-2021 at 09:21 AM.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •