Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Question C7H random freezing/black screens qcode 8 (DRAM led)

    Writing this from my phone so excuse any poor formatting.

    Been having random freezes/black screens (qcode 8 Dram led lit) for the last several weeks after updating to the 2000 and higher bios versions and new AMD chipset drivers mid-late March. It progressively got worse until it freezes as soon as a minute after boot on desktop.

    I've tried flashing back my BIOS to every version back to 1002 and no dice, same symptoms. Clearing CMOS and going stock each time, even safe mode does it.

    The ram in my system is a f4-3200c14q-16gtzr set, CPU - 2700x, Storage - m.2/satassd/hdd, PSU - ax1500i (just replaced), Cooler - H150i pro, GPU - GTX 1070ti, and Motherboard is of course Asus C7H nonwifi.

    I just ran memtest86 today on my RAM and it passed all tests with 0 errors. I'm seriously at wits end and don't know how to proceed from here without RMAing my motherboard. Everything has worked fine on PE3 everything Auto (stilts fast 3200) settings for almost a year up till the last few bios and AMD chipset updates. This makes me hesitant to RMA the motherboard as i don't think it's the issue.

    Also, the freezing occurs regardless of OC or stock settings, and happens in safe mode.

    If anyone can point me in the right direction as to where to go from here troubleshooting-wise, I'd be forever grateful.

    Edit: also use Corsair iCue and Msi Afterburner along with having Asus AURA installed.

    Edit2: Just got a Kmode Exception BSOD in safe mode; also went back to 0702 BIOS and tried a system restore, removed iCue from startup, now just getting freezes code 24 consistently 30s-1m at desktop after startup.
    Last edited by darkdavid08; 05-03-2019 at 06:37 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,675

    Qcode 8 with the DRAM led lit indicates a problem with RAM. Either you have a mismatch or the MB DRAM slots are dead.
    As POST will not advance till DRAM led problem is resolved best is to clear CMOS then test slot functionality with just one DIMM and testing each slot. Testing also with another kit at 2666MHz is worth a try.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by MeanMachine View Post
    Qcode 8 with the DRAM led lit indicates a problem with RAM. Either you have a mismatch or the MB DRAM slots are dead.
    As POST will not advance till DRAM led problem is resolved best is to clear CMOS then test slot functionality with just one DIMM and testing each slot. Testing also with another kit at 2666MHz is worth a try.
    Bought a new 4gb stick at the local computer store, still getting qcoding 8 Dram led flashing can't get past a UEFI usb drive fresh install of Windows 10, I don't know what to do at this point besides remounting my H150i pro bracket or RMAing my motherboard. I don't understand how it worked perfectly up till now.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,675

    Quote Originally Posted by darkdavid08 View Post
    Bought a new 4gb stick at the local computer store, still getting qcoding 8 Dram led flashing can't get past a UEFI usb drive fresh install of Windows 10, I don't know what to do at this point besides remounting my H150i pro bracket or RMAing my motherboard. I don't understand how it worked perfectly up till now.
    Well if your DIMMs are all OK and well seated, you cleared CMOS to no avail and tested a 2666MHz 4GB DIMM to test, then it's time to RMA the MB as the only other thing I can think of is the new PSU. (Very doubtful being more than enough wattage and a quality product)
    Hope you get it sorted
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by MeanMachine View Post
    Well if your DIMMs are all OK and well seated, you cleared CMOS to no avail and tested a 2666MHz 4GB DIMM to test, then it's time to RMA the MB as the only other thing I can think of is the new PSU. (Very doubtful being more than enough wattage and a quality product)
    Hope you get it sorted
    The first thing I replaced was the PSU from an older cx650m, I have no idea what could have killed my mobo tho, why was it stable and running flawless for many months up until the last 3 bios versions and AMD chipset drivers, I feel like the new AGESA or something in those bios' borked my mobo if that's possible. I appreciate the support thanks again.
    Last edited by darkdavid08; 05-05-2019 at 02:08 AM.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    New edit: System works with all manual voltages using recommended voltages from another C7H OC thread on Overclockers.net, had to change SOC voltage to 1.15V, CPU voltage to 1.35V, DRAM voltage to 1.4V and CLDO_VDDP to 980mV. Set all voltages manually. Set RAM to 2133MT/s too.

    Not sure why Auto worked for so long and why this is working now, that being said I have a day till my RMA label shows up. Should I still RMA the board?
    Last edited by darkdavid08; 05-05-2019 at 01:49 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    49

    Quote Originally Posted by darkdavid08 View Post
    Writing this from my phone so excuse any poor formatting.

    Been having random freezes/black screens (qcode 8 Dram led lit) for the last several weeks after updating to the 2000 and higher bios versions and new AMD chipset drivers mid-late March. It progressively got worse until it freezes as soon as a minute after boot on desktop.

    I've tried flashing back my BIOS to every version back to 1002 and no dice, same symptoms. Clearing CMOS and going stock each time, even safe mode does it.

    The ram in my system is a f4-3200c14q-16gtzr set, CPU - 2700x, Storage - m.2/satassd/hdd, PSU - ax1500i (just replaced), Cooler - H150i pro, GPU - GTX 1070ti, and Motherboard is of course Asus C7H nonwifi.

    I just ran memtest86 today on my RAM and it passed all tests with 0 errors. I'm seriously at wits end and don't know how to proceed from here without RMAing my motherboard. Everything has worked fine on PE3 everything Auto (stilts fast 3200) settings for almost a year up till the last few bios and AMD chipset updates. This makes me hesitant to RMA the motherboard as i don't think it's the issue.

    Also, the freezing occurs regardless of OC or stock settings, and happens in safe mode.

    If anyone can point me in the right direction as to where to go from here troubleshooting-wise, I'd be forever grateful.

    Edit: also use Corsair iCue and Msi Afterburner along with having Asus AURA installed.

    Edit2: Just got a Kmode Exception BSOD in safe mode; also went back to 0702 BIOS and tried a system restore, removed iCue from startup, now just getting freezes code 24 consistently 30s-1m at desktop after startup.
    Memtest alone is not enough. Use InteBurnTest and use the custom setting. Set it to 6144 for the ram and make it do 10 passes. If it passes that then its not your memory.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array liakou PC Specs
    liakou PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero X470
    ProcessorRyzen 2700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB 3600@3400C14
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix Vega 64
    MonitorSamsung C27HG70
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 1TB+500GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i Pro RGB
    CaseCoolermaster H500M
    Power SupplyCorsair RMi 850
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G PRO Wireless
    Headset Sharkoon Skiller
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G560
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterZTE ZXHN H168N VDSL2 + ASUS RT-AC86U

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    33

    I just experienced this as well today and now I come across this here. I was watching a movie when suddenly my monitor went all black and Qcode 8 on the board with orange light below it flashing. Never had any issues with my system for ever since I built it last year(loads of multimedia playback and gaming). Im also on the latest BIOS and latest chipset drivers. I had to hard reset my system and after the 2nd power-up it started again normally..

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by liakou View Post
    I just experienced this as well today and now I come across this here. I was watching a movie when suddenly my monitor went all black and Qcode 8 on the board with orange light below it flashing. Never had any issues with my system for ever since I built it last year(loads of multimedia playback and gaming). Im also on the latest BIOS and latest chipset drivers. I had to hard reset my system and after the 2nd power-up it started again normally..
    the black screen issue for me was fixed by redoing my display driver for my vega64...dont think it had anything to do with my board since it hasn't happen again since

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Well the RMA came back, they replaced my whole mobo.
    However the issue is still present and I'm at a complete loss as to why at this point. If anyone that's still keeping up with this thread can give me any advice on where to go from here I'd appreciate it. Over a month wasted because of this, really frustrating.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •