Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array fcsoares43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    Asus Gl503G Pci Express 3.0 x4

    Well i send my pc to Asus and they afirm that that port only shows in this programs like hwinfo64 and AIDA64 and more ones, when the Pc is using their SSd Nvme x4 insted ou a ssd sata m2 so if you are using this kind of SSD the PCI Express X4 slot appears in this programs if you are not using don´t appear, Well i would like to know what you think about this and if you think this is true or not. Ok

    Thanks

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array FULLMETALJACKET7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    307

    So what exactly is the problem with your laptop? Lower than expected performance? Why are you so worried about what those programs are showing you?
    Also, diagnostic tools usually report wrong values/results on the PCIe slots/ports when they're not in use.
    Run GPUz and see it for yourself. You have to put a load on the GPU for it to report the PCIe lanes usage correctly.
    I'm having a really hard time trying to figure out what you're trying to accomplish or fix. Please enlighten me.

    If it isn't broken, don't try to fix it.
    Last edited by FULLMETALJACKET7; 05-30-2019 at 01:14 PM.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array fcsoares43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    Quote Originally Posted by FULLMETALJACKET7 View Post
    So what exactly is the problem with your laptop? Lower than expected performance? Why are you so worried about what those programs are showing you?
    Also, diagnostic tools usually report wrong values/results on the PCIe slots/ports when they're not in use.
    Run GPUz and see it for yourself. You have to put a load on the GPU for it to report the PCIe lanes usage correctly.
    I'm having a really hard time trying to figure out what you're trying to accomplish or fix. Please enlighten me.

    If it isn't broken, don't try to fix it.
    thanks of your advice but i like to know why the things ??? is fair enough

    regards

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array raju2529 PC Specs
    raju2529 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)R542UQ-DM153 ( X542UQ.305 )
    MotherboardAsus motherboard
    ProcessorIntel core i5 7200u @2.5Ghz
    Memory (part number)Adata 2400 Mhz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1intel Hd 620 graphics 1GB DDR3
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GeForce 940MX 2GB GDDR5
    Graphics Card #3nil
    Graphics Card #4nil
    Sound CardRealtek HD Audio controller with codec 294
    MonitorLcd monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Evo 250GB SSD M.2. 2280
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB 2.5inch. Toshiba 1TB 2.5 inch
    CPU CoolerBuilt-in
    Casefrom factory
    Power Supply65W
    Keyboard Built in keyboard
    Mouse Built in mouse
    Headset Philips HeadSet
    Mouse Pad nil
    Headset/Speakers Realtek with ice sound
    OS Windows 10 64bit 1809 build no 17763.503
    Network RouterBsnl Wi-Fi modem with router

    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    118

    I don't have your laptop. But some few laptops from asus having both Nvme plc 3.0x4 and also M.2 2280. if your laptop comes with hybrid slot and needs newer bios update.
    use intel driver supportutility to scan completely and get complete system information. use SIV software to get all details

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array FULLMETALJACKET7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    307

    Quote Originally Posted by fcsoares43 View Post
    thanks of your advice but i like to know why the things ??? is fair enough

    regards
    Power saving. Simple as that. The system "disables" some of the lanes when they're not in use.
    Don't worry about it. It isn't broken, that's normal behavior.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array fcsoares43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    Quote Originally Posted by FULLMETALJACKET7 View Post
    Power saving. Simple as that. The system "disables" some of the lanes when they're not in use.
    Don't worry about it. It isn't broken, that's normal behavior.
    Thaks for your explication

    Regards

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array fcsoares43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    Quote Originally Posted by raju2529 View Post
    I don't have your laptop. But some few laptops from asus having both Nvme plc 3.0x4 and also M.2 2280. if your laptop comes with hybrid slot and needs newer bios update.
    use intel driver supportutility to scan completely and get complete system information. use SIV software to get all details
    Thanks
    I tried with that software but i could not get that information
    Last edited by fcsoares43; 06-04-2019 at 06:34 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •