cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New build, getting Ram to 3200 on 2950x setup

Spacemanspiff01
Level 7
hey guys!

I upgraded my machine from an old Z68 and 2600K build to my first AMD build with a 2950x

I have a ROG Zenith Extreme Alpha board with 8x8 (64gb) of Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB ram, its rated for 3200. In the bios everything is at stock and ram is showing 2133mhz speed. Some have said to get to 3200 I need to enable DOCP. I enable that and it loads the profile however it wont post. I'm pretty new to all these new features, but do I have to adjust the voltage or enable anything else?
9 REPLIES 9

Retired
Not applicable
Hey,
Which motherboard are you using? Zenith Extreme or Alpha? Yes, enabling the D.O.C.P should work just fine while everything on Auto. However, it really depends on your processor. I believe you should be able run on that speed. Make sure to update the BIOS to 1601 first, if using Zenith Extreme. This should be the BIOS where you can just overclock the ram without pressing on the processor.

AS185 wrote:
Hey,
Which motherboard are you using? Zenith Extreme or Alpha? Yes, enabling the D.O.C.P should work just fine while everything on Auto. However, it really depends on your processor. I believe you should be able run on that speed. Make sure to update the BIOS to 1601 first, if using Zenith Extreme. This should be the BIOS where you can just overclock the ram without pressing on the processor.

so it’s this board that is called the extreme alpha,*

I’ll look at the bios version and update it if it’s not already. It has a bios USB port which you just dedicate a thumb drive with the version from this site to update it is that right?*

Arne_Saknussemm
Level 40
BIOS 0405 is the latest for ZEA (Latest for ZA is 1701)

3200 for 8x8 can be tricky for some processors and RAM combinations on this platform.

What is the exact RAM part number? Is it a single quad channel kit?

Arne Saknussemm wrote: