Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Has anyone undervolted their ROG gl503 vm?. GPU(86 C) and CPU (97 C).

    Hi i am worried about high temps and i want to know if someone was able to lower their temperatures through undervolting or some other strategy. If yes please do share as i am worried about it.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Yes, check my thread https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...ature-battles-)

    I got gl502vs but they are simmilar in construction.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Thankyou!

    Gonna check it! Thankyou for the reply

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by deathstar View Post
    Hi i am worried about high temps and i want to know if someone was able to lower their temperatures through undervolting or some other strategy. If yes please do share as i am worried about it.
    I did, I have i5-7300HQ and I set -0,120V in XTU and it's stable. Temp before were getting to 94°C in AIDA64 stability test with full strength stress just without HDD stress test.
    After UV, temperatures decreased in same stress test to approx. 80°C.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array FULLMETALJACKET7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    310

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnyW View Post
    I did, I have i5-7300HQ and I set -0,120V in XTU and it's stable. Temp before were getting to 94°C in AIDA64 stability test with full strength stress just without HDD stress test.
    After UV, temperatures decreased in same stress test to approx. 80°C.
    Run Rise of the Tomb Raider for a few minutes or GTA5 for a couple of hours and see if it's still stable. Those synthetic stability tests are kind of useless.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by FULLMETALJACKET7 View Post
    Run Rise of the Tomb Raider for a few minutes or GTA5 for a couple of hours and see if it's still stable. Those synthetic stability tests are kind of useless.
    I run Hunt: Showdown which runs on Cryengine with medium-high preset for 2 hours in a row with -0.12V. There was no freezing, no crashes, no throttling, max temp CPU 79-83°C.

    When I set the value to -0.135V, then it crashed after I stopped Aida stability test.. So I consider that -0.135V is too much.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array FULLMETALJACKET7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    310

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnyW View Post
    I run Hunt: Showdown which runs on Cryengine with medium-high preset for 2 hours in a row with -0.12V. There was no freezing, no crashes, no throttling, max temp CPU 79-83°C.

    When I set the value to -0.135V, then it crashed after I stopped Aida stability test.. So I consider that -0.135V is too much.
    Mine ran absolutely fine on literally everything at -130mv, except those two games. GTA5 online would randomly crash after a couple of hours (single player was fine for whatever reason) and ROTTR would crash on the benchmark or if I paused the game. Changing it back to -120mv fixed it.
    Had the same problem on my old Lenovo with GTA5. I was blaming the game at some point since everything else was running fine. Didn't tested ROTTR at the time because the poor thing can't run it lol

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by FULLMETALJACKET7 View Post
    Mine ran absolutely fine on literally everything at -130mv, except those two games. GTA5 online would randomly crash after a couple of hours (single player was fine for whatever reason) and ROTTR would crash on the benchmark or if I paused the game. Changing it back to -120mv fixed it.
    Had the same problem on my old Lenovo with GTA5. I was blaming the game at some point since everything else was running fine. Didn't tested ROTTR at the time because the poor thing can't run it lol
    I own ROTTR as well. But I would have to download it at first.. I played AC:Origins and nothing happened. Unfortunately, I do not own GTA V.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •