Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Question Z390 E - Random bsod since bios update

    Hello,

    First of all it's just a so damn mess I'm facing I may forget details.

    9600K, 2x 8Gb Fury, 970 GTX, Samsung M2 970 with Win 1809 and yes it worked well.

    Encountered some little stuttering during video so I tried to update things.
    A lot of things. Maybe too much things.

    1903 (software bugs so) > 1809 (multiple clean installs) > bios update and etc...

    I thought those random bsod were there because I didn't install Intel Sata drivers but it's still randomly happening.Random BSOD, Firefox crashing...

    To sum up : my bios is now up to date and multiple clean windows install but I'm facing random Bsod during a normal use of the computer.

    I suspect my bios settings aren't optimal and I'm truly lost at the moment.

    I'd like to have my 9600k @ 4,6 GHz like before but bios settings have changed...
    Can someone help me to at least put some stable settings ?

    Do I need to reset bios settings, activate XMP ? *Thanks in advance and sorry for the mess
    Last edited by Staffy; 07-01-2019 at 08:27 AM. Reason: Typos cause phone posting

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    yeah updating bios is a lot more work these day then years ago when there where less settings to keep watch of

    i had the same problems with my z390-h gaming
    that is also why i hesitate updating to the latest bios

    i asume you did a load defaults after the bios update
    a good advise is to keep notes of important settings
    such as for the m2 pci-e settings and such

    etc etc
    i can not really help you much since for me it was try and error too a few times

    btw those video stutters all depends on where or what you are playing it with
    and what codecs/filter settings

  3. #3
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Thank your for your answer.*
    Yes, I used to do update without thinking years before.*

    Now I'm pretty sure those bsod may be from some inaccurate ram settings.
    *I've format like five times and lost a lot of time doing so because of Murphy's law and softwares issues so it's very frustrating to not having something stable.*

    Either it's a software issue (driver or windows) but I'd like to be sure it's not bios.*
    I'm gonna load defaults settings again and try step by step.*
    *I prefer bios settings but still, maybe Aisuite would be a help ?*

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array x-rated PC Specs
    x-rated PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XI Formula - Intel Z390
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-9900K @ 5 GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z F4-3600C16D-16GTZR - 4x 8 GB, 4 GHz, 18-18-18-38
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE - 2,1/15,6 GHz
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD
    MonitorDell UP2715K - 5120x2880, AH-IPS, 10bit
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro - 1 TB, 3,5/2,1 GB/s
    Storage #2WD Red WD40EFRX - 4 TB, 64 MB, 5400 RPM
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 Blackout TG
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i - 1 KW, 83 A, 80Plus Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G810 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G403 Prodigy Wired
    Headset Sennheiser HD 660 S
    Mouse Pad Razer Manticor
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterHuawei HG8245H @ 1 Gb/s FTTH GPON
    Accessory #1 EKWB Velocity + Vector
    Accessory #2 EKWB XRES 140 Revo D5 PWM + 2x CoolStream XE 360
    Accessory #3 6x Noiseblocker NB-eLoop Fan B12-PS
    x-rated's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    203

    use latest windows build, latest bios and start from scratch in uefi
    for CPU only OC try something like this (nothing more, nothing less):
    HTML Code:
    AVX Instruction Core Ratio Negative Offset.........0
    CPU Core Ratio.....................................Sync All Cores
    1-Core Ratio Limit.................................50
    CPU Core/Cache Voltage.............................Adaptive Mode
    Additional Turbo Mode CPU Core Voltage.............1.350
    CPU Load-line Calibration..........................Level 6
    ...and dont install any additional drivers if you dont see any ?/! in windows device manager

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •