Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Question C7H random freezing/black screens qcode 8 (DRAM led)

    Writing this from my phone so excuse any poor formatting.

    Been having random freezes/black screens (qcode 8 Dram led lit) for the last several weeks after updating to the 2000 and higher bios versions and new AMD chipset drivers mid-late March. It progressively got worse until it freezes as soon as a minute after boot on desktop.

    I've tried flashing back my BIOS to every version back to 1002 and no dice, same symptoms. Clearing CMOS and going stock each time, even safe mode does it.

    The ram in my system is a f4-3200c14q-16gtzr set, CPU - 2700x, Storage - m.2/satassd/hdd, PSU - ax1500i (just replaced), Cooler - H150i pro, GPU - GTX 1070ti, and Motherboard is of course Asus C7H nonwifi.

    I just ran memtest86 today on my RAM and it passed all tests with 0 errors. I'm seriously at wits end and don't know how to proceed from here without RMAing my motherboard. Everything has worked fine on PE3 everything Auto (stilts fast 3200) settings for almost a year up till the last few bios and AMD chipset updates. This makes me hesitant to RMA the motherboard as i don't think it's the issue.

    Also, the freezing occurs regardless of OC or stock settings, and happens in safe mode.

    If anyone can point me in the right direction as to where to go from here troubleshooting-wise, I'd be forever grateful.

    Edit: also use Corsair iCue and Msi Afterburner along with having Asus AURA installed.

    Edit2: Just got a Kmode Exception BSOD in safe mode; also went back to 0702 BIOS and tried a system restore, removed iCue from startup, now just getting freezes code 24 consistently 30s-1m at desktop after startup.
    Last edited by darkdavid08; 05-03-2019 at 06:37 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,675

    Qcode 8 with the DRAM led lit indicates a problem with RAM. Either you have a mismatch or the MB DRAM slots are dead.
    As POST will not advance till DRAM led problem is resolved best is to clear CMOS then test slot functionality with just one DIMM and testing each slot. Testing also with another kit at 2666MHz is worth a try.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by MeanMachine View Post
    Qcode 8 with the DRAM led lit indicates a problem with RAM. Either you have a mismatch or the MB DRAM slots are dead.
    As POST will not advance till DRAM led problem is resolved best is to clear CMOS then test slot functionality with just one DIMM and testing each slot. Testing also with another kit at 2666MHz is worth a try.
    Bought a new 4gb stick at the local computer store, still getting qcoding 8 Dram led flashing can't get past a UEFI usb drive fresh install of Windows 10, I don't know what to do at this point besides remounting my H150i pro bracket or RMAing my motherboard. I don't understand how it worked perfectly up till now.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,675

    Quote Originally Posted by darkdavid08 View Post
    Bought a new 4gb stick at the local computer store, still getting qcoding 8 Dram led flashing can't get past a UEFI usb drive fresh install of Windows 10, I don't know what to do at this point besides remounting my H150i pro bracket or RMAing my motherboard. I don't understand how it worked perfectly up till now.
    Well if your DIMMs are all OK and well seated, you cleared CMOS to no avail and tested a 2666MHz 4GB DIMM to test, then it's time to RMA the MB as the only other thing I can think of is the new PSU. (Very doubtful being more than enough wattage and a quality product)
    Hope you get it sorted
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by MeanMachine View Post
    Well if your DIMMs are all OK and well seated, you cleared CMOS to no avail and tested a 2666MHz 4GB DIMM to test, then it's time to RMA the MB as the only other thing I can think of is the new PSU. (Very doubtful being more than enough wattage and a quality product)
    Hope you get it sorted
    The first thing I replaced was the PSU from an older cx650m, I have no idea what could have killed my mobo tho, why was it stable and running flawless for many months up until the last 3 bios versions and AMD chipset drivers, I feel like the new AGESA or something in those bios' borked my mobo if that's possible. I appreciate the support thanks again.
    Last edited by darkdavid08; 05-05-2019 at 02:08 AM.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    New edit: System works with all manual voltages using recommended voltages from another C7H OC thread on Overclockers.net, had to change SOC voltage to 1.15V, CPU voltage to 1.35V, DRAM voltage to 1.4V and CLDO_VDDP to 980mV. Set all voltages manually. Set RAM to 2133MT/s too.

    Not sure why Auto worked for so long and why this is working now, that being said I have a day till my RMA label shows up. Should I still RMA the board?
    Last edited by darkdavid08; 05-05-2019 at 01:49 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,675

    Quote Originally Posted by darkdavid08 View Post
    New edit: System works with all manual voltages using recommended voltages from another C7H OC thread on Overclockers.net, had to change SOC voltage to 1.15V, CPU voltage to 1.35V, DRAM voltage to 1.4V and CLDO_VDDP to 980mV. Set all voltages manually. Set RAM to 2133MT/s too.

    Not sure why Auto worked for so long and why this is working now, that being said I have a day till my RMA label shows up. Should I still RMA the board?
    Well NO!! Why RMA the MB if the system now works and is stable?
    Obviously your updating and re-flashing Bios has resulted in unacceptable results. You have now done necessary research at Overclockers.net with positive results.

    Updating or flashing Bios for the sake of it is not the best idea and should be done only as requirement to fix an issue regarding performance.
    If the system is performing well and stable then leave it or be prepared to begin Bios tuning from scratch.

    Glad you have it sorted
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array Baio73 PC Specs
    Baio73 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VII Hero Wi-Fi 2703
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3700x
    Memory (part number)2x8 Corsair CMW16GX4M2C3600C18
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire RX 5700 XT
    Sound CardCreative Sound BlasterX AE-5 Pure Edition
    MonitorDell U2515H
    Storage #1Samsung 960PRO nVme 512Gb
    Storage #2Crucial MX500 2Tb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i v2
    CaseSilverstone FT02
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Logitech G513
    Mouse Logitech G903 + Powerplay
    Headset G933 Artemis Spectrum
    Mouse Pad Logitech G840 XL
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G560
    OS Windows 1064bit
    Network RouterLynksys EA6500
    Accessory #1 Corsair Commander Pro

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    Quote Originally Posted by MeanMachine View Post
    […]

    Updating or flashing Bios for the sake of it is not the best idea and should be done only as requirement to fix an issue regarding performance.
    If the system is performing well and stable then leave it or be prepared to begin Bios tuning from scratch.

    Glad you have it sorted
    Well, that is usually a good advice, but IMHO not in the case of this mobo… every BIOS update from Asus ha risen the level of compatibility especially with RAM.
    If I was in the OP's shoes I would go for RMA, even at the risk of being rejected. The mobo MUST work with a supported CPU and everything set to Auto in BIOS… if it does not, it's faulty meaning it's not capable of give the correct volts for that kind of CPU.
    The final test would be another CPU in the 'faulty' mobo but it's not an easy try to do.

    Baio
    CASE Silverstone FT02 CPU AMD Ryzen 3700X COOLER Corsair H80i v2 MOBO Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero Wi-Fi RAM 2x8 Corsair CMW16GX4M2C3600C18 PSU Corsair AX860i VGA Sapphire RX 5700 XT DISPLAY Dell U2515H AUDIO Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 Pure Edition + Logitech G560 SDD Samsung 960PRO nVme 512Gb - Crucial MX500 2Tb INPUT Logitech G903 + Powerplay - G513

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,675

    Quote Originally Posted by Baio73 View Post
    Well, that is usually a good advice, but IMHO not in the case of this mobo… every BIOS update from Asus ha risen the level of compatibility especially with RAM.
    If I was in the OP's shoes I would go for RMA, even at the risk of being rejected. The mobo MUST work with a supported CPU and everything set to Auto in BIOS… if it does not, it's faulty meaning it's not capable of give the correct volts for that kind of CPU.
    The final test would be another CPU in the 'faulty' mobo but it's not an easy try to do.

    Baio
    As you quoted me I felt compelled to answer re your Opinion.

    First I disagree with your suggestion to RMA the MB unless definitive evidence of failure is found. (A profound inconvenience, Dissembling, Transport and cost, not to mention dealing with ASUS Support) The OP has a compatible MB and CPU so definitely no issue there.

    I have this MB and have had no issues with my 2700X with either Overclocking to 4.2GHz or compatibility with RAM at 3200MHz. (Original Bios)

    Yes it required some Bios and RAM Tweaking which I consider a normal task. I consider it best practice to stress test initially at default to check on such things as Rail voltages (under load), Temperatures and sensors, RAM Timings etc.

    Auto Overclocks do and tend to Overvolt needlessly however without any major safety issue. It may result in unacceptable temperature levels however Core voltage is easily rectified and a necessity to obtain a stable OC.
    Last edited by MeanMachine; 05-05-2019 at 12:02 PM.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array Baio73 PC Specs
    Baio73 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VII Hero Wi-Fi 2703
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3700x
    Memory (part number)2x8 Corsair CMW16GX4M2C3600C18
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire RX 5700 XT
    Sound CardCreative Sound BlasterX AE-5 Pure Edition
    MonitorDell U2515H
    Storage #1Samsung 960PRO nVme 512Gb
    Storage #2Crucial MX500 2Tb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i v2
    CaseSilverstone FT02
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Logitech G513
    Mouse Logitech G903 + Powerplay
    Headset G933 Artemis Spectrum
    Mouse Pad Logitech G840 XL
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G560
    OS Windows 1064bit
    Network RouterLynksys EA6500
    Accessory #1 Corsair Commander Pro

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    Quote Originally Posted by MeanMachine View Post
    As you quoted me I felt compelled to answer re your Opinion.

    First I disagree with your suggestion to RMA the MB unless definitive evidence of failure is found. (A profound inconvenience, Dissembling, Transport and cost, not to mention dealing with ASUS Support) The OP has a compatible MB and CPU so definitely no issue there.

    I have this MB and have had no issues with my 2700X with either Overclocking to 4.2GHz or compatibility with RAM at 3200MHz. (Original Bios)

    Yes it required some Bios and RAM Tweaking which I consider a normal task. I consider it best practice to stress test initially at default to check on such things as Rail voltages (under load), Temperatures and sensors, RAM Timings etc.

    Auto Overclocks do and tend to Overvolt needlessly however without any major safety issue. It may result in unacceptable temperature levels however Core voltage is easily rectified and a necessity to obtain a stable OC.
    I understood the OP didn't manage to install Windows 10 from scratch, with all BIOS options set to Auto.
    If it's the case and the installation fails, we're talking of defective hardware.

    I agree this mobo and CPU need quite a lot fine tuning to work together at their best … I'm still struggling with my RAM, no way to make them work @3600MHz, which is its stock speed, even if 3600MHz for RAM is intended as overclock with Ryzen. But fine tuning is a later scenario.
    First things MUST work @stock.
    As the OP said, he run his system under overclock for some time, maybe the CPU has become the defective part.

    Baio
    CASE Silverstone FT02 CPU AMD Ryzen 3700X COOLER Corsair H80i v2 MOBO Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero Wi-Fi RAM 2x8 Corsair CMW16GX4M2C3600C18 PSU Corsair AX860i VGA Sapphire RX 5700 XT DISPLAY Dell U2515H AUDIO Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 Pure Edition + Logitech G560 SDD Samsung 960PRO nVme 512Gb - Crucial MX500 2Tb INPUT Logitech G903 + Powerplay - G513

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •