Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    38

    How many NVME drives will a XI Hero support?

    Obviously we can run 2 NVME drives in M.2-1 and M.2-2 slots on the mobo. But what about in an expansion card. I currently have an add in card with a slot of one NVME and one for a M.2 Sata drive. I have 1 NVME in that slot. Can I source a new add in card that would hold 2 NVME drives and put it in a PCIe slot in place of the one I am using now.

    That would give me 4 NVME drives. (A proper question also might be why in the world does somebody need 6 TB of NVME, but what the heck, if you can do it why not). Will the available PCIe channels support the additional 2 NVME drives?

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    36
    Posts
    48

    Quote Originally Posted by pkincy View Post
    Can I source a new add in card that would hold 2 NVME drives and put it in a PCIe slot in place of the one I am using now.
    That's exactly the purpose of the ASUS Hyper M.2 x16 card, although on Z390 it's limited to 2-3 NVMe drives depending on which slot you use:
    https://www.asus.com/us/support/FAQ/1037507/

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    38

    Excellent link. Thank you. I had to order one used as nobody has it in stock or new. But hopefully it will be in working order.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    38

    The "used" card from Amazon turned out to be open box and apparently unused. I have tried several add in cards without success but this Asus Hypercard worked perfectly well. I am using a 1070 Ti in PCIe slot 1 and put the Hypercard in slot 2 so am limited to 2 NVME drives. Both are fast and easily recognized.

    Thank you for your help

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Code
    Processor9900K
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4B3600C18
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080ti-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorAOC AGON AG2701QX (2)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 256GB
    Storage #2Kingston Savage 500GB
    CPU CoolerNzxt X74 360mm AIO
    CaseNzxt H700
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Asus Spartha
    Headset Hyper X Cloud Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Hyper X Fury S 900mx420mm
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z337
    OS Windows 10 64btis
    Network RouterTpLink Archer C9
    Accessory #1 EKWB FANs all of them
    MrAgapiGC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    1,781

    the asus, for example codexi, support 1 even that have 2 slot. cause have spot for 1 2280 model. The hero xi support 2. there is limitation that i can not test. in you case 2 on the board and 2 on the hyper card. you have to check if you add the hyper card, on the pcie 3, the gpu drops to 8x. that i will own that info
    Learn, Play Enjoy!

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    @pkincy

    Apologies for reviving an old thread. Just some clarification on your reply below. Did you add 2 NVME drives to the card + 2 NVME drives on the MB or just two on the card.

    I have a
    Maximus Hero XI Z390 currently with two NVME drives on the MB and a 2080ti and was wanted to add some more. The Card you reference is what I was looking at as well. So looking to understand if you are successfully running 4 NVME drives with no performance loss. I sent a note to Asus tech support and they basically said I could stick a card in and did not answer the question.

    thanks.


    "pkincy
    The "used" card from Amazon turned out to be open box and apparently unused. I have tried several add in cards without success but this Asus Hypercard worked perfectly well. I am using a 1070 Ti in PCIe slot 1 and put the Hypercard in slot 2 so am limited to 2 NVME drives. Both are fast and easily recognized."

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array Jesseinsf PC Specs
    Jesseinsf PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Extreme (Z390)
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMW128GX4M4E3200C16 - 128GB (4x32)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA - GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE
    Sound CardCreative Labs Sound Blaster AE-9
    MonitorSamsung 32" UH750 QLED UHD Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro M.2 PCIe SSD 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro M.2 PCIe SSD 1TB
    CPU CoolerLian Li Galahad 360 (3x Uni fan SL120)
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic XL (ROG Certified)
    Power SupplyCooler Master V1200 Platinum
    Keyboard RAZER HUNTSMAN ELITE - LINEAR OPTICAL SWITCH (Red) w/ PBT Keycaps
    Mouse Razer Basilisk Ultimate with Charging Dock
    Headset Bowers and Wilkins P9 Signature
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula V2 Mousepad
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo Transparent One Encore w/ Rel HT/1003 Subwoofer
    OS Windows 10 Pro for Workstations
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AC5300
    Accessory #1 Microsoft Xbox Elite Wireless Controller Series 2
    Accessory #2 2x Logitech BRIO ULTRA HD PRO WEBCAM
    Accessory #3 7 Uni Fan SL120 fans for PC case
    Jesseinsf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    291

    Quote Originally Posted by mrtom_ View Post
    @pkincy

    Apologies for reviving an old thread. Just some clarification on your reply below. Did you add 2 NVME drives to the card + 2 NVME drives on the MB or just two on the card.

    I have a
    Maximus Hero XI Z390 currently with two NVME drives on the MB and a 2080ti and was wanted to add some more. The Card you reference is what I was looking at as well. So looking to understand if you are successfully running 4 NVME drives with no performance loss. I sent a note to Asus tech support and they basically said I could stick a card in and did not answer the question.

    thanks.


    "pkincy
    The "used" card from Amazon turned out to be open box and apparently unused. I have tried several add in cards without success but this Asus Hypercard worked perfectly well. I am using a 1070 Ti in PCIe slot 1 and put the Hypercard in slot 2 so am limited to 2 NVME drives. Both are fast and easily recognized."
    It will cut the lanes for your GPU to 8X mode. The card supports 8X or 16X. In your case it will run at 8X mode. You most likely will not notice a difference. As for me, knowing that my GPU is running at 8X mode bothers me.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •