Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Exclamation GL702VM not booting after windows update updated the bios

    Hello,

    this morning windows prompted me to install updates, i didn't check what updates where and i clicked restart, the computer shutted down, and restarted doing a BIOS update, i noticed that it showed a version dated around april 2019, but when i checked the last bios for this model on the asus page only shows bios dated 2017 as the last one, anyway the update process finalized the bios update, and after another reboot the laptop is stuck in the ROG logo.

    i tried to enter to the bios set up but it doesn’t, i just can turn it on or off, I think windows update flashed my laptop with a wrong bios version.

    what can i do? is there a way to reflash de bios with the correct one?

    Thanks for the help.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Quote Originally Posted by eklembacak View Post
    yes, im having exactly that problem, everythime i put an ssd in the sata or NVME port it just get stucked. i have now a 1300USD brick thanks to windows update, ASUS, we need a newer bios fixing this ASAP. this is ridiculous.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    thanks! i chatted with asus support and they provided me with the same instructions for the downgrade, except that i downgraded directly to the 3.06, so far windows hasnt downloaded again the bios. thanks for this instructions!

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array Stpa67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Bios 311 through winupdate worked fine on my GL702VS (says GL702VSK in msinfo32) but now i see Asus has put up bios 310 not 311 for download where only 307 was available before so maybe 311 is broken at least for some GL702Vxx versions. Other than that i don't think Microsoft makes the bios Asus does but Asus tried deploying them through windows update.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array raju2529 PC Specs
    raju2529 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)R542UQ-DM153 ( X542UQ.309 )
    MotherboardAsus Builtin Motherboard X542UQ
    ProcessorIntel core i5 7200u @2.5Ghz
    Memory (part number)Adata 2400 Mhz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1intel Hd 620 graphics 1GB DDR3 driver v 7988
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GeForce 940MX 2GB GDDR5 driverv 445.78
    Graphics Card #3nil
    Graphics Card #4nil
    Sound CardRealtek HD Audio controller with codec 294
    MonitorBuiltin Lcd monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Evo 250GB SSD M.2. 2280
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB 2.5inch. Toshiba 1TB 2.5 inch
    CPU CoolerBuilt-in
    Casefrom factory
    Power Supply65W
    Keyboard Built in keyboard
    Mouse Built in mouse
    Headset Purchased Philips HeadSet
    Mouse Pad nil
    Headset/Speakers Realtek Builtin Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit 1909 build no 18363.753
    Network RouterBsnl Wi-Fi modem with router
    Accessory #1 Dell Wired Mouse
    Accessory #2 Laptop Cooling table with fan
    Accessory #3 Secureye Usb finger print scanner added sepeartely
    raju2529's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    250

    Last windows updated new bios 307 through system firmware under device manager. But in asus official website only 305 version is the latest.

    I am sure microsoft will never produces bios for non microsoft surface devices.,, so the respective OEM has produced and uploaded their bios files to the windows update database server . Hence while updating windows updates to devices , windows try to install new bios after detecting compatible bios to the oem devices.

    I am using R542UQ-DM153 , currently with x542UQ.307 bios . without single problems. I always update bios from microsoft windows updates

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    well.. the bios 310 that windows update is pushing for the GL702VM is bugged, doesnt boot SSDs... so we have to go back to the 306.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Quote Originally Posted by eklembacak View Post
    mate , asus published official bios 3.10 for gl702vm .

    try this and test about ssd . ssd ok for me ...

    waiting for your comments
    Same thing, no boot up with my ssd.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Quote Originally Posted by eklembacak View Post
    mate , asus published official bios 3.10 for gl702vm .

    try this and test about ssd . ssd ok for me ...

    waiting for your comments
    Windows update now tryes to update my bios everytime i reboot...

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array raju2529 PC Specs
    raju2529 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)R542UQ-DM153 ( X542UQ.309 )
    MotherboardAsus Builtin Motherboard X542UQ
    ProcessorIntel core i5 7200u @2.5Ghz
    Memory (part number)Adata 2400 Mhz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1intel Hd 620 graphics 1GB DDR3 driver v 7988
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GeForce 940MX 2GB GDDR5 driverv 445.78
    Graphics Card #3nil
    Graphics Card #4nil
    Sound CardRealtek HD Audio controller with codec 294
    MonitorBuiltin Lcd monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Evo 250GB SSD M.2. 2280
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB 2.5inch. Toshiba 1TB 2.5 inch
    CPU CoolerBuilt-in
    Casefrom factory
    Power Supply65W
    Keyboard Built in keyboard
    Mouse Built in mouse
    Headset Purchased Philips HeadSet
    Mouse Pad nil
    Headset/Speakers Realtek Builtin Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit 1909 build no 18363.753
    Network RouterBsnl Wi-Fi modem with router
    Accessory #1 Dell Wired Mouse
    Accessory #2 Laptop Cooling table with fan
    Accessory #3 Secureye Usb finger print scanner added sepeartely
    raju2529's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    250

    block the system firmware hardware ID using group policy editor and update the same to the windows

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Quote Originally Posted by eklembacak View Post
    LoL . We are having engineering experience with asus about one week .


    ssd hdd all of them put out on pc . an than usb flash 3.10 on bios startup.

    ssd hdd all of them re-put . and work ...
    Sorry i cant understand correctly, you are saying that you managed to make bios 310 work with ssds?

    Can you specify how you did it? Or post it on your native language and i will try to translate

    Thanks!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •