Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Melkor PC Specs
    Melkor PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VI Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790K 4.7Ghz/1.28V
    Memory (part number)G.Skill TridentX 2x8GB 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Matrix 780Ti
    Graphics Card #2Asus ROG Matrix 780Ti
    MonitorAsus VG278HE
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 850 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO
    CaseNZXT Phantom 630
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Razer Deathstalker Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    Mouse Pad Razer Manticor
    OS Windows 8.1 64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC66U
    Accessory #1 2x EK-FC780 GTX Ti Matrix - Nickel
    Accessory #2 2x EK-FC780 GTX Ti Matrix Backplate - Black
    Melkor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    90

    Maximus XI Hero, i9 9900K, G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3000 Mhz CL 14 2x 8GB problem

    Hello,

    So like in the title I have a lot of problems to run G.Skill 3000 CL 14 on this board, unfortunately they are not on Asus QVL for MXIH, only on G.Skill.

    Before posting I did a lot of research, many tips from ROG forum and other webs.

    Here's what I've been trying:

    - manual mode, XMP I and XMP II
    - all bioses from release to the newest, which I am using now, 1005 if I'm correct.
    - DRAM voltage from 1.35 to 1.50
    - VCCIO and SA voltages from standard default to even 1.4 (on auto these are at VCCIO 1.3, SA 1.25 for 3000 Mhz...)
    - increasing core voltage

    I lost about 2 weeks of my life to get this fixed and nothing, my issues are not about booting into WIndows, it boots just fine, stress tests pass, on Karhu RAM Test there are no errors, running almost 3 hours with about 15000% coverage.

    Problems starting during gaming, in example Battlefield 5 or Assassins Creed Odyssey. Games run without problems for about 20-40 mins, then just exit to desktop. Nothing is mentioned in reliability monitor or event viewer. On default 2133 everything is good, at 2666 with timing 14-14-14-34 also.

    Yesterday I realised hey what about trying other timings 15-15-15-35 at 3000 (DRAM voltage at 1.35, IO and SA at 1.10), it's working no problems.

    What do You suggest, any other ideas or just let it be this way?

    Maybe someone can post secondary/tertiary timings for this kit just to compare? F4-3000C14D-16GTZR

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    Quote Originally Posted by Melkor View Post
    Hello,

    So like in the title I have a lot of problems to run G.Skill 3000 CL 14 on this board, unfortunately they are not on Asus QVL for MXIH, only on G.Skill.

    Before posting I did a lot of research, many tips from ROG forum and other webs.

    Here's what I've been trying:

    - manual mode, XMP I and XMP II
    - all bioses from release to the newest, which I am using now, 1005 if I'm correct.
    - DRAM voltage from 1.35 to 1.50
    - VCCIO and SA voltages from standard default to even 1.4 (on auto these are at VCCIO 1.3, SA 1.25 for 3000 Mhz...)
    - increasing core voltage

    I lost about 2 weeks of my life to get this fixed and nothing, my issues are not about booting into WIndows, it boots just fine, stress tests pass, on Karhu RAM Test there are no errors, running almost 3 hours with about 15000% coverage.

    Problems starting during gaming, in example Battlefield 5 or Assassins Creed Odyssey. Games run without problems for about 20-40 mins, then just exit to desktop. Nothing is mentioned in reliability monitor or event viewer. On default 2133 everything is good, at 2666 with timing 14-14-14-34 also.

    Yesterday I realised hey what about trying other timings 15-15-15-35 at 3000 (DRAM voltage at 1.35, IO and SA at 1.10), it's working no problems.

    What do You suggest, any other ideas or just let it be this way?

    Maybe someone can post secondary/tertiary timings for this kit just to compare? F4-3000C14D-16GTZR

    What BIOS?

    Try Maximus Tweaker (RAM Timmings BIOS section): Mode 1, Mode 2.

    In my case TridentZ 3866 CL18 both modes passed Karhu RAM test, but in Mode 1 WinRAR big files extractions fails... In Mode 2 WinRAR passed but I can't OC my RAM over 4000 MHz.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Melkor PC Specs
    Melkor PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VI Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790K 4.7Ghz/1.28V
    Memory (part number)G.Skill TridentX 2x8GB 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Matrix 780Ti
    Graphics Card #2Asus ROG Matrix 780Ti
    MonitorAsus VG278HE
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 850 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO
    CaseNZXT Phantom 630
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Razer Deathstalker Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    Mouse Pad Razer Manticor
    OS Windows 8.1 64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC66U
    Accessory #1 2x EK-FC780 GTX Ti Matrix - Nickel
    Accessory #2 2x EK-FC780 GTX Ti Matrix Backplate - Black
    Melkor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    90

    At the moment I'm at BIOS 1005, tried 0506, 0602 and newer, still same issue.

    I'm sorry, forgot to mention, issue persist with both tweak modes.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    Quote Originally Posted by Melkor View Post
    At the moment I'm at BIOS 1005, tried 0506, 0602 and newer, still same issue.

    I'm sorry, forgot to mention, issue persist with both tweak modes.
    I assume RAM slots are correctly populated, according to manual.... and ensure command rate is set of 2N (2T).


    If CL14 do not want to cooperate, let's try:

    3600 MHz (or 3400)
    CL 16-16-16-36 2T or 17-17-17-36 (-39)
    VDRAM 1.35
    VCCSA 1.25V
    VCCIO 1.25
    Mode 2

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Melkor PC Specs
    Melkor PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VI Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790K 4.7Ghz/1.28V
    Memory (part number)G.Skill TridentX 2x8GB 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Matrix 780Ti
    Graphics Card #2Asus ROG Matrix 780Ti
    MonitorAsus VG278HE
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 850 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO
    CaseNZXT Phantom 630
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Razer Deathstalker Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    Mouse Pad Razer Manticor
    OS Windows 8.1 64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC66U
    Accessory #1 2x EK-FC780 GTX Ti Matrix - Nickel
    Accessory #2 2x EK-FC780 GTX Ti Matrix Backplate - Black
    Melkor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    90

    Yes RAM is installed in A2 B2 slots, just tried 3600 Mhz 16-16-16-36 2T at voltages You suggested, boots fine but error after 5 mins in Karhu test. Will try CL 17.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    Quote Originally Posted by Melkor View Post
    Yes RAM is installed in A2 B2 slots, just tried 3600 Mhz 16-16-16-36 2T at voltages You suggested, boots fine but error after 5 mins in Karhu test. Will try CL 17.
    Start with SA and IO voltages on auto. Try to relax timings starting from the last one.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Melkor PC Specs
    Melkor PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VI Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790K 4.7Ghz/1.28V
    Memory (part number)G.Skill TridentX 2x8GB 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Matrix 780Ti
    Graphics Card #2Asus ROG Matrix 780Ti
    MonitorAsus VG278HE
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 850 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO
    CaseNZXT Phantom 630
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Razer Deathstalker Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    Mouse Pad Razer Manticor
    OS Windows 8.1 64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC66U
    Accessory #1 2x EK-FC780 GTX Ti Matrix - Nickel
    Accessory #2 2x EK-FC780 GTX Ti Matrix Backplate - Black
    Melkor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    90

    Ok, SA and IO are at 1.4 on auto. Tried 16-16-16-39, error after few seconds, will try another.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    You're not alone in this kind of problem - look here:

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...e15#post769046

    I know that your Ram is different (3000CL14 vs 3600CL15) but maybe its a general problem with Low-Timing G.Skill Ram and ASUS Boards. Try to slightly boost your ram-voltage and set vccio and sa to 1.15v (both). I have the same problem with the 3600CL15 Kit - that thread helped me!
    Last edited by 6kbyte; 05-23-2019 at 07:10 PM.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Melkor PC Specs
    Melkor PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VI Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790K 4.7Ghz/1.28V
    Memory (part number)G.Skill TridentX 2x8GB 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Matrix 780Ti
    Graphics Card #2Asus ROG Matrix 780Ti
    MonitorAsus VG278HE
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 850 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO
    CaseNZXT Phantom 630
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Razer Deathstalker Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    Mouse Pad Razer Manticor
    OS Windows 8.1 64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC66U
    Accessory #1 2x EK-FC780 GTX Ti Matrix - Nickel
    Accessory #2 2x EK-FC780 GTX Ti Matrix Backplate - Black
    Melkor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    90

    Hey guys, so I have found out what was my issue. It was not voltage or timings. I've noticed when soft crash of game happened, my RAM temperature every time was around 53*C. My PC case is Phanteks Enthoo Evolv X with stock fans, 2x 140mm front and 1x 140mm back. My GPU is RTX 2080 Ti founders edition. For a test I used frame cap in AC Odyssey to 60 fps, less work for GPU = less heat inside. My Ram temp was then at around 45*C and I could play for hours with my RAM settings 14-14-14-34. If i removed cap as fast as temp went to 53*C on RAM then the game crashed. Looks like my memory is very temperature sensitive.

    It seems stock fan setup was not enough during gaming and it explains why there was no issues during Ramtest or Prime - they only stress RAM/CPU and it's not enough to rise RAM temp to even 40*C when GPU is idling. I hope changing stock fans to Noctua and adding 2 more at the top will improve airflow and lower temps enough because I don't want to cap FPS at 60 on 165Hz monitor ;-)

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    Quote Originally Posted by Melkor View Post
    Hey guys, so I have found out what was my issue. It was not voltage or timings. I've noticed when soft crash of game happened, my RAM temperature every time was around 53*C. My PC case is Phanteks Enthoo Evolv X with stock fans, 2x 140mm front and 1x 140mm back. My GPU is RTX 2080 Ti founders edition. For a test I used frame cap in AC Odyssey to 60 fps, less work for GPU = less heat inside. My Ram temp was then at around 45*C and I could play for hours with my RAM settings 14-14-14-34. If i removed cap as fast as temp went to 53*C on RAM then the game crashed. Looks like my memory is very temperature sensitive.

    It seems stock fan setup was not enough during gaming and it explains why there was no issues during Ramtest or Prime - they only stress RAM/CPU and it's not enough to rise RAM temp to even 40*C when GPU is idling. I hope changing stock fans to Noctua and adding 2 more at the top will improve airflow and lower temps enough because I don't want to cap FPS at 60 on 165Hz monitor ;-)
    Strange. My F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR run CL 17-17-17-36 2T at 60*C in Division 2 without crash... Maybe you should RMA your RAM?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •